We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gumtree Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Gumtree Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 419: English reviews
Portsmouth
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Lovely guesthouse in central location with garden and pool. Comfortable room and good breakfast. The owners were extremely helpful offering advice on activities and excursions and help with booking. Would return if in the area again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela & Richar... L
Reviewed 1 week ago

Phil & Linda are great hosts and go out of their way to welcome their guests from all over the world. We were welcomed by Phil who showed us to our room & then invited us for a welcome drink in their on site pub! After a couple of glasses of wine we felt like we were staying with friends...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The guesthouse is lovely, the rooms are clean, the pool is nice and the breakfast is fantastic. But what makes this place really special are the hosts. They are incredibly friendly and helpful. We have seldom experienced such great hosts! Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marioler
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I had a wonderful stay at Gumtree. We needed a break and it has been a while that we visited Oudtshoorn. We made the right choice by staying at the Gumtree. Phil and Linda took good care of us. When we go in the direction of Oudtshoorn we will stay at the Gumtree again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cobies2017
Orebro, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

Now we have been travelling for 16 days, from Cape Town to Durban, and Gumtree Guest House is, at least untl now, the best B&B/Guesthouse we have stayed at in SA. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and we really felt that our hosts have thought about everything to make a comfortable stay for their guest. Good location according to restaurants in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofia B
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Gumtree. Everything was taken care of, the friendly owners go out of their way to help with whatever you need in the best way possible. Clean, bright and comfy rooms with all you could think of at hand, delicious breakfast, good location and loads of knowledge about the town and surroundings and happy...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jannekeb2017
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room we were in was very dusty and not to standards of a 4 star guest house. Dust was thick when sitting on bed and sinus in morning from dust. There were also no bread because toaster broke and the breakfast was really average and not of good quality.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank danielX1351XC
THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Daniel, Your review has caught us by surprise because you indicated that you were happy with your stay when you left. You even suggested you would stay with us again on future business trips. We take cleanliness very seriously. We have received no other complaints from guests re our cleanliness, hence our shock at your review. Our new toaster...

Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really lovely place to stay. Breakfast was superb, the owners were exceedingly friendly and helpful. The service was good and the swimming pool area fantastic. The area was central for recreation and sightseeing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrystinep2017
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was excellent in this guesthouse: the room, the view, the bed, the position and the lovely owners! Last, but not least, the huge breakfast, widely the best we had in SA! The only negative point was about having spent there only one night...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N8229LRdiegol
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were so happy to find this guesthouse. Room perfect, gardens very pretty and Phil gave us a warm welcome. Situated in the middle of town but without the noise of the town and a plus...the swimming pool! Now let's talk about the bar area. Sitting outside with the welcoming drink and all the information you could wish for, about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol D

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
434 reviews
0.2 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
270 reviews
0.4 km away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#6 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
455 reviews
0.2 km away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
268 reviews
1.4 km away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $85 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gumtree Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the room facing the large patio.”
 of 5 bubbles BeaK486, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“3A & 3B are private and very big”
 of 5 bubbles 970elmariev, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Small selection therefore all rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles fabians522, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Cottage suite is excellent for a family of 4.”
 of 5 bubbles E9477YDianr, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed ok but ours was the one on the terrace by the bar and we couldn't fault it,”
 of 5 bubbles carolhills, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay