We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Adley House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Adley House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The fantastic gardens and large, immaculate rooms would have been good enough, but the welcoming hosts and delicious dinner/breakfast topped off our visit! Quiet and efficient location. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elvistoo
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We only stayed for one night and therefore the rating cannot be really representative. All together the stay was nice, except that we did not have light in the room and bathroom at night and had to find things in the dark. Electricity had dripped, but nobody informed us or put the switch back- This was only when I asked...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uta J
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've visited twice within the last month. Adley has recently been taken over and under new management. The folk running the accommodation now are kind, friendly and sincere. On my last visit we had a traditional ostrich BBQ, the salad buffet was to remember but also the pre dinner drinks followed by a perfect meal. A big thank you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trenga-Steve
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Trenga-Steve Fantastic!! Thanks for the great review. We do try as a team to do our utmost best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay at Adley House. Your group were fantastic and was a real pleasure hosting you. We hope to see you in the near future. Kind regards Adley House Team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

What fantastic service! Broke down in Oudtshoorn with a blown gasket on 16 December 2016, long-weekend had to wait for Monday and after that until the Thursday 22 December 2016 for the car to be fixed, arrived at Adley House on Friday 16 December 2016, amazingly friendly reception, made a car available for transport for myself and the kids (no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francois2017
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Francois2017 WOW!!! what a great review. It was our pleasure in hosting you and making your painful experience a bit more bearable. Kind regards Adley House Team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay at Adley house for 2 nights. We arrived very late like 10:30pm. But we were welcomed by Nicky with no complains but just friendly greetings and smile. Breakfast was good, once again Nicky was very friendly gave us a lot of suggestion where to go around the area, and Helene made phone calls to book...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kzhang_481453
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Kzhang_481453 Thank You!! for the great review - much appreciated. We as a team take pride in quality service delivery at Adley House and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Adley House Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking to relax and enjoy old charm, this is the place. Friendly staff, from the boss to the gardener. Great breakfast sets you up for the day. We used both swimming pools to cool down from the hot Oudtshoorn weather. Beautiful gardens with the smell of flowers perfuming the air. The rooms are clean and have everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Martin S Thanks for the great and helpful review. It was our pleasure to host you and please when you or friends are in the area do visit us again. Kind regards. The Adley House Team

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was looking for something authentic to the area and that is what i got with all the comforts. Breakfast was sumptuous. If I can make a recommendation it would be to rather replace the single beds with double or queen. Lovely stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicov769
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Nicov769 Thanks for the positive review. We do have rooms with double and queens but it depend on availability on time of booking. We do try our utmost best to cover our clients specific request/needs and if that specific room is booked we can't change. Please when you are in the area request a double bed. Maybe this time...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

14 of us stayed at Adley House. We were welcomed by the owners. This is an Excellent place to stay. Quiet and nice maintained colourful gardens. Fully stocked fridge, with very reasonable priced items. The manager was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, freshly made. Don't go anywhere else, head for this place you will not be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deep P
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Deep P Thank you for a great review. It was lovely and a pleasure hosting you. Hope to have some of you back on a return trip. Kind regards The Adley House Team

Reviewed 4 December 2016

What a pleasant surprise. We had the most pleasant stay! Clean rooms, speciouse rooms, well furnished with great bed! Dinner and breakfast was an absolute delight. My only wish was to stay a little longer and enjoy the greattly cared for gardens. Thank you for a memorable stay! Kind Regards P D Eckberg

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie E
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Natalie Thank you for the beautiful review. You are more than welcome to join us in the future for a longer stay. Hope to see you in the near future. Kind regards The Adley House Team

Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 November 2016

The Adley House is located in a beautiful property, with the most amazing and well taken care Gardens. The room was quite big and, decorated in a vintage still witch makes you fell like staying in someones house, in our case we had a small front porch where we could enjoy a nice glass of wine from one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miguelcordeiro279
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Miguel, Thank you for staying at Adley House and for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is valuable to us. It was a pleasure hosting you !. Kind Regards The Adley House Team

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.8 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#4 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
288 reviews
2.5 km away
Boulders Lodge & Spa
Boulders Lodge & Spa
#27 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
131 reviews
12.9 km away
Oue Werf Guesthouse
Oue Werf Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Le Roux's Guest House
Le Roux's Guest House
#15 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
113 reviews
9.0 km away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#10 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
296 reviews
0.1 km away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1905 by Sidney Herbert Adley during the 'Ostrich feather Boom period' 1880 to 1914. This magnificent Sandstone Victorian Homestead is situated on an acre of land in a quiet up market residential area near to the centre of town. Rated 4 stars by the S.A. Tourism grading council, it has 14 Air Conditioned, individually decorated rooms with T.V, tea and coffee facilities, Hairdryers, bar fridge and all the necessary amenities to make your stay most pleasant. Relax at our 2 pools in our well kept English Garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adley House

Address: 209 Jan van Riebeeck Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $112 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adley House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Adley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Adley House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breat room, good bed, fantastic food!”
 of 5 bubbles nataliee921, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fabulous!”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were good”
 of 5 bubbles myrnamcf, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are big and surrounded with flowers”
 of 5 bubbles ColinB120341, 29 May 2014 | Read review
“Together with outbuildings, there are about 14 rooms in total. We stayed in the main house with opening doors to the garden and direct access to the dining room which we found most convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles S33ORL, 26 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay