We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Knysna Manor House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Knysna Manor House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 211: English reviews
Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This centrally located venue was a pleasure to use. We were welcomed by friendly staff/owners and showed around the place. Fortunately, we are not old or sickly otherwise we might have had a problem with this venue as it is on a very steep slope and thus has many steps. Wonderful place! Will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lincolngavin
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Firstly, glad to know that you will be back. Always appreciate positive feedback like yours. As with all things in life, there are pro's and cons. We have a wonderful location, thanks to the house being built by the Mayor of Knysna in the 1880's. After being extended and turned into a guesthouse in the 1980's, a full century later,...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights. And we don't recommend not even 1. Paper-thin wall and our room was next to the TV... We could hear all conversations and people passing. Very old building and depot of old furniture. Swimming pool: dirty and no place to lay down, Localisation: to go from the hotel to city centre you cannot walk by...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaskovskyy
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

I am very sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I appreciate your comments. Firstly I apologize that the pool was dirty, not sure the reason why, but will check with my managers. The pool is advertised as being a great place to cool off, and not an actual area to lie in the sun. As you...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant but could do with a little bit of finesse. Breakfast was a bit slap dash, carpet in the rooms had a musty carpet smell.Couches and cushions in the bar area could do with a clean/dry clean. Not a bad experience overall.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank quitondesireet
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion. Renovations and maintenance are ongoing at the guesthouse, but I shall forward your comments to my managers for urgent attention. Your comments as to how we could add more finesse would be appreciated. Travel safe Gail

Victoria, Argentina
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at Manor House, the owners are very nice. The overall atmosphere is very friendly. Breakfast is very good. The WiFi does not reach the rooms, it only works in a common area. It would be more comfortable if it reached the bedrooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmacag_961078
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

It is always great when people say how much they have enjoyed their stay with us. As stated before, as as advertised on all our listings across the internet, wi-fi is available in public areas and some rooms might be lucky enough to get full coverage. We understand, and are trying very hard to come up with a solution that...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a nice house in Victorian style with a great terrasse. Staff used to be nice at the beginning. But after the incident, that they have stolen 300 USD in cash (from 3 different persons), they even didn't want to talk to us anymore. Beds are okay. The shower in the room of my sister and me didn't work, sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janabauer
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Hi there, My manager informed me of your incident as soon as you reported it to her. I must say that we are very alarmed about this, as we have never had any such incident. I know that my managers did a full investigation. The person responsible for cleaning your room has been with the guesthouse since it started in...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was large and comfortable. The Knysna Manor House is in walking distance of shops and restaurants. A little noise from the main road could be heard but it quietened down by the time we went to bed. The hosts were super friendly and went out of their way to help us with some documentation we needed to email...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillieD_11
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

So glad that our managers could help you out with documentation that needed emailing. I know we do not have a business service, but also know that Brenda and Marlene will help wherever they can. So happy that the room was large and comfortable. Again apologies about the road noise, but as stated before on TripAdvisor, until the route from...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed there for one night on December. We weren't very impressed with the staff attitude and also value for money in comparison to other places in knysna. It was also hot and there was no fan!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca B
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

it is always disappointing to receive a review like yours, especially when I have just received a 5 star review. If you could give me more detail, I would gladly look into what was wrong. All rooms have fans in them, and all our guests say that they are getting value for money. You can private message me through our...

Manchester, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel really is a hidden gem. Welcoming management, staff are friendly, helpful and polite, and the food is plentiful whether hot or cold breakfast is selected. My personal thanks to the management for their help with a problem whilst at Monkey world. Book here you guys...you will NOT regret it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nyetsi
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

I was so sad to hear of your incident at Monkey Land, and am glad that everything turned out alright. So glad that Brenda could help you. I really appreciate your kind words and review of our guesthouse, we might not be the most modern, but my staff most certainly will make guests feel at home. Continue to recover well....

Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bed. was fantastisch in the old House. The furniture is old but ok. In the rooms to the Street is it very load. No Filter coffee at the breakfast and Problems with the WLan at the first day but he staff is very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmeink_510412
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

So glad that you found the bed comfortable. Apologies about the filter coffee, will check with staff why this happened. Unfortunately, due to the thickness of the walls, and Knysna not having Fibre Wi Fi yet, it is only available in public areas. Glad that you found the staff friendly. Travel Safe and return soon, Kind regards Gail Dalton

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights and the hosts accommodated my elderly mother in a friendly and special manner for which I am grateful. The noise from the main road thankfully stopped at about 2 am otherwise I would not have gotten any sleep. The linen on the bed the first night I stayed was not clean and the second...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annalened2016
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Hi, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us, everyone's comments help both us and the guest make up their mind. Glad to know that Brenda and Marlene looked after your mother in a special way. Unfortunately due to the holiday season, the noise affects everyone in Knysna, we do have the police on call if the problem...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
5:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#22 of 30 in Knysna
84 reviews
9.9 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#12 of 127 in Knysna
314 reviews
0.9 km away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#18 of 127 in Knysna
285 reviews
4.2 km away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 127 in Knysna
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront. This Knysna accommodation consists of 13 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, a hairdryer (availale at reception), heaters, fans, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities. The majority of these rooms have a mini fridge. We have now opened up a self catering flat, which can accommodate two adults and two children. Guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access in public areas, and in some rooms. We are working with the service provider to hopefully have the entire guesthouse wi-fi enabled. Breakfast is served from 7 - 9 either in the breakfast room, or on the deck overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. The deck offers guests stunning views of the Knysna Lagoon and Knysna Heads, and is a quiet place to end the day after finishing one of the many day trips around Knysna. These include the hauntingly beautiful Tsitsikamma National Park, Wilderness, Oudtshoorn, George and Plettenberg Bay. We are a 3 Star, AA Highly Recommended accommodation provider. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $66 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Manor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all rooms have views, request this if you would like one.”
 of 5 bubbles TLW100, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are of good quality.”
 of 5 bubbles Petropawlowsk, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Loved the upstairs rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 782melindam, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There are varied size rooms on several levels, and if you cannot climb stairs, the main floor would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles franklaff, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms would be best as its wooden floors, but all the rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles nina_trilogy, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay