We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Paradise Heads

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Paradise Heads
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a self catering unit based on the establishment's website but were a bit disappointed in how small the unit actually was. Although the place was OK for one night, we would certainly not enjoy an extended holiday there due to the cramped conditions. In addition the walls of adjoining units are thin and allow a lot of sound... More 

Helpful?
Thank 879Traveller
Barbara F, Owner at Paradise Heads, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Paradise Heads. I hope you enjoyed the magnificent view of the Lagoon and the Knysna Heads from your deck and managed to see one of the beautiful sunsets that Knysna is famous for. I'm sorry you found the unit smaller than you would have liked. All our units are different sizes as you can see... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here last night. What a beautiful place with the most amazing views of Knysna. The cottage was very clean and well looked after. It is also close to all the amenities.Everyone is very friendly. We wished we could stayed for longer.

Helpful?
Thank Nikita D
Barbara F, Owner at Paradise Heads, responded to this review

Hi Nikita, its always nice to know our guests enjoyed their stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

great location,lovely views from our private deck,well priced for what we received. would prefer to have dstv, because sabc reception was not all ways good. wooden units, thin walls ,best is the end units

Helpful?
Thank Freek M
Barbara F, Owner at Paradise Heads, responded to this review

We do have DSTV to the chalets. When you asked me to find channel 3 I said if you needed help with the channels just ask and I would assist you. We are there to assist our guests so that they have a nice relaxing stay with no stress. More 

Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Enjoyed our stay at Paradise Heads self catering. Well priced for what we received. All our needs met. Very comfortable bed and clean linen and towels. Lovely view from our small deck. Our hosts were very pleasant and helpful

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna B
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2016

The place Is perfect, especially if you want a relaxing and private vacation. Our room was neat and cozy, and the view from our balcony was just magnificent. Eddie and Barbara are great, very helpful. We stayed in The Fynbos. Oh and the free WIFI was an added bonus.

Helpful?
Thank lee M
BarbaraE42, Owner at Paradise Heads, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to Paradise Heads again. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Paradise Heads self catering offers everything you need. Enjoy a cup of tea or sundowner on the balcony overlooking the Knysna Quays. Depending on which room you are in, it is spacious, clean and fairly quiet away from the main road. It is close to all amenities. Parking inside is safe behind a gate. The owners are very helpful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank charlenem293
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Paradise Heads ,The accomodation was ideal for our family of 3 ,the Waterfront is within walking distance and close to the city centre. The view from our bedroom was magnificent ,over looking the lagoon ,the accomodation is adequately equipped with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable ,The hosts were very friendly and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank theresabent_terryb
BarbaraE42, Owner at Paradise Heads, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit. More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Paradise Heads self catering is located directly opposite the Knysna Heads and offers superb views from the main patio area. There's free wi-fi and the wooden cabins are well equipped. The hosts are very friendly and offered advice on what to do in the area and even provided a BBQ so we could enjoy the lovely balmy evening. The only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
BarbaraE42, Owner at Paradise Heads, responded to this review

I''m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again. Regards Barbara More 

Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Great clean self-catering place, excellent rates and service. We often send our yachting students there and always get good feedback. Keep it up Barbara and Eddie, we will definitely be sending more of our students your way.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
BarbaraE42, Owner at Paradise Heads, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to host your students. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

I had the opportunity to visit the lodge as it is 3 star rating by the Tourism board but to my disappointment the lodge wasn't all that and not even 3 stars worth. My family and I checked in and couldn't even moved around in the room as every thing was crammed into 1 small room they say 4 sleep.I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tashriqb
BarbaraE42, Owner at Paradise Heads, responded to this review

The rooms were viewed prior to your arrival by another family, and on your arrival at our establishment I got the impression that you were happy as per what you were saying. Then I got a phone call saying you had to go back home immediately. On check-out you demanded your money back. You had signed our Guest registration form... More 

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 km away
Idle Monkey
Idle Monkey
#61 of 127 in Knysna
63 reviews
0.1 km away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
0.4 km away
Four on Faure
Four on Faure
#22 of 101 in Knysna
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Knysna Inn
Knysna Inn
#38 of 101 in Knysna
28 reviews
1.0 km away
Salt River lodge
Salt River lodge
#51 of 101 in Knysna
18 reviews
0.5 km away
Paradise Found
Paradise Found
#25 of 127 in Knysna
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Paradise Heads Self-Catering Guest House is a 3 Star guest house, situated on the hill in Paradise in Knysna. We have the most magnificent views of the famous Knysna Heads and the Knysna Lagoon from all the accommodation and decks. Relax in the Jacuzzi and enjoy the view while watching one of our wonderful sunsets. We have 1 large family unit and 4 wooden Chalets. They all have their own decks with Braai (Barbeque) facilities supplied on request. The Family room has a full kitchen and the Chalets have Kitchenettes. They are all fully equiped. All the accommodation is en-suite and you have your own entrance. We are 20 minutes away from Bufallo Beach, a Blue Flagged beach which is ideal for families with children. We are also walking distance from the famous Knysna Town and the Waterfront. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Paradise Heads

Address: 6 Upper Lloyd Street | Paradise, Knysna, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $44 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Heads 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Heads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Paradise Heads staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Paradise Heads staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best units are the two end units”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful view but ask for the rooms with the wooden balcony. It is more private from guests walking past.”
  • The view from any balcony at Paradise Heads
 of 5 bubbles charlenem293, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Do not take Room 2 at all, feels like sleeping in the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles maggiekb, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
“All of them”
 of 5 bubbles Travelling_circus_15, 15 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Room number 6 is great for bigger groups.”
 of 5 bubbles 667chantelh, 10 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay