We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harbour House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harbour House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

850 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 755: English reviews
Start your review of Harbour House Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had initially only pre booked and paid for one night at Harbour House , but due to a change in the weather at the previous resort we decided to book another night ( fortunately they had rooms available ) We were treated at the reception and asked to make payment for the extra nights stay . We gave over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndreaFowlerFoodie
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AndreaFowlerFoodie, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is of utmost importance as this determines whether we are sticking to our game plan. Therefore I would like to sincerely apologise for the unnecessary double charge which occurred. I will immediately investigate where we have dropped the ball and will ensure that the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very close walking distance to restaurants and shops, beautiful rooms and helpful staff. Beautiful infinity pool with a view of the ocean. Nice Selection of local wines on the beverage list, light lunch menu available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lize P
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lize P, What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers. A further thank you for your feedback on our hotel, wine selection and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Charl Schoeman

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent room on the third floor with views over the bay. Stayed for 5 nights. Aircon broken, fan provided. 3pm check in very annoying. Lovely swimming pool. Good breakfast. Would certainly stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annB1943
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear annB1943, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and send us your valuable feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Hermanus. Kind Regards, Charl Schoeman

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our journey from Cape Town along the garden route to Port Elizabeth. It has a great location right on the sea front within easy walking distance of the many bars and restaurants. The room was very clean, had a small kitchenette and had a sea view. There is secure parking beneath the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane R, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and send us your valuable feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Hermanus. Kind Regards, Charl Schoeman

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked Harbour house hotel but we were placed In harbour square hotel .the manager managed to relocate us to the main hotel but it was no near the standard of local Guest Houses. The breakfast was just okay but the whole hotel would benefit from training from local guest houses and up the standard of mainanance The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vegetarian990
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vegetarian990, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I always say positive feedback is great, but constructive feedback makes us great because we listen to our guest. Regarding your reservation, your confirmation stated clearly that you were booked into a the Harbour Square Hotel, which is situated opposite the Harbour House Hotel, we...

Charente, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a huge disappointment this hotel is. Not up to the standard one would expect for its 4 star listing and truly awful customer service. We booked a one night stay, six months in advance, in a Premier room which was stated to include King size bed with Ocean view, Kitchen, air conditioning and free WiFi. On arrival at 4.00pm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaineb01
UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good points- the hotel is very well situated overlooking the old harbour of Hermanus. Our room had a maginficent view over the bay. The less good points - Only some of the rooms have good views and some are in an annexe over the road. The aircon in our room did not work and the hotel's attempt to replace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles_Orleans
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charles_Orleans, Thank you for taking the time for writing a review about your recent stay. We value each and every guest feedback as this helps us determine whether we are sticking to our game plan – exceeding guest expectations. We always take all comments and feedback very seriously as this can only help us improve where we can. Therefore...

surrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before arriving at the hotel, i was very concerned by some of the reviews that i read. We are quite demanding in terms of the quality of accommodation that we expect and there were some fairly harsh critics of this hotel.... i can only comment on the service that we received and we were very impressed. Our room was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pkjt
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pkjt, Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback and completing a review. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us here with us. Having the luxury of being located along the coastline here in South Africa, we are indeed very fortunate to be surrounded by the best that Hermanus...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, bright, modern rooms with good-size bed & smart bathroom. The Wifi was good too. Breakfast was excellent & all the staff seemed friendly & helpful. The hotel is in a very good location & has a pool. The one disappointment (as others have mentioned) was the fact our room directly overlooked the car park area at ground level so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip B, Thank you for writing a review. Guest feedback is of utmost importance as this helps us determine whether we are sticking to our game plan – making our guest happy. I see that you stayed in one of our Classic rooms, located on the lower level at the rear of Harbour House New Wing, with kitchenette. However...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night here in January and we had a lovely time. The staff were friendly and helpful, staff on reception helped me find the address and post code of my next location after we had checked out and I returned to the hotel for help as we could not set our GPS. Our second floor room was bright,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judy062
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear judy062, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Guest feedback is very important to us as this helps us determine whether we are sticking to our commitment to success- making our guest happy. With that said, I am very happy to know that you had such a memorable time while staying with...

414 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (368)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
634 reviews
0.5 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
390 reviews
0.8 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $163 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have better views. Noisy music in square Friday and Saturday evenings.”
 of 5 bubbles annB1943, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you book Harbour hotel not hour square..”
 of 5 bubbles Vegetarian990, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor, main building, harbour view - but there aren't many of those”
 of 5 bubbles Charles_Orleans, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room on one of the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles pkjt, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles judy062, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5