We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rex Hotel

Agoda.comUS$81*
View Deal
#14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 310: English reviews
Start your review of The Rex Hotel
 Click to rate
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Rex Hotel is by no means a bad hotel but there are a lot of little things that make it difficult for me to give it more than three "blobs". Firstly it's a bit tricky to find. It's on Grey (or Gray, the spelling differs) Street a couple of blocks away from the harbour. The entrance and parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Don_UK
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear The_Don_UK, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We value all comments received. The hotel is currently undergoing an extension and added to it we will have a full on restaurant which will operate Breakfast, Lunch and dinner. My apologies for the poor wifi, our technician is currently trying to resolve it. The Rex Hotel team...

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

He hotel is currently undergoing expansion and there is building work going on at the back. We were initially given a room that was overlooked by at least 10 builders at our eye level into our room, even though the hotel knew we were on our honeymoon. Apparently this was an upgrade! We declined the room, and were told there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyfod
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andyfod, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value all comments received. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. However I can assure you that our breakfast is always of good quality and your feedback is of great concern. I will most certainly look into it and will rectify immediately. We look forward to welcoming...

United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good location as near waterfront. Basically no internet- could log in for a few seconds and then it would drop out. Complained to staff who advised limited internet to rooms. Our bathroom sink blocked - husband unblocked it. Power points didn't work. Rooms in need of maintenance - peeling paint etc. management needs to spend money on upgrading facilities

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ratu_8
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ratu_8, Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. I can assure you that maintenance will address all issues immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Eltham, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great studio apartment had everything you needed. very spacious comfortable beds. Large ensuite although my view was into another apartment. Wifi was terrible but they said that they are changing servers so hopefully it will be ok now. Staff very friendly. Buffet breakfast was really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureend105
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureend105, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our breakfast offering. My apologies for the poor wifi, but I can assure you that we are attending to the problem. We look forward to welcoming you back again, on your next trip...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, as walking distance to sea front, bedding good and rooms good but had to upgrade the room just to have a shower as normal room had only bath. How is one supposed to wash hair in a bath ? Hotel should advise and ask customers their preference. Had to move rooms 3 times as even though paid for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amita48
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amita48, Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. I will most certainly address this with housekeeping and maintenance as it is unacceptable and this is not the service we provide to our guests. I however must bring to your attention that we have not charged you for the one night....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great Location...helpful staff. The 2 bedroom apartment was awesome, modern finishes....a walk from the waterfront where you have a variety of restaurants to choose from. I will definitely be coming back here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbenaAntwi
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AbenaAntwi, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Masuda

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It wasn't easy to find, apple maps services showed us a different direction. But once we arrived it was very good, super fast check in and very nice rooms. The breakfast was plenty. The hotel is near to the best reastaurants in Knysna walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomas T
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tomas T, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies for the miss guide in directions, I will most certainly look into it. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (213) and had a wonderful stay. Staff were helpful and friendly and rooms were clean. Unfortunately, there was still a huge problem with wifi and we had no access to wifi for the entire 5 days. The hotel receptionist said they were trying to resolve it with the current company. Another issue in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haseena P
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Haseena P, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. My sincere apologies for the poor wifi. We will definitely consider the option of a shower door. The Rex Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just disappointed that had to upgrade my room with shower. All rooms should have showers and place to put your toiletries in the bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpfull . Breakfast good. Should have a small coffee shops open till at least 9pm.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hems2704
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hems2704, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We value all comments received. I will most certainly forward your comments onto the owners for consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We stopped in this hotel for 2 nights, before we arrived we noticed that their website stated there was construction going on opposite the hotel, we were not made aware of this through our travel agent. When we arrived we went to check in to our standard room (similar to premier inn room) I asked where this room would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neferbear76
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neferbear76, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value all comments received. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.4 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
776 reviews
1.1 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.5 km away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $135 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knysna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rex Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Rex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a superior room - standard rooms do not have showers”
The_Don_UK, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not at the back! Building work going on ”
andyfod, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't open the tank water heater space.”
40tomast, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Should have showers in all the rooms”
hems2704, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are no good rooms all have the same glass panel with a light problem at night.”
tanya_bergh, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$91
Cancelon
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates