We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

A Sunflower Stop

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
A Sunflower Stop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 225: English reviews
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I loved staying here! Extremely convenient for visiting VA Waterfront and didn't feel like I was in a stuffy hotel. I had a single room which was very comfy and shared facilities which were very clean. I also liked the free coffee at the check in and the bar that was open in the afternoon and evenings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T2697RLmelissaa
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had a very good stay and the atmosphere was great and the facilities were up to standard. Great hostel for young and old. Good location. Nice bar at the hostel as well. Friendly staff. Room was all we needed. I would recommend this hostel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 830debbie2016
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff is really cool, most of the time there's a great atmosphere around, people r happy, chillin' by the bar and the pool. The kitchen could use some (heavy) work. showers r great there's a Brai every saturday

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AdamGoldman7
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very disappointed when I arrived as it was absolutely not what I expected. The photos online should be more clear about what this place really looks like and more details on the place would be more helpful for people who feel they wasted their money and time when arriving at the actual hotel, as it doesn't really feel... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank laiqahv
Ashley W, Owner at A Sunflower Stop, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed and wish you had pictures that you think would be better describing us. Perhaps the reason you were disappointed with the "hotel" is that we are not a hotel and don't pretend to be one. We are a youth hostel/backpackers. More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Highly Recommended.I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Sunflower Stop.It is the best lodge, in its price range- and way above, in the area. The manager,John, runs a great lodge/guest house.It is clean, the staff is efficient, and the place is obviously well managed.The staff is pleasant, polite, courteous and helpful. The lodge is clean, and kept clean daily, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank redpixx47
Ashley W, Owner at A Sunflower Stop, responded to this review

Thanks Chris for the great review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Ashley More 

Saint Hyacinthe, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Perfect situation. Staff friendly and helpful. Quiet . Clean . Good value. A backpacker hotel but you are treated as if you were a welthy traveler. You can relax in the little garden near the pool. I strongly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zoyadaphne
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived there on the first day in Cape Town. Immediately noticed relaxed and nice staff and set up. Has a neat little bar with super fun people. The rooms are quite spacious for a hostel and have cozy beds. The surroundings are great. Victoria Wharf is close by, there are plenty of nice restaurants and the access towards CBD is... More 

Helpful?
Thank eoez
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Stayed here a week in Aug 2016. Owner/operator is a nice person who tries hard to make you feel welcome. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Met many other nice people there. Wifi a bit iffy and only available in common areas. Overall, I'd highly recommend this hostel.

Helpful?
Thank johnmillspa
Onore, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I was in Cape Town for few days and A SunFlowe Stop has been a good choice! Receptionist are always ready to help and advise, friendly bar staff and good location, not far from the city centre and 15/20 minutes walking from the ocean!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank laras892016
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016

A Sunflower Stop is a lovely place to stay in Cape Town and is very central. There is a swimming pool and cosy bar area. It has a huge kitchen upstairs and tables and chairs. A bonus is free filter coffee all day. It is my second stay there and I will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 162melodyv

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,537 reviews
1.2 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,326 reviews
1.5 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
1.8 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
0.7 km away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 128 in Cape Town Central
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Sunflower Stop backpackers offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation for budget travellers in Cape Town. Nestled between the mountains and sea, the backpackers hostel is in the perfect location to enjoy your time in Cape Town. With a self-catering kitchen, bar and T.V. lounge, our luxury backpackers offers affordable accommodation for every budget. So come and make yourself at home with our friendly staff, cool off in our refreshing sun filled swimming pool, relax at the cosy bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A Sunflower Stop

Address: 179 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $20 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Sunflower Stop 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your A Sunflower Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Stop Hotel Cape Town Central
Sunflower Stop Cape Town
A Sunflower Stop Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from A Sunflower Stop staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from A Sunflower Stop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The wifi is good but the rooms at the back do not connect to the wifi”
 of 5 bubbles redpixx47, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“8 person room is a best budget option”
 of 5 bubbles Stefan_Banach, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“17 is a double en-suite, can be slightly noisy but it didn't disturb my sleep at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Hannah2490, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms further from the main road are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles sonjam927, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms looked amazing only thing i was in the dorms which was kiff as well!!”
 of 5 bubbles cheshirecat517, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay