We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Rex Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Rex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in 206 which had a large corner balcony overlooking the nearby water front development. Sitting room plus bedroom. Only downside was that the shower had a glass panel into the sitting room, so if watching tv and someone is showering you can see them! Very strange. Very central to harbour etc, not much of a town but plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne2908
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for posting a review. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the noise next door. Unfortunately this is out of our control as it is outsourced contractors working there. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Mercer Island, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Things I liked about Rex.... 1) the room was incredibly spacious....a suite actually. It had a Kitchenette, a living room, and a separate bedroom. 2) staff was friendly and helpful 3) furnishings were modern and comfortable 4) the architecture was modern and hip...really kind of cool 5) the location was very good. The neighborhood seemed safe, and we were only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CWR01
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. My sincere apologies for the noise caused by the construction, However this is unfortunately out of our control as the construction work is carried out by contractors. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the apartment, the room was beautiful and all furniture very high end. All of the staff were extremely helpful. The location was amazing, the shops and restaurants are definitely worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccalS757EX
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The Rex Hotel team would like to thank you for staying with us. We value all comments received. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

hampshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After arriving from our safari initial impressions of the hotel were underwhelming not the most attractive However once within the reception area it is a quite a smart modern hotel Room we had was spacious with a lounge and kitchen area (view from balcony not great as building work has started next door) The staff we encountered were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemalf
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was brilliant. We were put up in a luxury studio with a lovely kitchenette. The hotel has an amazing location, just a 5-min walk from the Knysna Waterfront. Cozy rooms with beautiful balconies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riddhi M
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the comfort of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Port Ludlow, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights with our tour group. Our room was basically an apartment with a living room/ kitchen plus bedroom. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The hotel is located centrally with easy access to the waterfront and to downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Rex Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hi guys, went on a business trip an found the hotel very relaxing. Couple 100 meters from the waterfront so food was not a problem. The room i thought was a bit small but being alone on business was just ideal. Very clean and professional. Would definitely book here again but for a longer time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBK803
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We value all comments received. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Rex Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Easy to find, not far from the waterfront ( easy walk ) , modern hotel with good, secure free parking. Room ( 2 bed room apartment with cooking + fridge and freezer) was spacious , good room layout. Service was excellent, breakfast was very good. Only down side was the poor WiFi and limited free usage. Would certainly stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mnb10477
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies for the poor wifi, I can assure you that we are attending to it. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

SAINT PAUL
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I had read great reviews about this hotel, but from the outside it doesn't look like much. We were all happy with our rooms and spent time checking each others out. Ours had a kitchen area, dining room with large round table and 5 white suede dining room chairs, a large living room area with sofa, loveseat and many interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KTSunny
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The Rex Hotel team would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our spacious rooms. We most certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our "home" again. Kind Regards, Masuda

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I think I'm right in assuming that this hotel was originally built as an Apartment Block and later converted, so the rooms appear to be different sizes and shapes. This means it doesn't look like a hotel, and because the signage is so high on it, it was a little difficult to find. It also resulted in us getting a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank declanjhayes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am happy to hear that you received a warm welcome from the staff and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.1 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 29 in Knysna
467 reviews
9.9 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
693 reviews
2.5 km away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 8 Grey Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $101 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rex Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Rex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There was some small construction work that started surprisingly early, but I know that's only temporary.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccalS757EX, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont hesitate to ask for anything they will occomadate you with what ever you need. ”
 of 5 bubbles michaelvK6731AE, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're staying for a longer period than 2 days, check that the room has a bar fridge, it was tricky not having anywhere to store cool drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles MissJade1, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Mikjan2015, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A little more sugar for that extra cup of coffee!!!”
 of 5 bubbles M6168IVpeterl, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay