We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Start your review of City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is well appointed with very friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast is buffet style and food can be obtained all day. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff at this hotel. The rating is given on the type of hotel and obviously does not rate 5 starts against the top hotels. However for a midrange hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your fantastic and detailed review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were only in Capetown for a few days but this was a brilliant place to stay. On the waterfront which is fantastic in itself. Check out the bars nearby, the food court( make sure you go early: they shut up shop earlier than advertised if there is not much foot traffic), the shopping,if you are into shopping, the views,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMPridham
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to stay add it is clean, had friendly staff and is walking distance from V&A Waterfront and Castle Town convention centre. Put out a lovely pre-Roman Oceans pasta meal the Friday night with early morning spread on the Saturday very early for the runners Only complaint is that they do not cater much for vegetarians at their restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis V
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Isle of Wight
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impressions we were disappointed and thought oh well another okay hotel. Went down to dinner and the staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough, food was superb except for the lack of choice. Ate in the hotel for two nights and we were disappointed that the 'daily specials' in the menu did not change, but could not fault the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylala
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i booked for two nights from 31 March to 2 April 2017. This was my first stay at a City Lodge Hotel and i chose this hotel as it was in close proximity to Cape Town International Convention Centre where the Cape Town Jazz festival was taking place during the two days we booked. The hotel is comfortable and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Segran M
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Durban
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the City Lodge V&A Waterfront for 2 nights during a recent business trip with a colleague from France. Very comfortable hotel with good facilities. Very close to the V&A Waterfront. Enjoyable morning breakfast. Do not book rooms towards the rear as the construction noise is disturbing. Was a comfortable stay overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sewpersads
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good hotel 10min walk to waterfront and a 20min walk to the town. Easy to pick up the tour bus, stops closeby. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast. Building works near the hotel but didn't cause any problems. Friendly and helpful staff Taxi to the airport took about 25mis, approx £20 and to Table Mountain 10mins, £5 there and £7 back Cape...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stokiekev2014
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, hotel location, services and facilities.

London
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Unfortunately there is some serious construction work going on by the hotel which is very noisy and extremely dusty. The room was okay and the location was in between the waterfront and downtown. I ate there twice, once for dinner and lunch on the day I was leaving - I left both meals as they were not pleasant. With that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DimatteoLondon
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review, and on behalf of the hotel we apologise that your experience with us was not exceptional, as it should have been, we are however glad that our staff was friendly.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Popular, quiet lodge with spacious well-appointed accommodation and designed for business with good wi-fi. Offers delightful breakfast and is enroute to the spectacular V&A waterfront which is 10-15 minutes walk. Staff are great and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OderoA
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing a City Lodge Hotel. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

oslo
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Apart from the location, the hotel is average. There are three four other hotels in the vicinity if location is important. The biggest minus for me was the lack of bottled water in the room. Even if the locals swear by the quality of tap water, I am not the one to take chances. Reaching the hotel late at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arvid59
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and on behalf of the hotel we apologise that your experience with us was not exceptional, as it should have been.

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 106 in Cape Town Central
919 reviews
0.3 km away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
342 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
763 reviews
0.8 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,433 reviews
3.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $158 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Catered for the wheel chair members of our group”
RodS901, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one away from the building side.”
sylala, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are noisy due tom construction”
segranm, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not facing the construction works!”
225terenced, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room furthest from the current construction”
karthigaseng, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5