We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hide Away Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hide Away Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 338: English reviews
haifa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we were staying for 3 nights in the superior room. colleen is a wonderful hostess - she and her husband were helping us even before we arrived with restaurant booking. the room was great, everything you need and more, the minibar was full of stuff with decent prices. breakfast was good and fresh, you choose what you want to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bdelad
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Elad We know that guests often get bombarded by various booking sites to do reviews and get frustrated with all these requests, so we really appreciate your taking the time to do this review on your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and Christiaan and discussing the various restaurants/ eating establishments you visited during your...

Halmstad
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed two nights and the house is so beautiful and welcoming and the owners are amazing. Colleen is better than any touristoffice I've ever visited. She helped us with finding nice restaurants and booking canyon adventure. Generous and varied breakfast and beautiful room with high comfort, bed, bathroom etc. I would love to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ulrika K
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Ulrika How nice to hear from you again and thank you so much for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us. As I was saying to Cecil, we learn so much from our guests about activities in and around our own area. We had a Dutch couple stay with us just after you left...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We had a room upstairs with great view of the lagoon with the Stops (beware there is a narrow staircase up) with a balcony. Good breakfast cooked to order outside was a very good start on any day. The manageress was very nice and helpful , arranging things , advise and fixing stuff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mikael R
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Mikael and Karin You have obviously now returned safely to Sweden where it is a little cooler than Knysna, where today our temperature is in excess of 25C! Thank you for taking the time to do the short review on your stay with us at Hide Away - it is most appreciated. We in fact learnt something about a...

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Once again returning to our favourite place to be in Knysna, at Hide Away was like coming home! Beautiful spacious room with spectacular lagoon view out to the Heads. Colleen and Cecil are more than owners and hosts, their warmth and hospitality make you feel relaxed and welcomed. They were never out of excursion tips that made our trip that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen552016
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Urs & Helen Thank you once again for staying with us. Three times - we must be doing something right! We know that you are still here in South Africa and busy travelling around and enjoying our beautiful country so thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay. Hopefully you will get to visit...

Woking
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed at Hide Away in 2014 and when we planned our return trip to South Africa this was one of the first "revisit" places we booked. Prior to our visit we had some communication and Colleen and Cecil made us feel they were pleased we were returning. On arrival we were met with warm smiles; teas and a run...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison C
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Alison & Ian Thank you so much for taking the time to do the review on your second stay with us at Hide Away Guest House. We are always pleased when we have returning guests, especially International guests, as we know you just have so much choice when it comes to deciding on where to go and to stay,...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for 3 nights during our recent visit to Knysna. We were met by our hosts upon our arrival and were given a lot of information about the guest house and surrounding area. We were then showen to our room which was great! We had a direct view of the Knysna Heads and the lagoon,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Scott Thank you for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us at Hide Away Guest House. We have found that once guests have decided on the town they are going to stay in whilst travelling along the garden route, they then turn to Tripadvisor for assistance in choosing the place to stay and reviews...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Cecil and Colleen made us very welcome when we stayed for a couple of nights in October, the views from our room across the bay were fantastic. Coleen was very helpful on our arrival where she was able to make bookings for restaurants, and offered a number of alternatives for us to choose from. The guest house is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alistair M
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there Alistair Thank you so much for taking the time to do the thorough review on your stay with us at the beginning of October. We do appreciate the great comments! As we said, you have loads of reasons to come back to Knysna as there is just so much more for you to see and do and of...

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We choose this guest house to stay as we want to "hide away" from the city. Good choice as far as the view over the lagoon is concerned. Unfortunately the noise of the highway close by was somewhat disappointing. Service given at this guest house was very structured and organized. In some way made up for the noise if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kobus S
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Kobus & Lisbe We hope that you had a good flight back to Johannesburg! Thank you once again for staying with us at Hide Away and for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the noise from the road, which fortunately does quieten down considerably during...

Uppingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were staying here for 2 nights but stayed for 3 as we really enjoyed our stay here. It is a great base for the many attractions there and Colleen was very helpful with advice and arranging transport and bookings for us. Cecil cooked a great breakfast and all the staff were great. The room was lovely and comfortable with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heathergreasley
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for the great review! It is so encouraging to receive positive feedback on the efforts we make to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and its even better when they decide they will return when next they are in our part of the world. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in...

Reviewed 10 September 2016

We loved our stay here. Colleen was so helpful answering all our questions and my friends and I really loved staying at Hide Away. The rooms were spacious and quiet. The breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kara W
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Kara You have probably returned home by now and getting back into a normal routine. I hope you managed to see as much as possible in Dubai on your layover and that it wasn't too hot for you. This time of the year in the Middle East can be quite unbearable especially if you are not used to it....

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
3:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
8.7 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.4 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
3.5 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#12 of 127 in Knysna
314 reviews
0.3 km away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hide-Away Guest House, a 4 Star TGCSA graded B&B, located on the Main Road into Knysna with excellent lagoon views and within walking distance of town. 7 well appointed en-suite rooms ranging from Executive with lagoon view to Standard with no lagoon view cater for most budgets. Free wireless internet, air conditioning in all rooms and gym facility. Seasonal rates apply.Make Hide-Away Guest House your home-away-from-home on the Garden Route as you explore the area. Easy driving distances to Tsitsikamma National Park, Plettenberg Bay, Wilderness, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hide Away Guest House

Address: 2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $84 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hide Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hide Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Guest House Hotel Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hide Away Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs if you want a view”
 of 5 bubbles MikaelR810, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with views overlooking the Lagoon you will not be disapponted.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonc70, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 1 which was a good size and great views of the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles Ali24566, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Main floor Executive room was spacious, easily accessible and with a lagoon view.”
 of 5 bubbles Want2play, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“First floor over looking the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles 71dianeh, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay