We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Far Hills Country Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Far Hills Country Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 211: English reviews
Start your review of Far Hills Country Hotel
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our delux room was dark and dingy with bugs and moths all over. The sheet on the bed had holes that we could put our fist through. All this for the special price of R950.00 for the night. Will not be staying there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cliveandmerle
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Let's start with the positives beautiful scenery and very friendly waitress in the restaurant. We were very fortunate to be accommodated at the venue at after 12 the evening. However the cleanliness and state of the room and bathroom were not up to standard. Crawling insects in the bath, spider webs in the bedroom, only 1 coffee sachet, no remote...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TA1802
Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are a family who checked into this hotel for 1 night into 2 adjacent rooms. The bathroom was poorly maintained- 1) the shower was clogged 2) no floor mats 3) no soap/shampoo holder 4) not even a mirror in the bathroom. The picture quality was bad and very few channels. Also, no internet in the rooms. Would advise you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarvotham R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is old and contemporary. It has soo much potential but still a good spot for a few days rest. The rooms were spotless however being pregnant I found the beds uncomfortable.no decaf coffee sachets.room was cleaned daily and fresh towels delivered. The staff were okay at reception it always sounded as if it was an effort to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarCin0911
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed the breakfast every morning. It seems that they are doing a lot of renovations and maintenace, to restore this well known hotel to it's former glory. The hotel has so much potential. For what we paid it was value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GustavPotgieter
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We are in the process of renovating and doing maintenance on our Standard double rooms, one at a time. We hope to see you again soon at The Far Hills Hotel.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a total disappointed...what a shock to see how run down the place actually is. Our room was divided by a door that was locked. Two separate 3/ 4beds. The one was more in the shape of a cano. One bedside lamp . No light in ceiling. Other guests children were in the pool at six o clock in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalia C
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very run down. The luxury room we were shown had very thin sheets you could see the mattress through. The pool was murky no where in the grounds to sit. We didn't stay. Every where was very tired looking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Worst experience of my life! The rooms were outdated, the pool was dirty throughout our stay and the whole place is run-down with flies everywhere. And to top it all off the room keys work on all of the doors. I was in the bathroom when someone knocked on the door, I yelled "I'm coming", but one of the workers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizzyMcDonald
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bardenhorst We, The Far Hills Hotel sincerely apologise for what happened in your room last week Friday. The front desk receptionist was asked to look for our European Adaptors in all of the rooms. He did come to your room, and as per the hotels rules and regulations he knocked on your door three times. He unfortunately did...

Bellville, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I rarely write reviews on multiple platforms but this was just unacceptable!!! All the keys work on all the rooms. We read a review like this before coming here and thought it could not possibly be true. Well to our surprise we quickly learned that it does.. Naive, I know.. But okay, knowig this we always left the key in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael B
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Badernhorst As per the previous responce that was given to your wife, we at The Far Hills Hotel sincerely apologise for what happened in your room last week Friday. The front desk receptionist was asked to look for our European Adaptors in all of the rooms. He did come to your room, and as per the hotels rules...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I was very disappointed with my stay at Far Hills. The room was ok and bathroom shower not so ok. Door of shower was also difficult to manage. Aircon one of those VERY old ones... Old box tv with very few channels. Bad reception. VERY poor reception. Could not go on internet. Wifi did not work. I also forgot some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinyHandz
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Bester We take all reviews on Tripadvisor very seriously. While you stayed at our hotel in one of our Standard double rooms in November there was no complaint received from your room in regards to the shower door and tv, where we could have assisted you immediately fixing the problems to ensure the remainder of your stay is...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
9.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
4.1 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
61 reviews
13.0 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
12.5 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: $67 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Far Hills Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another eastablishment.”
 of 5 bubbles cliveandmerle, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“dont choose a room. Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles TinyHandz, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles orange2017, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rather choose another accommodation/even a self catering unit.”
  • Harden paint in the baisen.
  • Dirt on the wall
  • paint-job
  • Dirt underneath the dresser
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable.”
 of 5 bubbles Tobie53, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5