We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluesky Backpacker & Lodge

Save
Share
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (12)
Pool & Beach (4)
Overview
10 Hill Street, Knysna 6571 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Concierge
2.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Description
Bluesky Lodge is similar to a B&B, and caters for older more mature travellers...offering double twin or queen en-suite (or share) shower/bathrooms. On the hill just above town, it has wonderful lagoon and ...More sunset views from its wide entertainment verandas. Large blue swimming pool on entertainment area. Close to all town amenities. Free wifi, free continental breakfast. Hammocks on upstairs verandas for a quiet day at home. Barbecue evenings...otherwise self serve or cook-up in the fully equipped kitchen. All day coffee & tea. Owner has lived in this Knysna property for many years so knows the good spots to visit....ask to be pointed in the right direction, for things to do. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Concierge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Location
South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 hotels in Knysna
Falcons View Manor
474 reviews
.13 km away
The Russel Hotel
281 reviews
.25 km away
Royal Hotel Knysna
39 reviews
.55 km away
Wayside Inn
94 reviews
.62 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 186 restaurants in Knysna
African Bean
125 reviews
.44 km away
The Olive Tree
1,324 reviews
.41 km away
Bloo Bistro World cafe
103 reviews
.42 km away
Royal Siam Thai
99 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 135 attractions in Knysna
Shuttle Travel and Events
35 reviews
.89 km away
Holy Trinity Church
32 reviews
.59 km away
Drupkelders Hiking Trail
45 reviews
.28 km away
Mitchell's Brewery
111 reviews
.98 km away
Photos
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (12)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (3)
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
10
5
1
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
10
5
1
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly dogsgreat place to staylollybackpackershostbalconypropertylodgeaccommodation
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 24 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

My experience in Bluesky was bittersweet so to say. The room was clean, the wifi worked and the pool looked lovely. The hospitality on the other hand was the worst I have ever had. The owner complaned to me about the other guest being dirty...More

Thank Rozemarijn B
Reviewed May 25, 2017

The lady who runs the Hostel is very friendly and keen to help all guests. The beds are extremely comfy even in the 12 dorm room - the breakfast is good for the amount of money you pay for the accommodation. I'd definitely recommend this...More

Thank Danilo T
Management response:Responded May 27, 2017

Hi Danilobt, Thanks so much for the good review...really kind of you to make the effort to do so...and we hope you return soon. And thank you for all the compliments. Much appreciated. Kind regards from Bluesky Backpacker & Lodge, Knysna management

Reviewed May 9, 2017

The visit starts off with us being chastised like little children, unfortunately we had arrived 10 minutes early and assumed it would not be an issue to check in, since it was exceptionally hot we did not want to sit in the car. We rang...More

Thank jayjaysteyl
Management response:Responded May 12, 2017

Some guests do not know how to behave in public places. They abuse and crash everyone's boundaries...staff, other guests and place... (whether they are sound boundaries with screeching voices...or physical boundaries). Please choose somewhere else if you are one of those. Thank you.

Reviewed April 29, 2017

4 days i spent in this beautiful backpacker and i enjoyed it a lot. Lolly, the owner, is a warm and entertaining woman, that took me and my friends for an 30min ride to the beach and gave us good advises. I was so happy...More

Thank Soni Z
Management response:Responded May 1, 2017

Hi Soni, Thanks for the great review.....we loved having you here. Glad I could help you with a lift to the beach, as I was going there for a much needed break, myself. Happy travels. Kind regards, Lolly

Reviewed April 15, 2017

a cute and safe place with a very helpful, welcoming and lovely host! Started the day with breakfast on the balcony enjoying a nice view, spend two great days with recommendations from the host and ended the day on that cozy balcony wrapped in blankets.More

Thank linneaericss0n
Management response:Responded April 16, 2017

Thank you Linnea, we appreciate your comments and review....as we like to help guests to see this lovely area and all it has to offer. So glad we could warm you up with a blanket while you were enjoying the view from the house on...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bluesky Backpacker & Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing