We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queen Victoria Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$607*
US$318*
Great Deal
US$338*
US$340*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Queen Victoria Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

677 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Queen Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 587: English reviews
Shenzhen, China
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Only a 3 minute walk to the waterfront, which is a lovely area with many fine restaurants, cafes, boutique shops and shopping malls. Table mountain view from the hotel restaurant. Our room was large with a double sink bathroom, nice and quiet. Breakfast was good too. Only two suggestions: 1, the shower door step traps water, maybe needs a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Littledumpling12
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Littledumpling12 Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for the valueble feedback and I am so greatfull that we managed to turn your stay around the comments...

New Jersey
Reviewed 26 February 2017

1. I must agree with another reviewer that this venue charges NYC/London prices but they do not deliver even 3 star service. Upon arrival we were taken to our junior suite by the bellman and even before we entered the room you could smell raw sewage in the hallway. The room were even worse. The bellman said he smelled nothing,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zack477
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear zack477 Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are sad to learn that we failed to deliver on the service the hotel is so well renowned for. Your comments and feedback has been duely noted and will be actioned accordingly. Kind Regards...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 23 February 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in January 2017 at the beginning of our 2 week honeymoon in South Africa. This was a wonderful way to start the trip. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the location is very convenient as it is just off the V&A Waterfront. The staff helped us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r_y1125
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rby1125 Thank you very much for tking the time to write and review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable experience with us while joining us on your special celebration. We will definately pass your comments onto Oswell and the team. We look forward...

Reviewed 17 February 2017

This review should be read in the context of the room rates this hotel is charging. If the hotel is going to charge room rates equivalent to a stay in NYC or London four star establishment, the service should be on par or better. I found the design of the hotel be good and the pool area at the next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drewmic1
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Drewmic1 Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and feedback on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are sad to learn that we failed to deliver on the service that we are so well renowned for. Your comments and feedback has been duely noted and will be actioned...

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel and have enjoyed it very much. Our room was large and well appointed. Amenities are top rate, and the service from every employee we encountered was consistently warm, friendly and polite. I would give the hotels 5 starts but for the absence of slippers in the room, surprisingly scratchy towels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peggy G
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peggy G Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorbale stay with us. Thank you also for pointing out some items we can improve on as this is key, the comments are duely...

St Andrews
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel and it was every bit as good the second time. We had a lovely, spacious, well-appointed first floor room with a view of Table Mountain. The facilities are excellent including outdoor relaxation space with a pool and a bar service. Breakfast, included in our rate, was very good with a wide range...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandraSStAndrews
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SandraSStAndrews Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had such a memorable return stay with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities the hotel has to offer.Thank you for the special mention of Mr...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Situated only a couple of minutes from the quay, but quiet. There are three boutique hotels owned by the same company and you use the lovely pool and grounds . The guys there make a mean mojito. The spa was great with a really professional team Room 1011 is a very nice ground floor location with great bath & shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive U
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clive U Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed the service and the facilities the hotel has to offer. Thank you for your comments on Tshepo and...

Knusford
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The location is perfect; handy for the waterfront but set back slightly so less noisy. The restaurant Dash is excellent. The room and bathroom were gorgeous. The only downside is that it is also the most expensive hotel we have ever stayed in!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris M Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next...

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The hotel and surrounding buildings are in a colonial style and the location, a three minute walk to the waterfront and the same to the Citi Bus stop for City Tours, is ideal. The Waterfront was abuzz with live music but it is just far enough away from the hotel to be out of hearing distance. The hotel itself offers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank auldcreamery2013
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear auldcreamery2013 Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let...

Pease Pottage
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Great hotel within the V&A waterfront location - safe 2 min walk to the main area, hotel has a great restaurant, lovely quiet trendy bar and an amazing spa!! Stayed for 4 nights in early January and enjoyed all aspects of this hotel, location can't be beaten in a quiet location set back from the hubbub of the main waterfront...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkPP
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarkPP Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your comments on the niggle's this has been duely noted and will be adressed accordingly. We...

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
1,969 reviews
0.2 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
1,466 reviews
0.3 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
2,120 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
1,677 reviews
0.6 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $389 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Queen Victoria Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Tucson, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Queen Victoria Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mountain view”
  • Mountain view
JLDub73, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“we were upgraded from another hotel undergoing renovation so we got first floor which had less privacy but did include a small patio area”
marksB2451FE, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room is exceptional. Close to the V & A waterfront. ( across the road ).”
robertbakewell, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to premier”
michaellM4119ED, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All other things being equal, a view of the Table Mountain is good.”
mrcmrc2, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$318* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$338
TravelocityUS$340
AMOMAUS$607
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates