We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

aha The Rex Hotel

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna is a haven of beaches, forests, lakes and sea, and aha The Rex Hotel is one of this coastal town’s most sophisticated accommodation offerings. A warm welcome and timeless elegance ensure guests enjoy a special experience during their stay at aha The Rex Hotel, as we promise superior service and exceptional comfort time and again. Located on the world-famous Garden Route, aha The Rex Hotel is a celebration of urban style, making it one of the most exhilarating getaway destinations in its class. Expect an eclectic mix of modern and classic comforts that capture the essence of 4-star luxury. The Rose Cafe restaurant’s menu matches the contemporary setting with cuisine that is beautifully presented and prepared using only the freshest ingredients. aha The Rex Hotel offers travellers a gateway to Knysna’s outstanding restaurants, blossoming forests, nature reserves, arts and crafts, and the shores of the serene lagoon.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Trendy
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
206
151
48
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
206
151
48
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose cafe luxury studio building site modern hotel knysna waterfront walking distance glass door building work bedroom apartment other hotels water front walk in shower stayed here for nights buffet breakfast very comfortable stay small kitchen location is excellent
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Our second and third night of our garden route tour were here at the Rex. There wasn’t a lot to fault at the Rex, the staff were friendly, the room was clean and Knysna has a lovely waterfront area with shops and restaurants. But this...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Richard M
Response from Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex HotelResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been trying to ring reception for two days..rings then disconnects . Urgently need assistance with booking but unable to get through. Rang another aha hotel and they confirmed the same when trying to get through to Rex knysna Unacceptable service!! Not even worth the one...More

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank maqsmaqs
Response from Masuda M, Manager at aha The Rex HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest, My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Due to a technical problem our telephone lines were down and therefore we were unable to receive or make any outgoing calls, this was completely out of our control. Kindly advise if there is anything we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Rex is a great hotel offering B&B when we were there but it’s proximity to the waterfront with all the shops and restaurants makes it a real winner in Knysna. Our room for a family of 4 was a 2 bed apartment with 2...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank EdFamily121
Response from Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards,

Reviewed November 6, 2018

Our stay at The Rex Hotel was arranged for us as part of a package that included only 4* or 5* accommodation. We did not think that The Rex Hotel room we were allocated met this star rating. I've looked at the other rooms on...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Susan H
Response from Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex HotelResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. My suggestion would be to rather book our luxury rooms as they are more spacious. My apologies for the inconvenience caused by the building works. We...More

Reviewed November 3, 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights to use as a base location to satellite out from. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the room was very spacious, clean and well equipped. Great location near the waterfront with great shops and restaurants nearby. The only disappointments were...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Andy S
Response from Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex HotelResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the noisy guests. I will most certainly have the chef re-look at the breakfast offering. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards,

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hilary t
October 12, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ColeridgeJ | Reviewed this property |
Good afternoon I stayed in the luxuxy suite & it has a wrap around balcony sorry for getting back to you so late.
0
Votes
ranjit k
January 22, 2018|
Answer
Response from Trevor4000 | Reviewed this property |
Try contacting the hotel direct
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Unable to compare."
rpasm
6 days ago
Read review
"Don't stay in a Standard Room"
geoffreys548
Nov. 1, 2018
Read review
"Very clean and excellent beds."
527Sjaak
Oct. 13, 2018
Read review
"Ask for a front room"
ThetravellerKzn
Oct. 4, 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeKnysna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing