We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Marine Hermanus

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Marine Hermanus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 572: English reviews
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We spent three nights at the Marine last weekend, the hotel was lovely but slightly dated (possibly only deserves a 4 star status). The staff were great and very helpful. Besides the wonderful breakfasts we did not eat lunch or dinner at any of the restaurants. My only disappointment would be that we did not have a sea view on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordonon1
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am delighted that you managed to spot our Owls. They have successfully bred here for a number of years now and always exciting to see them. Hope to welcome you back soon into a Seaview room. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2015

This was the second hotel to be visited in the group, completely different, however very relaxing We spent thee days here and all the hotel staff have been well chosen, with nothing being too much trouble.. The food was excellent and the personal touch was being greeted by our names The room had a wonderful view of Walker Bay, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davina t
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to experience some of what Hermanus has to offer. Hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Superb hotel in great location. Facilities were excellent as was the food and service in both restaurants. Staff were friendly and professional. Great having private balcony off bedroom. Could not fault anything and if in Hermanus again will definitely stay at Marine Hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

We look forward to your return visit for some more well deserved pampering. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Reviewed 6 December 2015

I recently had a very busy 2 day trip filled with exciting activities around Hermanus. The Marine was our base and proved an absolute oasis where we could recharge our batteries in luxury. Highlights were the 2 award winning restaurants, great cocktails, having the spa put me back together after a busy 2 days and seeing the whales cruise past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and I am very happy that we managed to soothe the soul. The Marine is indeed the best destination to relax and enjoy the beautiful Overberg region. Looking forward to your return. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

We dined in the Seafood Pavilion and were treated to perfectly prepared fare presented in charming fashion by smiling staff. It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening out and our only complaint was about some of the clientele. When the hotel and staff go out of their way to give a 5 star service it must be utterly dispiriting for them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Swale57
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your experience. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Reviewed 4 December 2015

The Marine is a lovely spot. The service is impeccable, the food is excellent, and the location is unbeatable. This isn't five stars because the hotel is old and dated in a few spots. It needs some work. The seafood restaurant is much better than the more formal one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The Marine is indeed an old building exuding old world charm. We do however try and improve our look and service levels constantly so hope we see you again soon where you will notice some positive changes I am sure. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 November 2015

only one complain,, we spent three days/four nights here and too short:). that's what a 5-star hotel is all about. ladies at the shop/reception and ladies at the spa an extra compliment to you. what a location! rooms fantastic, bed great, serviceis impacable. breakfast outside and spotting the whales from our table. dining rooms and food excellent. we celebrated our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertv1448
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Aussie in London
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe superior room for one night in late November. Overall a mixed experience. When we arrived, reception staff were welcoming and friendly. During check-in, my partner had to present her passport which she subsequently (and mistakenly) thought she'd left behind when we got to our room. When we went back to the desk to enquire about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. I am sure that you will enjoy on your return a different and more pleasant experience. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

I spent a night at the Marine in mid November, in a sea-facing suite, in the ground floor (Room 104 I think). Overall, for a hotel that mentioned its Relais & Chateaux/Five Star status, it was disappointing, and not worth the money. As nearly all reviewers note, the setting and hotel building are superb; the public areas are also very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie J
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Marine excels in Old World charm and sophistication but as many hotels of it`s caliber are doing, we constantly improve our offerings. Your comments have most definitely assisted us in where we could improve our service. I do hope to see you again in the near...

Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 25 November 2015

This is a great hotel in a fabulous location. Especially if you're lucky enough to get a seaview room. Our room was spacious, cool and and airy. We couldn't fault anything in the room or public areas. The reception staff were more than helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant which was busy with a great atmosphere.......not at all formal!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dee6jay
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for positive feedback. Indeed our amenities are outstanding and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.4 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
395 reviews
0.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
869 reviews
0.6 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
4.9 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $265 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We asked for sea view which was on the first floor. Probably better than ground floor in my opinion”
 of 5 bubbles disaffron6, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Always try for a sea view room on the 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles BsurreyUK, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“View to the sea is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles sanchothegolfer, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a balcony overlooking Walkers Bay”
 of 5 bubbles Rosselli2016, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room with a private terrace overlooking the pool. It was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 433shirleyw, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5