We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Boulders Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Boulders Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Boulders Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Was there for my night before the wedding. Very friendly staffmember but the service was horrible. Would not recommend it for anyone. First they told us that we can eat dinner there. When at arrival we were told that everything is frozen. So we got take aways instead. Then when the takeaway arrived we asked for sharp knives as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrizaan J
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. It is always with regret and sadness that I read reviews of unhappy guests. We set out every day with the aim of pleasing and exceeding expectations. It was the same with your stay. We give free upgrades to guests to better or larger rooms when we see it will be a better...

apeldoor
Reviewed 28 March 2016

staff was very friendly. the rooms were clean. we walkedto the centre of town. we haven't had diner at Boulders. But breakfast was good en service was perfect. we would centainly recommended this hotel. Yolanda en Rogier

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogierd569
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Boulders Lodge & Spa. I am pleased to hear you were happy with our service and facilities. If ever there was a reason to do what we do, it would be to hear of such a happy experience at Boulders Lodge. We hope to welcome you back...

Herisau, Ausser-Rhoden, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Beautiful location in a lush garden and pool wellness surrounding. Nice playgrounds for kids. Friendly and competent team is taking care of all the wishes. Breakfast is prepared fresh. No "old" scrambled eggs waiting to be eaten. A wide selection of fruits and cereals. Visited Boulders Lodge the 6th time already and it wont be the last time. Very recommendable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans E
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hans It is always great to have guests back at Boulders Lodge & Spa. To hear that we continue to meet your expectations and to receive your praise and recommendation is heartwarming. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Le Roux

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Friendly host and hostess and the waiters. very nice cocktails. Rooms are spacious and very comfort bed and matrass Will definitly go again. Food devine. Breakfast also very nice. A must stay if you are in Oudsthoorn. All very helpfull.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 646salmas
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Boulders Lodge and Spa. It was very relaxing and peaceful, the service was excellent and facilities were amazing. My son absolutely loved it. Will definitely pay them a visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie-lee N
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Not what I expected for the rating of the place. No shower gel in the shower. Breakfast was a real disappointment. I think the only time the reception smiled was when we paid would not come back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leos587
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We arrived late afternoon and kids went straight in the pool. Ordered drinks which took an age to come. Seemed like they really would rather have not had guests that night. We had to pre choose from a very limited menu which was basic home cooking and overpriced for what it was. Breakfast minimal but adequate, would recommend you look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank . G
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Our stay at Boulder's Loge & Spa was very last minute as my daughter and I decided to make a detour and stop at the Cango Caves. We booked on Bookings.com, the closest spot to the caves for an early arrival. The lodge boasts an onsite restaurant, but the menu is very limited and definitely homestyle cooking. The lodge is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny907
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of Boulders Lodge & Spa. We are sad to hear you did not like our style of guest house. We honor your preferences and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip through the Garden Route. As you mentioned we offer simple but homely dinner menu options in our dining room. We invite...

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We loved our stay. The room was clean and spacious. It was great having the playground for our kids. Safe and secure too. Best Dom Pedros ever. I would suggest a bar fridge especially in the family rooms, we struggled with our daughters bottles of milk. Friendly service from all the staff. Love it and will definitely be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolelR8496VV
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Good to hear from you again. We had a lovely time serving you and your family. I can't help smiling at your reference to the Dom Pedro's, I was whipping those up almost every night through December. I take note of your suggestion about the bar fridges, we will look into this option for our next renovations in...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

We spent one night in this lovely hotel. Has a very nice pool with plenty space for relaxing in the sun. Definitely need a car as not within walking distance of restaurants etc. For this reason we ate in and the food was simple but very nice. Would certainly recommend it for a stop over.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron U
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments posted. We appreciate your support during your holiday. We are happy to hear about your positive experience and appreciation shown for the spacious area around the pool, as well as that you enjoyed your dinner experience. It was our pleasure to serve you and hope to see you again. Kindest regards Le Roux...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
418 reviews
2.4 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
258 reviews
2.6 km away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#9 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#11 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
281 reviews
3.2 km away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
458 reviews
2.3 km away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and enjoy an unforgettable holiday in the Klein Karoo en route to the Cango Caves. The Boulders Lodge is fully air-conditioned, a wi-fi hotspot and a sparkling blue pool and jacuzzi on the deck awaits visitors who are ready to restore peace to body and soul. Boulders Lodge is more than a home away from home, it provides playtime for the kids (Jungle gym), pampering for the weary or romantic (Boulders Spa) and delicious dinners in our dining room when available. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Boulders Lodge & Spa

Address: 20 Bruwer Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $113 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulders Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Boulders Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Boulders Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Boulders Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Late afternoon sun heats up the west facing rooms. Air con had to work hard to cool the room down. Pool facing rooms are much cooler.”
 of 5 bubbles 857johanv, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room with a bath”
 of 5 bubbles WarrenMWalker, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room number 1. It had a big shower and a jet bath. It's a corner suite that is large and sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles maggied909, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The poolside room was brilliant - it also has the spa bath.”
  • Poolside room
 of 5 bubbles AneTheron78, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We saw 4 rooms which all looked very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 976g, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay