We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dunkley House

Agoda.comUS$63*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$73*
US$63*
US$71*
US$73*
US$63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Dunkley House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 159: English reviews
Start your review of Dunkley House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We traveled to Cape Town with my hubbys family. This guesthouse is a good basepoint to explore the town, and offers a great start of the day by serving a very good breakfast. Unfortunately, we had some roaches in our room that was quite close to the kitchen. The soundproofing of the rooms could be better, the other guests arriving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria a
Simon's Town, South Africa
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This was my second one-night stay at Medindi. As before, I booked it for price and convenience and, once again, I was struck by how lovely the place is an how very friendly and authoritative are the staff. From now on I will add this as a reason to stay here again! Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterW1912
dunkleyhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkley House, responded to this review

Dear Beloved Guest Thank you for your ongoing stay with us and i believe we will see more of you as you mentioned and your review means a lot to us. We assure you that we will continue to offer the best service and improve on were we leg behind. Thank you for your most precious review and till we...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We enjoyed our stay in Dunkley House. The room was well appointed, the staff were very kind, and the breakfasts were lovely. We were lacking soap in our room, which I found a bit odd. But otherwise, we very much enjoyed our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rikomatic
dunkleyhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkley House, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest Thank you for your great review, we value it and we also appreciate your honesty. Firstly and foremost we feel honoured to have you at or Lovely Guesthouse and that you really quite enjoyed our hospitality and you will definitely come back. Our apologies for lack of bath soap but we do provide Charlotte Rhys guest amenities...

Midrand, South Africa
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I booked Dunkley House in Cape Town for a couple of nights while there on business. I chose it primarily because of the location and the price had an impact. Dunkley House is in Gardens, Cape Town, which I walked to from the city centre, and also walked to the vibey Taboerskloof area for dinner, so really central. The place...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart Thomas M... C
dunkleyhouse, Manager at Dunkley House, responded to this review

Dear Beloved Guest Thank you for your most valued review. It means a lot to us to know that we are providing service that is appreciated and your review shows it all and we thank you. We assure you that we will change our Breakfast times for all business travelers to be accommodated as they miss out most of the...

Reviewed 29 March 2017

Don't book room no. 2, it has no privacy whatsoever. The room is situated inside the main house just next to the breakfast room. You can hear all the noise coming from the kitchen and people eating their breakfast from 7.30am. The toilet is the worst. The only thing that separates the toilet from the main bedroom is a thin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sitna Q
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 March 2017

I went to Dunkley House two days after I got married about two weeks ago. Breakfasts are simple but nice and location in the Gardens is excellent! Its a short work into town. The room is beautifully designed and the bed and shower are amazing! The bedroom is a 'smart' room but nothing really works. I asked reception to fix...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RahmaM_ZA
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I've stayed a few times - and like the easygoing ambience of the place - which is a guest house / B&B tucked away in the City bowl in a quiet narrow street. The building is old with some nice features. Service is good/ friendly - bicycles welcome. Some of the decor in the rooms is becoming a bit tired...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamlJ4654AF
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The rooms looked great on the website, and most were, but I suspect because we were a Discovery vitality discounted booking, we got put in the dud room. the room was very cramped, the one and only window showed nothing but the bottom of a staircase, the bathroom was dark and had cheap, worn out fixtures. There was also a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A542FQchrisf
dunkleyhouse, Manager at Dunkley House, responded to this review

Dear Beloved Guest Thank you for your most valued review, it means a lot to us It breaks our hearts to hear you never quite really enjoyed your stay. Please note we do not choose rooms for clients or for agents for that matter, Rooms are priced differently depending on availability and room specification. We apologise that the room did...

IlkleyWYorksEngland
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Dunkley yet again. It's our ninth time of staying here at the start of our holiday in SA. It's a calm and relaxing place ideally situated for the city centre restaurants and sightseeing....a 15 minute walk to Long Street. The staff are lovely and helpful in booking restaurants etc, and we like The Aqua...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
dunkleyhouse, Manager at Dunkley House, responded to this review

Dear Mairina and Tony Thank you for your lovely stay with us over the years and we are honored to have you and you have become our family. We are glad to advise that we are revamping the Old building especially your favorite room(Aqua), giving it an uplift for total satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you in the New...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I went down for the CTCT and found it very conveniently situated for both the start of the race and the finish at Greenpoint Stadium. The staff were very friendly & helpful and the breakfast was delicious. The rooms are very clean and the linen is lovely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie1208
dunkleyhouse, Manager at Dunkley House, responded to this review

Dear Beloved Guest Thank you for your most valued review and we appreciate it. We are happy to hear you had a nice time with us and very convenient location to your liking. We assure you that we will keep improving on our service delivery. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Kind regards Dunkley house

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Fritz Hotel
Fritz Hotel
#71 of 109 in Cape Town Central
230 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#77 of 109 in Cape Town Central
72 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#42 of 155 in Cape Town Central
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#21 of 155 in Cape Town Central
377 reviews
City Bowl
Radium Hall Guest House
Radium Hall Guest House
#49 of 155 in Cape Town Central
100 reviews
Cape Standard
#15 of 155 in Cape Town Central
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A jewel in Cape Town's crown, Dunkley House is a shining example of how modern design and styling can enhance a period property's original features. From a family residence built in the early 1900's, we have created an elegant, contemporary boutique guest establishment in a quaint Victorian street in Cape Town's historic old quarter offering luxury accommodation in the City Bowl. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunkley House

Address: 3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range: $79 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunkley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunkley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkley House Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dunkley House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dunkley House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book room 2 or 1, which are inside of the main house and face the breakfast room”
sitnaq, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 8 & 9 probably the best”
I8483XVannm, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 6,7 and 8 have more modern bathrooms”
Maggiewray, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Go for the superior rooms if possible.”
AfricaPhil, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I liked my room, number 4, spacious and with plunge pool.”
  • room number 4 has a plunge pool
  • something else, a black bath
GoSouthAfrica, 7 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$63* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$71
TripAdvisorUS$63
Booking.comUS$73
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates