We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windsor Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 445: English reviews
Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location and it feels like home. Only negatives- Staff need to be trained properly and bathrooms need an upgrade and the televisions. We had a good stay although it was our anniversary weekend which they knew and they ignored my request for one of the bigger rooms...this was dissapointing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janinep34
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Janinep34, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. Thank you for the valuable feedback you have given regarding your experience with the room. The hotel is currently undergoing upgrades and renovations to make the guest experience more enjoyable and we are looking forward to welcome you...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were just looking for a clean place to sleep while visiting town, ideally one well-located to the restaurants and the cliff walk. We reserved one of the cheap non-view rooms at the Windsor: actually it was in a secondary building behind the main hotel. The room was clean but nothing fancy, which is all we needed. The location, however,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Kevin D, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. Thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given us regarding your stay. The Hotel is currently undergoing upgrades and renovations to the rooms and we hope to welcome you back so that you can experience a...

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tired, small room in tired unimaginative hotel. Great view of the bay and short walk everywhere. Good breakfast. No bar, no room service, no nothing. You can do a lot better in Hermanus. Really, you can!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elvistoo
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Elvistoo, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. The Windsor Hotel offers the most basic of services. We encourage our guests to go out and explore all the wonderful bars and restaurants Hermanus has to offer and gives them a chance to explore the village. The...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful setting. On the edge of the sea with spectacular vies of the ocean. Whale watching from various areas within the hotel. Clean and neat. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. Nice restaurant and shops in walking distance from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bronwynn193
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day bronwynn193, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. It us such a pleasure to learn you have enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on giving our guest the most enjoyable guest experience and with our rooms being renovated will make it even more memorable. Looking forward...

Durban
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed a wonderful 11 day stay at the Windsor Hotel. The staff were wonderful, always willing to assist. Location great with easy access to all the shops and cliff path. The view from our room was stunning

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C6111RUsarab
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day C6111RUsarab, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so please to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to give your guest the most memorable stay. The hotel has recently started on renovations and upgrades to the rooms. Looking forward o...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed in room 36 for three nights and was somewhat disappointed for paying so much for a very old room,unless it was for the sea view.I found the room very old and tired.The old clothing cupboard battles to accommodate a couple of items of clothing on hangars;the carpet is old and has an unsightly patch which cannot be missed;the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 423tonyk
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day 423tonyk, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We thank you for the valuable feedback you have given regarding your stay with us. Room 036 is located in the original 120 year old hotel. It has taken the hotel some time, but we have recently started...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

What a great place to stay in hermanus! Situated right on the cliffs of hermanus for 24/7 whale watching from the lounge and bedroom windows, you can access both the cliff path from the front and the town from the back within a few minutes. The breakfast is outstanding: great omlettes, freshly cut fruit, properly ripened cheese and fresh muffins...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scubafan09
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Scubafan09, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We so very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and we strive to give our guest the most enjoyable guest experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer Windsor Hotel

Malmesbury, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Would have liked a proper coffee. Waitre did not know a latte or cappuccino. Tv in the room was not working! Otherwise the service was very good. The location is great. The rooms are very basic. No stopper on curtain rail. Had to hang the curtains as it was all on the floor after i tried to open it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dirkv478
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Dirkv478, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We thank you for the valuable feedback you have given us regarding our stay. The points you have made has been addressed and action has been taken to fix the TV and the curtains. The Hotel offers the...

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

An unpretentious, comfortable hotel, where the waves almost visit the front door. The room in the annex had no view, however the bed was comfortable, the room practical and the shower water hot. Despite the chaos in the lobby sorting rooms for a tour group, our check-in was efficient and friendly. The location allowed easy access to the restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jandreart
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Jandreart, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon so that you can have another wonderful stay with us. The Hotel will be undergoing upgrades and renovations this year to make the guest experience more enjoyable. Kind...

Cape Town
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our annual stay, its central, clean, safe, good value for money with friendly, helpful staff. Thank you to Ms. Nwabisa Bojana for her courteous, fast and friendly assistance always.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F7466KScherylc
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day F7466KScherylc, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. As always is it such a pleasure to know our return guests enjoy their time with us and visit year on year. This year we are doing a lot of renovations to our rooms and hope to welcome...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.5 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
485 reviews
0.6 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
634 reviews
0.5 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $77 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A sea view room is the best option as the rooms in the rear overlook the parking lot and the back of adjacent buildings”
 of 5 bubbles pjgriffiths10, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you can't get an ocean view room, don't even think about staying here!”
 of 5 bubbles elvistoo, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview with a balcony.”
  • Sunset from the Hotel
  • View from Hotel
 of 5 bubbles bronwynn193, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are best”
  • Sea view from our room
 of 5 bubbles SvB-CvB, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any sea facing upper floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles clivealisonk, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5