We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oakhurst Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oakhurst Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oakhurst Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Bloemfontein
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Well situated close to the main thoroughfare through George, yet in a fairly quiet spot. Nice interiors, good service, good price. Good value. Also offers secure parking out back. Spacious lounge and decent breakfast buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickv453
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick WOW!! Thank you so much for your positive review. Always nice to have satisfied guests. Hope to see you soon! Kindest regards Janita van Biljoen

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I've stayed at Oakhurst many times over the past few years and find the general staff quite friendly, helpful and willing. Anyways, my most recent visit, I checked in and was told the ground floor room I booked in advance is no longer available. I was moved to an upstairs room which I dreaded because the thatch roof makes the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yumi4
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Youmnah Thank you for your review. However please allow us to respond to some of your inaccurate comments. According to your booking reservation, no specific room was mentioned as a request on the ground floor. There was no confirmed ground floor room allocated to you, there for you were not moved upstairs, but simply allocated to the best available...

Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

I went to George on a business trip and made a reservation at Oakhurst Hotel for me and a colleague. Upon arrival they couldn't find our booking and after further investigation it came to light that they took down all our contact details WRONG. Our booking was cancelled, after capturing literally each and every contact detail wrong, because they couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cobus d
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cobus This review is very upsetting because you gave the WRONG information on Tripadvisor. Please allow us to give our side of the story. When you made the booking you requested an invoice and Reception informed you that we could only issue the invoice the following day and you said that you would send a mail to request the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Situated right in the commercial centre of George this hotel is an atmospheric thatched Cape building with an intricate array of wooden beams running through the whole structure and visible. The rooms are well appointed, although when the hotel is busy, can be quite noisy due to the open structure of the historic building. The staff are charming and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard D
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard Deering Thank your very much for your positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards Janita van Biljoen General Manager

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 25 August 2015

staff were incredibly friendly and really made me feel at home. I travel alone most of the times and they made me feel like it was home away from home. I will recommend them anytime! Thank You Mrs Phaal and Dr Green

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zeldaphaal
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Phaal & Dr Green Thank your very much for the great review regarding our staff friendliness. Glad your stay with us felt so close to home. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Janita van Biljoen & staff

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 15 July 2015

You really feel well cared for at the Oakhurst. The hotel has friendly, helpful staff that really make you feel that nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. They put our friends in the room directly opposite us, which was thoughtful of them. Offered to light the fire for us when we watched...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brenda Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. We always strive to be very helpful and friendly towards our guests. I will pass the feedback to all the staff members and that in return will make them feel very proud. Looking forward welcoming you back in December. Best wishes till then. Kindest Regards Janita van Biljoen General...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I was very surprised at what a nice experience this was. A little disappointed that the AC would not turn off COLD and turn on the heat. I wanted to just warm the room slightly before retiring but even with the AC set at 30 degrees C it continued to pump out air at 15 degrees C. However this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLC_4play
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. Thank you as well for bringing the problem with the AC under our attention. I can reply that it is now in good working condition, sorry for the inconvenience. However we are glad that you had a surprising stay. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest...

Springs, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We recently stayed at the Oakhurst Hotel in George when we visited the arts festival in Oudtshoorn for a concert. Our guests were from Ireland and this was the seventh and last concert they performed in South Africa, at this time being very travel fatigued. I found accommodation at the Oakhurst after an online search, and consider this a stroke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlSenekal
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charl Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. It was such a pleasure to accommodate your guest with us. We enjoyed your guest and company as it is not every day that you send your guest off with a shot of Tequila and super ending to a wonderful tour. Michelle and Pinkie are great staff members and...

Reviewed 2 April 2015

Spent 4 days there. Staff very friendly. Service good. From the moment you set foot there you realise that the staff put your needs first. Restaurant good value for money. Room very clean and nice ambience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolevendal
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. Glad to hear you had such a great experience. We aim to create a feeling of "Home away from Home". Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards, Janita van Biljoen General Manager

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Hotel is clean and staff very friendly and will do anything they can to help you. But, if you have a room facing the main road it is very noisy from early morning. Food was ok but nothing special. We were there during heavy rain and the thatched roof was leaking but was not a big problem. Overall the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim Thank you very much for your review. We have addressed the matters you raised, unfortunately the noise factor from the morning traffic is a bit out of our control as we are city centred. We proud ourselves too be helpful and friendly at all times. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
10.9 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
62 reviews
5.1 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
451 reviews
7.6 km away
Far Hills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakhurst Hotel - “ Urban tranquility in the heart of George. “The ideal location to explore the rest of the Garden Route. Oakhurst Hotel is stylish, deliberately small and exclusive suited to both leisure and business travelers alike. The thatched gabled hotel facing the Outeniqua Mountains, offers 25 Designer- decorated rooms, all with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. All the rooms are complemented with modern amenities to please even the most discerning traveler. Disabled facilities. Outdoor swimming pool. The restaurant is open for breakfast, light luncheons and snacks. Lounge with large farmhouse fireplace. Ladies bar. Secure open parking. Wireless internet. Oakhurst boasts a unique dining experience, with a choice of several restaurants, all located in the immediate vicinity. “The meeting place in the centre of George” ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakhurst Hotel

Address: Cnr Meade & Cathedral Streets | PO Box 9416, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: $92 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhurst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Oakhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oakhurst Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi limited to 1gb and poor signal strength”
 of 5 bubbles MarkasavageS, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I have stayed there before, and both the rooms that we stayed in was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles TMan1980, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Any room on ground floor on the pool side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Yumi4, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“best rooms are the one's leading to the garden”
 of 5 bubbles zeldaphaal, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try and get room at back of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JimM188, 1 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5