We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Show Prices
#13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 363: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had 3 nights here in a basic room. It was very clean and all the staff could not do enough for you, however just lacking on the small things like tissues etc in your room. But did get free water each day, we ate here at night as well and although a small choice the quality was brilliant. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernvines
Reviewed 1 week ago

The accommodation was a separate building which was big with a big bathroom. There was a good variety of food available for breakfast which was the only meal we had there. The staff were friendly. The hotel Wifi was not very good. The location is about 30 minutes walk from the Waterfront.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shailam S
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow, we appreciate the feedback and wish you safe travels back home. Best regards from all at Knysna Hollow.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located about 2 km from Knysna Quays and from the center. the location is right in the center of the garden route and it's pretty easy to drive to both eastern cape (Plettenberg Bay and Tsitsikamma) and western cape (Mossel bay). The restaurant is fine and the rooms as well. Reccomended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we're all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this hotel with expectations of a nice stay with the price we had paid per night. It is really low value for money and not how the pictures look. Our room had a TV from 1970 that resembled an ATM. It smelt of damp, the toilet didn't flush and the water wasn't hot. It looked nothing like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enty07
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed and honest feedback - we're all very disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations and will look into the issues raised in regard to your room and the service experienced. It is a very busy time of year for us and I would hope your issues with your toilet and the hot water...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a 3-4 star resort that is close to amenities but has few of it's own. We had three rooms, one of which was a whole villa. The larger villas are carpeted and are quite musty. If windows are left open at night time its mosquito invasion time. The staff were very pleasant and worked hard to accommodate us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muffler
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We're pleased to see that overall you had an enjoyable stay and sincere apologies if there were certain aspects that did not meet your expectations - we will certainly use your input to improve on our service offering where we can! Best...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very impressed with Knysna Hollow Country estate because our stay was everything we wanted from our holiday. The location was so beautiful. Our place was clean, breakfast was good, the staff was very helpful and so friendly. Just the perfect place if you really just want to relax and unwind. A special thanks to the following staff: Martin,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronelle F
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

What a wonderful review, thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it's always so encouraging to hear that our guests appreciate our personal service at Knysna Hollow. We wish you safe travels home and all the best over the Festive Season from all of us at Knysna Hollow Country Estate!

Reviewed 13 December 2016

It's not obvious that any client wants free, unlimited access to get online anytime in his trip? For me it is. I urgely needed to get online in this place for job tasks and much more and they could just offer 250MB PER DAY. No appeal, the only way to get more data is paying further for miserable 30 min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivana Marcia A
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed feedback and for advising us of your dissatisfaction with our free wi-fi offering. Unfortunately, as we are situated in a country area, we are limited in how much access to free wi-fi we can offer all our guests by the speed of our connection - we are currently making use of a 20MB VDSL line,...

Reviewed 11 December 2016

Beautiful hotel with individual thatched lodges - very large with huge comfy bed, lounge and huge bathroom. Safe & fridge. Overlooking very inviting pool surrounded by beautiful trees of all description. Delicious food, very attentive staff and extremely helpful indeed. Most welcoming. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

On behalf of myself and all at Knysna Hollow, sincere thanks for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us and we're all absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - many thanks and safe travels back home! Warm regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

George, South Africa
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Great hotel to explore Knysna and surrounds. Beautiful gardens and fabulous pool. We stayed in the new superior eco rooms. Very spacious and peaceful, except for duck family and frog/ cricket sounds at night. Feels like you are in a forest not a town! But still only a couple of minutes from town. Breakfast was good and we stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MetMadi
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

What a wonderful review of your recent satay with us at Knysna Hollow! We're all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back some in the near future. Kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.

Heysham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Our experience of Knysna Hollow was excellent. We stayed in one of the Garden Rooms where you can step out of the door onto a small covered patio and into the pool situated in the centre of a well kept lawn. The rooms are well equiped and decorated, large bathroom with double walk-in shower. The restaurant serves high class food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Csider65
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderfully positive and very detailed review of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We certainly enjoy hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime soon! Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
7.3 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
7.8 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
3.3 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#8 of 30 in Knysna
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 2km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $124 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Knysna Hollow Country Estate staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Hollow Country Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalet 4 (standalone accommodation for 2 people)”
 of 5 bubbles shailams, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had Lodge 14 which was beautiful. I am sure all lodges are of excellent standard.”
 of 5 bubbles R2581YLmaryd, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Eco rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Tam494, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one of the cottages”
 of 5 bubbles johndO9317LN, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Accomodation is individual thatched roof bungalow type buildings”
 of 5 bubbles dav3com, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay