We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Start your review of Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed today NEW

Room was neat and very comfortable. It is noisy due to the clubs and pubs, but definitely suited to those who enjoy being out and having late nights. Lots of choice regarding food/restaurants, bars and clubs. Very vibey area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank starfishmont
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I loved every minute of my stay at Urban Chic. Yes there is noise as mentioned in other reviews but I had read up before booking so knew where I was booking so it didn't really bother me. The hotel offers earplugs but I didn't need them. The staff were amazing, booked me on several tours, booked me Table Mountain...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cuddles1983
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed there because of the area but the hotel was not good and not deserving the starts that is says it has. very noisy and staff not nice and not very clean. I do not recommend anyone to stay there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tobi573
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day. We do market ourselves as being in the party street of Cape Town surrounded by night clubs and bars and even offer earplugs to our guests and this is stated in several places on our website and those of our suppliers. The loud music, cars and ambient noise is a part of the vibe that is Long street...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The noise from Long Street is seriously understated. Not recommended for anyone wanting to sleep between 10:30pm and 5:00am. All other features of the hotel are as advertised except the locale which is an overriding negative.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgr2909
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day. We do market ourselves as being in the party street of Cape Town surrounded by night clubs and bars and even offer earplugs to our guests and this is stated in several places on our website and those of our suppliers. The loud music, cars and ambient noise is a part of the vibe that is Long street...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a single thing good to say about this hotel... 1.I was told that parking is not guaranteed so I would have to park on the street if there is no parking available. 2. Receptionist not trained- did not know the difference between room service and housekeeping 3. Receptionist ignored questions when she was asked and just sat down and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance M
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day 1. Our website and Booking.com's website is very clear stating that parking is on a first come, first serve basis. There was parking available for you all weekend and not once were you expected to park on the street. 2. We do have room service for breakfast and lunch. 4 Star grading does not require that we have...

Nazeing
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brilliantly positioned in central Cape Town. The room was large and well presented with views to Table Mountain. All the staff were helpful, very polite and friendly. The only downside is that the hotel is probably in the busiest night time part of Long Street but we didn't find it too intrusive. Loads of restaurants and bars nearby. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AliNazeing
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect, My room was nice, modern & clean. Good Wifi reception, mini bar fridge, Wall Mounted flat screen Tv, Ver Very nice bathroom and very spacious. I would give the room 10/10. However because of water restriction, bed linen is currently not changed everyday but when necessary or on request. Now come to the best part. If you are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thokozani P
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 14 February 2017

the general manager is unbelievable rude and not willing to help the guests in their requests. Cape town is such a beautiful place and so touristic, I would have thought the hotels should have bigger customer culture.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kvm_kvm_kvm
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Please note that since you have never stayed with us, this is an invalid and fraudulent review. You have never experienced our hotel at all. You cancelled your booking with us (which was for check in on the 11th of March 2017) on Friday the 10th of February 2017 because you were unhappy with our policies and procedures...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Don't stay here! It's noisy, run down, bleak and depressing. And that's without taking into account the fact that you have to endure pounding, pumping music in your room from the club opposite the "hotel". Worst night away ever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeW-SA
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Ma'am Yes, we are situated in what is commonly known as the party street of Cape Town, All of our reviews and our website clearly state this. We even offer earplugs on check in and state as much on our website. When my staff offered you the earplugs you declined though Our website uses phrases like "never sleeps...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 28/01 untill 01/01. The hotel has a small but pleasant reception. The staff are very happy to assist you with your enquiries. The Breakfast is served up stairs at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street. There is a bar in the hotel on the ground floor. Lifts provide access to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulA126

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.2 km away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
185 reviews
0.5 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#71 of 106 in Cape Town Central
647 reviews
1.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
744 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Urban Chic Hotel has 20 bedrooms and luxurious en-suite bathrooms that offers everything that an overseas tourist or corporate client could want, in the form of comfort and state-of-the-art amenities. The well-appointed rooms all have air-conditioning, and wireless communication ensure instant internet access for laptop users. Our Rooms have large windows that offer breathtaking views of Table Mountain, Lions Head and Signal Hill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Address: 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $112 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Chic Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Urban Chic Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Urban Chic Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
5 months ago
San Francisco, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Urban Chic Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beautiful views of Table Mountain”
 of 5 bubbles starfishmont, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No recommendation”
 of 5 bubbles lancem362, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a corner room, as near to the top as possible”
 of 5 bubbles AliNazeing, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For love birds, room 303 has a comfortable king size bed and room 304 is a much more large room with twin beds. Both having a mountain view.”
 of 5 bubbles ThokozaniP, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For a good nights sleep avoid rooms that face Long Street.”
  • View of Table Mountain from Hotel Room
 of 5 bubbles PaulA126, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5