We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

African Violet

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
African Violet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for African Violet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2015

My husband, kids and I stayed in the garden suite of the African Violet for nine days at the beginning of January. We found the suite to be very comfortable with nice linen and bath towels. The suite is tastefully furnished and is well equipped. We paid for a daily cleaning service which was to our satisfaction. African Violet has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mfjdesousa
Competa, Spain
Reviewed 21 January 2015

After almost 4 weeks traveling we booked the studio for our last stop for 5 nights and this was by far the worst one in beautiful SA.We only stayed 2 nights and booked elsewhere. The whole place gives you an claustrophobic feeling, the room is narrow and sad, no aircon but a little noisy fan and no windows to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CulininariaBas
JenniStewart, Owner at African Violet, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do value feedback. African Violet endeavours for all of the guests to have a positive experience, but realise we can’t please everybody all the time. The Design Studio is the most affordable apartment at African Violet, and the affordable rate reflects that – R325 per person per night. Your money was refunded for the...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2015

My partner and I went to Cape Town for the first time and Jenni from African Violet made our stay a great experience! Her kindness and excellent service elevated our time in Cape Town. Best accomodation for first time Cape Town visitors!! We will definitely be going back to African Violet!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gali2015
Bath
Reviewed 19 December 2014

We stayed at African Violet for three nights in December. The room was spacious, well appointed and tastefully decorated. The Guesthouse is well located although you'll definitely need a car, and amenities such as a shopping mall are near by. The view from our balcony is great! A special mention has to go to Jenni, the land lady who was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
New York, NY
Reviewed 9 December 2014

Amazing view! We were supposed to stay for 3 nights, but a family emergency curtailed our stay. The host Jennifer is amazing. Very helpful and informative. We had the unit with the pool. I recommend getting that one mainly for the view and the privacy. A few things that would have made our stay more comfortable would have been a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ka-MiTravellers
Tamarin, Black River, Mauritius
Reviewed 6 December 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the loft suite and it was the nicest and cosiest place we've been at. The view from the room is amazing and the hosts are very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely recommend this place to everybody!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
Maseru, Maseru, Lesotho
Reviewed 25 November 2014

What an awesome place! Very beautiful, quite and safe place. The owners are so friendly and accommodating. I would recommend African Violet to anyone looking for a an amazing place. Thank you so much Jenni and Rob for letting us stay in your beautiful place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mantseo M
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2014

African Violet was superbly located for our adventure holiday. We were close to wonderfully interesting places to eat and exciting things to do and see. The rooms are artfully decorated and comfortable to live in with safe parking on a beautiful property. But the best thing about African Violet is: Jenni! She provides attention to detail, nothing is too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerrith F
Dunboyne, Ireland
Reviewed 19 November 2014

We stayed here in November 2014. We really enjoyed it! We stayed in the loft room (i think that is what it was called) It was perfect! The views were spectacular! We felt very welcomed even though we arrived a little bit before our assigned check in time but it was no problem! :) There is a pool and sunbeds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanorbk
Reviewed 18 November 2014 via mobile

My fiance booked the terrace honeymoon suite with a pool of its own as a surprise for my birthday. The unit was tasteful and beautifully appointed with everything we could have needed. The owners were warm and accommodating. It was a wonderful stay and we would recommend African Violet to anyone looking for a super special getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara L

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
24.3 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,166 reviews
5.3 km away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
197 reviews
21.8 km away
Alta Bay
Alta Bay
#22 of 106 in Cape Town Central
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 11 in Noordhoek
171 reviews
3.5 km away
Goose Green Lodge
Goose Green Lodge
#2 of 11 in Noordhoek
92 reviews
4.2 km away
Sacred Mountain Lodge
Sacred Mountain Lodge
#5 of 11 in Noordhoek
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer accommodation in five beautiful, fully equipped self-catering luxury suites, set high up against the mountain overlooking Noordhoek Valley to the Atlantic Ocean. Tasteful contemporary African decor in each apartment. Sun drenched garden and rock pool. Quiet neighborhood. Centrally situated gives easy access to around Cape Town and the south peninsula. Near to Cape Point, penguins, Table Mountain, beaches, local shops, bank, top restaurants. Accommodate groups of 2 to 12 people. Quality beds and linen. DSTV. Free Wi-Fi. Each apartment has beautiful views and its own private outdoor area. Weber-braai available. Perfect for couples, families or family re-unions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Violet

Address: 12 Mauritius Crescent | Capri,, Noordhoek 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Price Range: $79 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Violet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your African Violet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from African Violet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The design studio does not have its own pool but if you walk down stairs you can use the communal pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles Raybelline, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Terrace suite décor is lovely and the pool is just stunning!!!”
  • View at night - Terrace Suite
  • Bathroom - terrace suite
  • Kitchen area - terrace suite
  • Living area - terrace suite
 of 5 bubbles I9492QVjessicac, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room with the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles andre547, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Any of there rooms is to die for because the view is awesome from all angles”
 of 5 bubbles kashiefaa, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“views, child friendly, warm and clean”
 of 5 bubbles onelife-livenow, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5