We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Backpack

Booking.comUS$38*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Backpack
The Backpack
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

676 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Backpack
See the most recent reviews
Showing 567: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

The Backpack is the perfect place to stay. The wonderful staff makes everything so easy and the place feels like home. Such a great atmosphere and an awesome place to meet some great people. It is an awesome home base for anyone who is staying in Cape Town and is looking for a great trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are so chuffed to know that your stay was one of a kind with us and that staying with us made your trip to Cape Town that much more special. We hope that we will be seeing you again in the future! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We traveled in a group of 4 and spent 3 nights in the "President's Suite". The bedroom was very tidy and the bathroom was well kept. The staff helped us to plan activities for our time in Cape Town. The staff members took care of communicating with various tour/ group activities to ensure a successful booking. Every staff member from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to give us this review. We are so happy to hear that every single staff member in The Backpack treated you well and made sure that they met your every need. We are so proud when our story gets passed on and when guests can understand how their stay with us...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The Backpacker is even better in reality than on the photographs. It is well located close to Kloof and Long street where there are many excellent restaurants and bars. The décor and style is very vibrant and you can really feel comfortable and at home. We stayed in the Madiba room which was excellent with a view over the swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenKunz
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for reviewing us. It's awesome that you had a good stay with us, enjoying your room, Cape Town and its surrounding and the spectacular views of Table Mountain from our swimming pool area! Come back again soon, Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I spent 5 nights in total and the friendliness of all the staff is what makes the Back Pack different. With such a reception it helps all travellers relax and talk and i thoroughly enjoyed my staff and met so great people from all over the world. Well recommended i stayed in a small dorm and it was clean ,sociable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forevermagpie
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the lovely review of our hostel! We are so chuffed that the staff made your stay excellent and that all the advice we could give helped! We hope that in the future you can come back and stay with us again! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I booked a last-minute 5 day trip to Capetown and stayed in a 3-bed girls´ room the first night and private room with bathroom the rest of the time. I booked several tours through the staff - peninsula tour, winelands, and shark dive - and all were great! They were also a good way to get to know other guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurenL52
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

thanks for your great review about our hostel. we are happy that we were able to accommodate you that you were warm and cosy in your bed and enjoyed our free scrumptious breakfasts. even though it is winter and mornings and evenings can be chilly i am sure you enjoyed our sunny days where the mercury got up to the...

Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at many hostels and this one tops the list. Staff is very welcoming and helpful, rooms are clean, breakfast was great! Location was also convenient, there's a grocery store nearby and there's a communal fridge that you can leave stuff in! Highly recommend! Will definitely be back! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us. We love that you loved staying here with us. Of course it goes without saying how beautiful our city is and its a place you will never tire of there is so much to do and even if you don't want to do anything its great to just take in our mountain. So...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I loved this place so much that I decided to stay for 2 weeks, and I made some great friends along the way. I could go on and on about all the pluses of this place: the value, the comfort, the cleanliness, the terrific breakfasts, the worthy causes / community programs that they support. I would definitely come back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us you have really made a difference. We look forward to your return. Kind regards The Backpack Team

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I booked this hotel under the philosophy of "best of the worst" as opposed to "worst of the best" - going for the best backpacker hostel instead of the cheapest proper hotel. Upon arrival, I honestly couldn't tell the difference between The Backpack and any of the 5* hotels I have stayed in across the globe (aside from the eclectic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WildThailand
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

WOW this really is a fab review thank you. I am so sorry that you were told the pool was out of service - it was probably due to the fact that we are feeling the cold but hey if you want to crack the ice you are welcome to a brisk swim anytime as long as its before 10...

denver
Reviewed 15 June 2015

I was staying in Cape Town for a week with my daughter and had heard about the Backpack. We booked the 2 bed studio apartment. Upon arriving we found that the room was much smaller than depicted in the photos, had very little storage, the laundry mentioned in the description was not in the unit, and the "wifi available" was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank COdreaming
tembi1, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

We are sorry our Studio did not meet with your expectations. We do not advertise free wifi in this studio. The apartment is getting free wifi from the end of this month. The laundry is like a laundromat on the premises, not inside the apartment, however very convenient as there are none in the area. Our cancellation terms and conditions...

Detroit
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Had an excellent time here, and would be back again! Great location and great view of table mountain! Love the small bar and hangout area as well, and the staff was so sweet. Felt super safe and comfortable during my stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankiecalli
tembi1, Owner at The Backpack, responded to this review

We are thrilled you loved the Backpack and we love the views too -Table Mountain something you never get tired of and you really feel so close from our deck. We hope you will be back too. Kind regards The Backpack Team

400 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
President's Suite (38)
Viewed
Private Room (27)
Viewed
Private Room with Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 108 in Cape Town Central
320 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 108 in Cape Town Central
575 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 108 in Cape Town Central
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
622 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
488 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#6 of 125 in Cape Town Central
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Price Range: $36 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Backpack staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Tel Aviv, Israel

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Backpack staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 bed dorm room is close to entry, could be loud but not sure. Most of the privates are near the back and super quiet!”
  • View of Table Mountain from the garden/pool area
  • Bathroom and Shower area
andreatJ6895QF, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms along the back hallway are smoky.”
Mary859, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early, it fills up fast.”
U78YGmichaell, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the S/E side have views of Table Mountain.”
christopherdM8262TI, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“bigger capacity rooms save you money and don't lack anything for it!”
tomgarble, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$38* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$42
Agoda.comUS$40
PricelineUS$40
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates