We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Very quiet stately property with animal park, impressive interiors dating back a century in main house, guest rooms modern and up to date. Verry friendly hosts and attendants, access drive somewhat lonely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 883walterg
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2016

I only stayed for 1 night and didn't do much exploring but loved the historical feeling and grounds. The place does need a revamp though as there was damp in the bathroom and paint peeling off the walls. The rooms need to be warmer if the guest does not want to use the fireplace. Samantha was super helpful from the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lorrinj2016
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016

6 of us arrived, but no one was around, however we found our keys on the reception desk and then discovered our wonderfully comfortable and large rooms. Debbie soon appeared and made us some lunch... a scrumptious spread. The grounds were just asking to be explored - fountain, statues, wildlife - lots to see. Dinner was served in a separate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edwair
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We had a great time there. Debbie was welcoming and accommodating. We felt that we had a manor house to ourselves, eating in the lord's dining room. Breakfast was good as was the evening meal. However the overall feeling of the place was that it had seen better days.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ray T
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Portland Manor is a desolated, depressief and musty place. The website looks beautiful, so we looked forward to visite. The hole ambiance is sad and smelling very old. The room was spacious but dark and horrible smelling. The swimmingpool was a dirty mess, the restaurant was closed and the guests that came home in the middle of te night make... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louisa808
60debbie1864, Owner at Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Louisa, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am extremely surprised by your review, actually worse than that, i am shocked and disappointed by your reasons for early departure. As the owner of Portland Manor, i am surprised by your views on our property, not because of what you think of our property, but because... More 

Travellers are raving about these Knysna hotels

Elgin, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2016

very convenient hotel if you are interested in waterskiing. Lovely property and helpful owners. Unusual set up in that dinning and hotel and bar separate. Delightful bar with old history. Good offering of food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
Centurion
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Advertised as a 4star lodge on a fruit & game farm. Overprised. Not clean. Runned down and in need of maintenance and a good clean. Staff friendly but not very professional. We have paid far too much.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank carlient2015
60debbie1864, Owner at Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Carlien, Thank you for taking the time to review our Establishment. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your standards. It is however very unfortunate that you did not mention any of the above during your stay with us. We at Portland Manor take pride in what we do, and... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Booked accommodation for a family of 5 in 2 rooms all adults and booked online (from Australia) Once we turned off the main road and entered into Portland manor driveway we were all on the edge of our seats. A long driveway passing a gorgeous lake and what looks to be the setting of Downtown Abbey. The owner was lovely,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda K
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Portland manor is situated in a valley deep in the Rheenendal Road in the Knysna region. The hotel is very beautiful if you're into that old school classic kind of vibe. The hospitality was excellent and the setting very beautiful. There is wildlife and although we arrived at dusk we were able to see some wild buck and zebra. We... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank eugenevdm
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2015

If you want old-world charm and outstanding hospitality in a magnificent setting - then look no further than Portland Manor on the outskirts of Knysna. The 164 year old manor house - the same one referred to in Dalene Mathee's books - is a treat just to visit , let alone to stay in. The solid old building with gorgeous... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ericksons4

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
14.2 km away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#17 of 29 in Knysna
308 reviews
8.9 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
15.2 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Homtini Guest Farm
Homtini Guest Farm
#4 of 5 in Rheenendal
75 reviews
3.0 km away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 5 in Rheenendal
119 reviews
8.2 km away
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate

Address: Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $113 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room is different from the next, hard to answer.... I'm sure Debbie would give you the best available.”
 of 5 bubbles Edwair, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Donn't go to this place”
 of 5 bubbles Louisa808, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I would not stay here regardless of the room offered.”
 of 5 bubbles MissTravelBug001, 10 Jul 2011 | Read review
“Manor house has wooden floors - could be noisy.”
  • Our room in Lawnwood Lodge
 of 5 bubbles AnnBBEL, 8 May 2011 | Read review
4 of 4