We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Knysna Terrace Guesthouse

TripAdvisorUS$64*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$66*
US$64*
Great Deal
US$66*
US$66*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Knysna Terrace Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of Knysna Terrace Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Perfect view,clean rooms, friendly staff and how can I forget food which served with love by the owner beautiful Dr Barnard.The place and area is safe.👌🙌🙌😀I will definitely return 💕💕💕Later we went to Waterfront to do some shopping, beautiful people and it was like we were at FOOD LAND"👌😁😁👌

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmantwad
knysnaterrace, Owner at Knysna Terrace Guesthouse, responded to this review

We thank you for your review The Knysna Terrace Team

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautifully decorated guesthouse with great collection of art, feels like one of the attractions of Knysna. Very kind host and staff, fresh and nice breakfast, clean and decorated rooms, big comfortable bed, good quality toiletries, easy access to property, very close to mall and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Pfronten, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the guesthouse. Rooms, bathroom and the whole location were extremely clean. The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, fresh and homemade, it was very delicious. Compliments for the stylish and elegant interior. This guesthouse is a great location to have a stay in Knysna.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alois B
knysnaterrace, Owner at Knysna Terrace Guesthouse, responded to this review

We thank you for your comment

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolute fabulous accomodation! The warm hearty welcome, friendly helpfull staff, neat facilties, beautiful views and amazing breakfast makes this stunning guesthouse a must on your visit to Knysna. A real relaxing experience for your soul.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elzeth G
knysnaterrace, Owner at Knysna Terrace Guesthouse, responded to this review

We thank you for your view Knysna Terrace Team

West Molesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We were visiting family in Cape Town and decided we would drive down to Knysna for a 3 night stay. We had booked into this Hotel online and didn't really know what to expect. Well when we got here were overwhelmed. This Hotel is superb! The lady that checked us in and showed us around was friendly and efficient. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pieBournemouth
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 2 April 2017

we stayed only for one night, so we didn't spend much time at the guesthouse. everything was clean, the pool is tiny but excellent to cool down. the breakfast is huge and very, very good. we had a very nice room on the ground floor. because there was fog this day I can't say anything about the view that you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U2349QPstefanh
knysnaterrace, Owner at Knysna Terrace Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you! I will" order" sunshine next time!! Warm Regards, Maureen

Somerset West
Reviewed 31 March 2017

I had paid in full for my booking, when the owner came up to me and said "you owe me another R850 rand" while I was having breakfast the next morning. She blamed the booking company for the shortfall. Unacceptable. She could have told me this when we arrived, not the next morning while I was having breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank troodonsnuff
knysnaterrace, Reservations & Marketing Manager at Knysna Terrace Guesthouse, responded to this review

To Whom it may concern, Thank you for valued feedback with regards to your booking with Knysna Terrace Guesthouse. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused with extra monies charged for your booking. We did occur a problem with the booking company that you have booked through as their mapping with our rooms were incorrect. We did...

Knokke
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Very kind host but guest house situated at very noisy crossroad with stoplights . Room overdecorated Very good breakfast . Good bed . Nice view if room not in groundfloor .nice pool , big bathroom , very clean

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 272marleend
Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 10 March 2017

It was so easy to locate. Dr Barnard is wonderful host. Our room was in good with everything you need- very generous! Great breakfast - missed nothing. Walking distance to city/Waterfront You have to accept noise from N2 passing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank camillas159
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

My new wife and I recently stayed a night at this place when visiting Knysna again and it was absolutely fantastic. The staff were fantastic and assisted us on arrival - on showing us our room my new wife and I were blown away with the lovely welcome (pink sparkly stuff in ice bucket) and other things for our honeymoon....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milleroz146

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.0 km away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#18 of 30 in Knysna
228 reviews
1.2 km away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#7 of 127 in Knysna
227 reviews
0.7 km away
Bridgewater
Bridgewater
#28 of 127 in Knysna
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#14 of 127 in Knysna
235 reviews
0.1 km away
Greenfire Knysna Lodge
Greenfire Knysna Lodge
#39 of 101 in Knysna
26 reviews
3.9 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#13 of 127 in Knysna
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Knysna Terrace Boutique Guesthouse is a family owned and run guesthouse. At our core we hold to heart the stories from ancient Greece, which would caution mortals that any guest should be treated as if potentially a disguised divinity. It is these principles of hospitality toward any stranger who enters our establishment, and the belief of extending generosity and courtesy to our guests, with a warm-hearted and relaxed atmosphere, that makes us passionate about hospitality, but more especially about making your stay with us as memorable as possible. At Knysna Terrace Boutique Guesthouse we aim to stay true to nature and embrace this beautiful town with its forests, mountains and oceans...thus our décor is Mediterranean-themed, which also pays homage to the phenomenal bird-life in our pristine forests, hence the holding company name Pouli (Pooh-lee)-which is a beautiful Greek work for Bird! We would also like to set your mind at ease that all amenities are biodegradable and environmentally friendly, and our famous breakfasts are prepared using fresh, locally sourced ingredients...good for the environment, good for you! So ... to get noisy, long reaches, clashing forks, bumps, spills and friendship are all part of our process. They are the happy (and perhaps noisy) atmosphere us Greeks are well-known for, and we love to have our guests join in on our fun! We do hope that you enjoy this unique hospitable experience that we have to offer...our aim is after all, to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as it can be, to allow you to unwind and return home with a warm smile when remembering us...and of course, to have you back every time you visit the beautiful town of Knysna! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Terrace Guesthouse

Address: 138 Old Cape Road | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $84 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Terrace Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Knysna Terrace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Terrace Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room facing the bay”
milleroz146, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“None. Room was perfect. ”
exbokkie, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Never saw the other rooms but it was quiet in our room on the ground floor”
, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent”
288nickye, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Try the top rooms....although even the bottom ones offer exceptional value...”
NickyVR1, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$64* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$66
Orbitz.comUS$66
Booking.comUS$64
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates