We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

682 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 518: English reviews
Marburg
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In the main Buffelsdrift is a very nice location at a lake. But it seemed not very authentic. On our bush safari we saw animals like rhino, buffels and giraffe but it felt like the animals were situated there. The stay was much too expensive!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 986birteu
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Buffelsdrift is the perfect stay in this area. We only visited this area for two days and were completely satisfied with our choice. It's a great lodge - the entire staff is very friendly and goes above and beyond to make their guests happy, the tents are extremely luxury and clean and if you book the seaside - you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia Z
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lucie took us on what turned out to be a private safari around Buffelsdrift. They are very "green" here - no getting out of the truck. We saw giraffe, white rhino, antelope and Lucie gave a fascinating account of the work of the reserve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hello from Buffelsdrift! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the unique experience we offer in Oudtshoorn and that the game drive has been one to remember. We hope that you will be back to visit again soon! Best wishes, The Buffelsdrift Team.

Lebbeke, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

good restaurant, nice tent with a lot of privacy, the game drive was a little disappointing, it was promised to be 2 hours and we were back after 1 hour 45 minutes with a drink break of 15-20 minutes included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 864erikd
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We apologize for the slight disappointment with the game drive, however, we do accommodate for a tea/coffee break within that time. We are thrilled to hear that our accommodation and restaurants are a highlight for you as you look back on your stay, and we hope that you...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Mostly magical experience, little disappointed in the initial greeting, seemed too rushed and pushy to sell extra activities.the waterfront t room was fantastic, had to make use of the supplied earplugs for sleep though but a small issue given the overall experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pbaker_890123
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the unique "glamping" experience that we offer at Buffelsdrift. We know our animals can be quite noisy in the evenings, and we're happy to hear that the earplugs came in handy :) Thank you again for...

Goslar, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Tents very luxurious. Friendly service personnel, very good kitchen and the unique situation at the wonderful lake. We felt completely at home at this house and really enjoyed our stay. Thank you very much for the wonderful time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rasa A
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at Buffelsdrift, nothing makes us happier than knowing that our guests have felt right at home throughout their stay, and that our wonderful staff have been a highlight for you as you look back on your stay too. We hope that we will have the pleasure...

Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights and I wish it had been for longer. A beautiful setting - hippos in the lake and so many different animals on the doorstep. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Waking up to this view - WOW!! Certainly I would recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette194
Buffelsdrift, Owner at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the unique experience we offer in our area. We are always happy to hear that our staff has made such a positive impression with our level of service, as excellent and friendly service is something we...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent place to interact with elephants. Shame waitresses in restaurant werent interested in doing their job. Many people waiting around to be served which would have interrupted their chatting. Manager?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayneg123
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Elephant interaction. The problem in the restaurant has already been addressed. We hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience the restaurant as it really is.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Courteous staff with excellent welcome. Well equipped luxury tents and comfortable big bath. Amazing swimming pool with spectacular view of the dam, grazing wildlife on the banks, massive fish and occasional sighting of hippos surfacing the water. Delicious ostrich steak for dinner at the restaurant. Expensive (although worth it). Too bad it is out of the price range for most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaclynd651
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us in such a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your luxury tent and service during your stay. We hope that we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon, hopefully for a little longer next time, to experience more...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my 3rd stay here and it was as good as always. Great setting, good quality of food at affordable prices and very accommodating and knowledgeable staff. An absolute pleasure to visit and stay in the wonderful tented accommodation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us, and that you have chosen to visit us so many times! Nothing makes us happier than hearing that our friendly staff have been a highlight for you each time, and we hope that this visit will not be your last! We look forward to seeing you again...

572 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (518)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (276)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.7 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
417 reviews
8.2 km away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
259 reviews
25.3 km away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
777 reviews
15.3 km away
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
14.9 km away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $234 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buffelsdrift Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Buffelsdrift Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a lakeside hut for the views. Sunsets and hippos and elephants..............”
 of 5 bubbles Lynette194, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Tents on Water/Lake are most sought after and furthest away from Main "set up"”
 of 5 bubbles 634glennm, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all good and you can hear the animals as it should be in a reserve.”
 of 5 bubbles Morris014, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Only downfall is that the air conditioning is load at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 655erikap, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try for a lake front room as you get a deck to sit and watch the hippos from”
 of 5 bubbles 68liviam, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay