We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windsor Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 392: English reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

The 3 star rating is deceptive. There was nothing that made us feel this place deserves 3 stars other than the view. The whole hotel needs a complete revamp. Everything feels 30 years old. From the bathrooms, to the rooms to the lobby and reception and corridors. The breakfast was mediocre. The staff where very pleasant and willing to assist....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Andy G, We would like to thank you for choosing The Windsor Hotel during your stay in Hermanus. The Windsor Hotel is gradually undergoing upgrades and refurbishments and the valuable feedback you have given us will be used during this process. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Spent two nights in this hotel. It was expensive by South African standards but the view from our room was incredible. The hotel could do with complete refurbishment but nevertheless the room was clean and the bathroom acceptable. Breakfast was good and included in the price. It is close to the centre and provides its own car park which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer C, We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay and also choosing The Windsor Hotel during your time in Hermanus. Thank you for the valued feedback you have given us. The Windsor Hotel will be undergoing upgrades and refurbishments in 2016 and the information you have given us will used during this process. Looking forward...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2015

The best bit about this hotel is it's location. Unfortunately a message had been phoned and left with reception for us but this was not passed on to us. The room smelt unpleasant, and the fittings were dated. Our room was in the main hotel, first floor, sea view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoSki2015
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear JoSki2015 We would like to thank you for choosing The Windsor Hotel during your visit in Hermanus. We do apologise for the inconvenience regarding the correspondence you were waiting for. We will use your valuable feedback to help improve on our guest experience. Looking forward on welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

Luxembourg
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We had actually booked a B&B but since it was in the process of changing owners, they had to re-accomodate us. I have to admit that I sort of checked out what they had offered instead, just wanted to have a room with a view of the ocean, that much I checked. So, totally my mistake, I should have done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akilah
Windsor H, Sales and Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Akilah, Wir sind sehr traurig, über die Unannehmlichkeiten haben, die Erfahrung von einem B & B The Windsor Hotel...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We arrived early afternoon , we dd not face any parking problems being in the center of Hermanus as the Hotel provides their complimentary parking facilities. At the Reception they first suggested a room overlooking the sea but it was in the top floor and as there is no elevator we accepted a cheaper room at the back in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Evangelos K
Windsor H, Sales and Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Evangelos, We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always good to hear our breakfast is enjoyable. We are looking forward on welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

Rondebosch, South Africa
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Thank you for a great week-end. We will be back. We had a great sea view room with a balcony. The chocolates and Crunchies are yummie. Rooms were cleaned fast. Front of House staff very friendly Annie and Mark Lemmon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annie18108
Windsor H, Sales and Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear annie18108, We are very please to know that you have enjoyed your stay at The Windsor Hotel. As always it is a great feeling to know our guests have ad wonderful experience. Looking forward on welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Johanri Meyer

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 December 2015

We were fortunate enough to be offered one of the 2 bedroomed apartments next to the hotel, as the hotel was full with tour groups. The location cannot be bettered in Hermanus and the service and friendliness of the staff is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davegX7655WQ
Windsor H, Sales and Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear davegX7655WQ Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our apartments. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

Cape Town
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Good, hassle free service on check-in and check-out. We stayed in apartment 2 at 45 on Marine, which is within walking distance to all amentities. The views from the apartment are amazing, the bedrooms are spacious however I would suggest investing in better pillows and an update on the lounge seating, the seats are looking tired and dirty. Lovely old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Windsor H, Sales and Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Karen R We are very please to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our apartments. Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We have made note of your constructive feedback which will be used when updating and renovations take place. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Fabulous ocean front location within easy walking distance to old marina. Rooms need to be updated though - especially the bathrooms and beds. We aren't tall but our feet were hanging off the end of the bed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottsatrip
Windsor H, Sales and Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Scottsatrip, We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the constructive feedback that you have given us. We have taken note of your feedback and will use this in the future during our renovations and restorations in 2016. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards,...

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Really enjoyed the apartment. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent view from apartment. Just check the bathrooms, showers tend to mess floor,. maybe look at upgrading kitchen and bathroom a little bit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syngin01
Windsor H, Sales and Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Syngin01 We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our apartments. Thank you for the feedback you have given us. We have taken note of this and will take your feedback in mind for future renovations and restorations. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

274 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
796 reviews
0.6 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.9 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
370 reviews
5.3 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#5 of 12 in Hermanus
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $77 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views are best”
  • Sea view from our room
 of 5 bubbles SvB-CvB, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any sea facing upper floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles clivealisonk, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If possible: with seaside views.”
 of 5 bubbles robbertl124, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a Seaview room to enjoy the simply magnificent view.”
  • The View from the Front Door
 of 5 bubbles Kwan_Nyom, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea facing views have the most fantastic view of the sea, but are a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles JeniWallace, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay