We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Backpack

Booking.comUS$51*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Backpack
The Backpack
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Backpack
See the most recent reviews
Showing 549: English reviews
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights at the start of the month. Really nice hostel. Staff are very good- we had a problem with cold water in our shower and they were very apologetic and got it sorted straight away! Room was a bit cold, however, it is winter in SA so this is to be expected!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzannaVa
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your cold winter stay with us and that the efforts the staff made to make you warmer and happier went a long way. We do apologise that you did not receive your key deposit money back but be sure to know...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 July 2015

It was a nice simple room (I had a single). The bed was comfy. It had a wardrobe with a safe inside. There was also a bench and a bedside lamp. The heater is slow to heat up the room but get's there eventually. It's very close to Kloof Street which has a lot of restaurants. Showers and toilets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kd0g2
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the awesome review! It is great to hear that you had a brilliant stay with us and that the breakfast was well received! The closer you are to the WiFi router the better the signal is and unfortunately there are some dead spots around the hostel which we are trying to fix. We hope to see you...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

The Backpack is the perfect place to stay. The wonderful staff makes everything so easy and the place feels like home. Such a great atmosphere and an awesome place to meet some great people. It is an awesome home base for anyone who is staying in Cape Town and is looking for a great trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are so chuffed to know that your stay was one of a kind with us and that staying with us made your trip to Cape Town that much more special. We hope that we will be seeing you again in the future! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We traveled in a group of 4 and spent 3 nights in the "President's Suite". The bedroom was very tidy and the bathroom was well kept. The staff helped us to plan activities for our time in Cape Town. The staff members took care of communicating with various tour/ group activities to ensure a successful booking. Every staff member from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to give us this review. We are so happy to hear that every single staff member in The Backpack treated you well and made sure that they met your every need. We are so proud when our story gets passed on and when guests can understand how their stay with us...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The Backpacker is even better in reality than on the photographs. It is well located close to Kloof and Long street where there are many excellent restaurants and bars. The décor and style is very vibrant and you can really feel comfortable and at home. We stayed in the Madiba room which was excellent with a view over the swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenKunz
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for reviewing us. It's awesome that you had a good stay with us, enjoying your room, Cape Town and its surrounding and the spectacular views of Table Mountain from our swimming pool area! Come back again soon, Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I spent 5 nights in total and the friendliness of all the staff is what makes the Back Pack different. With such a reception it helps all travellers relax and talk and i thoroughly enjoyed my staff and met so great people from all over the world. Well recommended i stayed in a small dorm and it was clean ,sociable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forevermagpie
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the lovely review of our hostel! We are so chuffed that the staff made your stay excellent and that all the advice we could give helped! We hope that in the future you can come back and stay with us again! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I booked a last-minute 5 day trip to Capetown and stayed in a 3-bed girls´ room the first night and private room with bathroom the rest of the time. I booked several tours through the staff - peninsula tour, winelands, and shark dive - and all were great! They were also a good way to get to know other guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurenL52
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

thanks for your great review about our hostel. we are happy that we were able to accommodate you that you were warm and cosy in your bed and enjoyed our free scrumptious breakfasts. even though it is winter and mornings and evenings can be chilly i am sure you enjoyed our sunny days where the mercury got up to the...

Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at many hostels and this one tops the list. Staff is very welcoming and helpful, rooms are clean, breakfast was great! Location was also convenient, there's a grocery store nearby and there's a communal fridge that you can leave stuff in! Highly recommend! Will definitely be back! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us. We love that you loved staying here with us. Of course it goes without saying how beautiful our city is and its a place you will never tire of there is so much to do and even if you don't want to do anything its great to just take in our mountain. So...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I loved this place so much that I decided to stay for 2 weeks, and I made some great friends along the way. I could go on and on about all the pluses of this place: the value, the comfort, the cleanliness, the terrific breakfasts, the worthy causes / community programs that they support. I would definitely come back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us you have really made a difference. We look forward to your return. Kind regards The Backpack Team

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I booked this hotel under the philosophy of "best of the worst" as opposed to "worst of the best" - going for the best backpacker hostel instead of the cheapest proper hotel. Upon arrival, I honestly couldn't tell the difference between The Backpack and any of the 5* hotels I have stayed in across the globe (aside from the eclectic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WildThailand
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

WOW this really is a fab review thank you. I am so sorry that you were told the pool was out of service - it was probably due to the fact that we are feeling the cold but hey if you want to crack the ice you are welcome to a brisk swim anytime as long as its before 10...

394 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
President's Suite (38)
Viewed
Private Room (27)
Viewed
Private Room with Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
733 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
305 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,624 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 130 in Cape Town Central
594 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#5 of 130 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Price Range: $37 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Backpack staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Tel Aviv, Israel

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Backpack staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“private rooms to the backside have the table mountain view ( Natalie) , but the rooms I´ve seen are all nice”
 of 5 bubbles architravelcat, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“private rooms are a bit pricey , but it's for a good cause”
 of 5 bubbles alonzo85, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“4 bed dorms are a good mid-way sharing option”
 of 5 bubbles 186beatricet, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not Sylvia”
 of 5 bubbles JustSo13, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the main social area will be quieter. More private rooms are available at greater expense.”
 of 5 bubbles shanetravel86, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$51* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$76
Orbitz.comUS$75
Hostelworld.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates