We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bridgewater Manor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bridgewater Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bridgewater Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017

What a wonderful stay we had at Bridgewater. First and foremost the hosts, Kevin and Cornell, made us feel as if we were old friends. We spent New years eve with them at the manor and had many laughs and created great memories. The rooms were all beautifully presented, spacious and immaculately clean. From the balcony you had spectacular views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve p
Management response:

Thank you stevep for your wonderful and expansive review. New year's eve was well spent with you and, as you say, many laughs were had by all. We are working on extending our breakfasts and hopefully you will return soon to sample them. Have a successful and joyous 2017. Regards Kevin Cornell and the Bridgewater Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of 6 nights at Bridgewater Manor. We were welcomed with friendly smiles, and throughout our stay, all our needs were dealt with professionally and promptly. The view is unmatched, and the Honeymoon suite was both comfortable and luxurious. The breakfasts were fantastic (especially the cheeses), and Kevin was always on hand to assist. We will...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoganT41
Management response:

thank you Rogan not only for the marvellous review but for taking the time and trouble to publish it. I can assure you all at Bridgewater appreciate it. We hope your wife has fully recovered from her back strain and we would welcome the opportunity of hosting you again in the not too distant future. All the very best for...

Bolton, England
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Let me begin by mentioning that this property has new owners (4 months), Kevin and Cornell. I would therefore advise that you read only recent reviews. The property is a beautiful building set slightly up the hill overlooking Knysna Bay, the lagoon and the heads. Upon our arrival we were met by the housekeeper (Odell - sorry about the spelling)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bell5781
Management response:

Thank you Bell5781for this fantastic review. We were honoured to be allowed to be a party to the 60th wedding anniversary and that you chose to spend Christmas with us. I think the video you took on Christmas Eve has gone viral so many people have watched it! May we wish you and your family every joy, health and happiness...

Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 31 December 2016

The owner was very nice and had recommendations for sights and restaurants. Breakfast was substantial and delish. The house was warm and welcoming with lovely decor. Our room was comfortable and clean. We were the only room without a water view, which was disappointing, but it still had a little private patio surrounded by lush landscaping. The location seemed pretty...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Briah F
Management response:

Thank you Briah for your review, we appreciate your feed back. The room about which you speak is going to be upgraded by us so that, notwithstanding it not having a lagoon view, will ( hopefully) have its own magic. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Regards Kevin Cornell and the Bridgewater Team

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing stay! Cornell and Kevin were great hosts. They had really helpful recommendations for activities and restaurants in and around Knysna which is perfect for first time visits. Absolutely great service from reception. I would rate more stars if i could!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanga-Pj
Management response:

Thank you Wanga for the fantastic review and all the laughs whilst you were with us at BRIDGEWATER. It was great hosting you and we look forward to doing so again soon. We all hope that you enjoyed tjhe rest of your honeymoon and we were honoured that you chose BRIDGEWATER to celebrate it. Regards Kevin Cornell and the Bridgewater...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We recently had the pleasure of staying at this fabulous guest house. We were warmly welcomed and shown to a spacious, bright, beautifully decorated room with its own balcony overlooking a view of the lagoon. The hosts, Kevin and Cornell Cross, are superb, interacting with their guests and next day personally serving a delicious breakfast, compete with 'secret recipe' tomato...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntH6238BM
Management response:

Thank you JohntH for the marvellous review and the time you have taken to publish it. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as all at BRIDGEWATER do our utmost best to ensure that our guests not only experience the best that BRIDGEWATER can offer but the exquisite area that is Knysna. Hopefully we will eb able...

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The only bad thing is that we only had one night there. A really cute little place, great hosts, and nice area. They actually waved us goodbye when we left, lovely! Oh, and as a dog owner myself, I enjoy cuddling with their dogs!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bjarte L
Management response:

Thank you for your review and taking the time and trouble to publish it. I can assure you all at Bridgewater appreciate the feedback. It was unfortunate that you you were only with us for a night however a perfect excuse to return as we would love to host you again. I can assure you the dogs enjoyed beibng cuddled...

Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 December 2016

From the moment Cornell met us in the parking lot until the moment we left, we knew our stay in the Bridgewater Manor would be a most enjoyable one. Cornell and Kevin were the perfect host and hostess, doing all that they could to make our visit pleasant. Whether it was the small touches, such as the platter with an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pcsb2016
Management response:

Thank you so much for your positive review and all at Bridgewater are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as we enjoyed hosting you. Knysna itself is as important to us as is Bridgewater and we do our best to promote the beauty of Knysna and its surrounds and attractions as much as we can to our guests....

Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Most friendly owner and husband Perfect lacation in walking distance to waterfront Verry pleasant breakfast Nice view ouver the bay Some noise due the main road N 2 Good location for excursions in surroundings

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 562j_rgg
Management response:

Thank you for your positive review. We are working reducing the noise as much as possible, but at least with the doors closeed at night it is minimal but are pleased you enjoyed everything else at Bridgewater. Hopefully we will host you again soon. regards Kevin Cornell and the Bridgewater Team

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

very warm welcome and advice offered on what to do and where to eat. All done in a friendly way rather than as a series of instructions. Fabulous view from the bedroom in fact the whole property. I felt nothing was too much trouble

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisbE2446ED
Management response:

Thank you ChrisB, we enjoyed having you with us and similarly disappointed that your stay with us was so fleeting. We, not only are passionate about Bridgewater, but are passionate about beautiful Knysna and are keen to encourage our guests to experience the area as much as possible. Hopefully you will return as we would love to host you for...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
8.6 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
6.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The St. James of Knysna
0.3 km away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
2.2 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Bridgewater Manor

Address: 33 Circular Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $134 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewater Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bridgewater Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bridgewater Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a room with a Sea / lake view”
 of 5 bubbles DesiGary, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Honeymoon Suite was fabulous - great size, beautifully decorated and fantastic views across the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles ria123452017, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite, fabulous views and terrace”
 of 5 bubbles nickirichards2017, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles stevepY5811XA, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles pcsb2016, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5