We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Baleens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Baleens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Baleens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 392: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This hotel was extremely clean and comfortable, and very reasonably priced. A cooked breakfast is included and it is cooked to order and served in the dining area, which is a very nice space with beautifully set tables. The staff go out of their way to help and this really enhanced our experience at Baleens. The family that run Baleens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liorah D
Cape Point, South Africa
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We were disappointed with a lack of view. We felt 'closed in'. Even though there was a little courtyard, the immediate view as you enter the room is of a blank white wall. We didn't feel particularly welcomed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X3042NZfernandod
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Good, clean and friendly service at this hotel! Breakfast was lovely and the entertainment area was a hit with my 6 year old son. The hotel is conveniently located and my only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 986alexiad
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Baleens. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We booked a room with a view and that's what we got - every time we stepped onto the balcony we saw whales in the bay. The staff made an effort to make sure our stay was comfortable. We enjoyed being out of the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pohtmrkt16070006k
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We spent unfortuneately only one night in the Baleens, but we were thinking about exceeding due this great place! Since we had problems with our car battery, Julia was so kind organizing help for the next day. so she even was driving us to town for dinner then and picked us up again. Futhermore we met a very nice south...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We had a very pleasant stay at Baleens hotel. Very good beds, shower facilities and a delicious breakfast. The hotel is situated at a lovely point, close to the beach. We had a room with a view at the sea. Everything was lovely!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolleh265
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed two nights at the Baleens and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was clean and spacious, and a balcony with ocean views. Breakfast was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were pleased to stay at this end of town, close to the ocean and away from the busy and noisy town. The hotel has great character and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ingridh173
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Thank you for the pleasant experience, the overall service was professional and the staff very friendly. The room quality is average and will need attention on the DSTV ( Which was not working properly ). The entertainment is also lacking and needs to be addressed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 287eugenej
Province of Turin, Italy
Reviewed 22 August 2016

don't go in winter, there's no heating! the room assigned didn't correspond to images and reviews, i was very upset and i would have liked to sleep in another place for the night, the worst night of my journey, we slept dressed!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosellas369
NiciMeier, Manager at Baleens, responded to this review

Hi Rosellas, I am sorry to hear that you had no heating in your room. All our rooms have portable heaters that are kept in the cupboard and if for some reason you didn't see one or your room did not have one, you could have asked at reception as we keep a couple of extra ones in the office....

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Spacious room with a lovely sea view. Amazing price and impeccable service. Beautifully decorated establishment with the warm comfort of home away from home. Thank you for a great stay. We will definitely visit again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ongamam

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
5.0 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
5.6 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
5.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
390 reviews
5.3 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
4.9 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baleens

Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $64 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Family Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Baleens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Baleens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's an old Heritage Building, so you'll have squeaky floors. You'll have to inquire to what suits you best.”
  • View from our room's balcony on the top floor.
 of 5 bubbles LeonL188, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It is a great place just to relax and unwind.”
 of 5 bubbles ronelb559, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seemed fine - we had upstairs which was great - had a nice balcony with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Tini_AD, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Inter leading rooms for families”
 of 5 bubbles MakNJab, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beach facing balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles damascusjockgirl, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5