We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Knysna Country House

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Knysna Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Ravensburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is really a excellent site, nothing to complain about staff and host. Breakfast is excellent. I would recommend to care a bit to the rooms which could be quite nice. But: rusty dustbin in bathroom, holes in the wall of livingroom, not 100% cleaned bathroom at the beginning (improved after the 1st. night) Such peanuts decreasing the overall impression...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stelvio2004
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We stayed in the familyroom, next to the pool. small sitting area and 2 good sized bedrooms. very friendly staff. we gladly would stay here again. beautifull views in the morning and a lovely garden. the owners and the dogs are very friendly as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Titia S
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 16 June 2016

it is not far from the heads and a short drive from the town and waterfront area. We arrive late and immediately ushered to our room for rest. the room are big and nice, with a balcony. the bathroom even have double shower. Morning was great, with outdoor breakfast and great view. Tara, the friendly black labrador make another good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank limwiehan
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 6 May 2016

We stayed in a standard room. The place was not very impressive, not to tell disappointing - the bedclothes was not smelling very fresh, an air extractor in the bathroom was like never cleaned, mould around the shower door and sink, walls cracked in the bedroom, a hinge of a closet door was broken, - with other words - this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mada1234
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Dear Mada, Pity you did not like your stay with us at the Knysna Country House. We are trying our best to ensure that all of our guests have a relaxing stay with us, but we seem to have failed you. It is a pity you did not come to us, since most of your problems we could have solved...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Room was nice. Staff friendly. Only problem was as my group were in Knysna for work the 8am breakfast was inconvenient. However, a non cooked breakfast was offered from 7.30am when staff arrived. Not too from Knysna itself and the Heads.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor L
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Hi Trevor, Thank you for your positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your working holiday with us in Knysna. Hopefully next time it will be leisure for you. Kindest regards, Ypie and Erik

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Knysna Country House. The bungalow is lovely decorated with a private terrace where you can enjoy the view over the laguna. The pool is great! But the best is definitely the breakfast with a huge range of great food (fresh fruits, eggs specially prepared for you, pancakes etc.)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
Shanghai, China
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed only 1 night. Unfortunately. Its about 4km off city center. Close to the heads - which are a nice jogging Destination (5km one way). Super nice welcome, huge room, not brandnew but really nice maintained, huge breakfast on the beautiful terrace and a beautiful garden view.... Top bed, good shower... Clean and definitely a place to stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannoveraner96
Milton Keynes
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We arrived after a long drive from Franschhoek and were told we were being upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. It was an ok room which was quite dark especially when compared to the others shown on the website we booked through. However it had a very powerful shower and comfy bed which is the main thing. We had a balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liza_Blackman
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2016

As far as a B&B is concerned it has everything you may need. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Located in a quiet neighbourhood. Only negative is that its not in walking distance of anything. Whatever you want to do, you will need transport. We had a great stay. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hans S
Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

On chance we checked in after finding this accommodation on trip advisor. Very friendly , nice rooms , lovely balcony and an owner with a great sense of humour ! Very reasonably priced with honesty bar ( amazing this is SA!). Well worth staying over

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan C

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
14.1 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.8 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#8 of 29 in Knysna
695 reviews
6.7 km away
The St. James of Knysna
7.0 km away
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $80 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Knysna Country House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
East Sussex, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with balcony facing directly to the view will be great, but it may offred at higher price”
 of 5 bubbles limwiehan, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“standard rooms are noisy - you hear every single move of the other room next door.”
 of 5 bubbles Mada1234, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main part.”
 of 5 bubbles Liza_Blackman, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Best views will be rooms 5 and up!”
 of 5 bubbles Anneke_botha, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Go for the luxury rooms, the little extra is so worth the view.”
 of 5 bubbles IndigoSoulStar, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay