We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

778 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 574: English reviews
Coulsdon. Surrey
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We only stayed for one night, as we came for the Meerkat experience. We checked in late afternoon and had a 4.15am wake up next morning to go see the Meerkat's. When we returned, we only had time for a shower and breakfast as we had to check out at 10am, so our time at the guest house was limited!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cymag
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is an interesting place. It is a working farm with a thriving guest business. It is not a B&B. The check-in was friendly and efficient. Our room (actually cabin) was rustic and near the lake. The views were nice and there was wildlife to watch from our veranda. The room was OK, but not spectacular. The room smelt of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 789briann
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second stay at DeZeekoe, but for the shure the last; wrong room (booked eight months in advance a tranquil river view room, received an "upgrade" room with a view to the pool), wrong pictures at booking.com, unfriendly, uninterested staff (except of John at the bar - he is a bright star in a dark service-desert); even the restaurant has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wolfgang N
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Wolfgang It is with great sadness that you took the time while at the lodge to write this review. We tried constantly to please your every need and offered several times to upgrade you to a more expensive room at no extra cost. You originally booked a luxury river room and was given a luxury river and pool view...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was by far our best accomodation during our visit to South Africa. Rooms are large and neat, swimming pool and garden is agreeable, and the reception offers different leisure activities (walking, canooing, etc.). The food (breakfast and dinner) are exquisite and everything is fresh (coming from their own garden). There are various Ostrich farms nearby, so this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruben T
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Ruben, thanks for the great review and rating, and what lovely compliments :-) Hope that you will tell all your friends and visit again in the near future. We strive for great service and offer the most adventures activities in the area. de Zeekoe would love for you to visit again. Safe travels ahead. Regards Kristy

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

the staff is very friendly and nice. the welcoming was warm. they also gave great advice on tours to do, sights and places to go. the place itself is lovely and our room 18 was charming and comfortable. so why only three stars? our wooden bed looked coasy but was fairly noisy when we moved. ok, i am 90 kg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thanks for the honest review and again for visiting our farm. I made note of the " noisy" bed and have already ordered a new one. With regards to the birds, unfortunately we have so many birds on the farm it is impossible to make sure they don't sit on the roofs. Most guests actually enjoy the sounds...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night at this wonderful place. Breakfast and Dinner were very delicious. The staff extremly friendly and helpful. The rooms we had were very nice and clean with a Veranda.Not to Forget the beautiful view. It is deffinitaly a place we can recomend to stay at in oudtshoorn. Also the Meercat Safari was the most wonderful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 968andreo
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for the great rating and again for visiting our farm. Happy that you had a enjoyable stay with us. Safe journeys ahead, sunny regards Kristy

Bavel, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was not excellent due to minor wifi connection. No satelite tv ,there no dutch tv possible, although it was possible in other stays in South Africa. Rooms where good situated with the look out to the river (nature) You could see birds and other small animals along the fence.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 683pieterb
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the hotel itself was lovely - we had a lovely room with a river view, we were not informed that we had to book tours in advance of our stay so upon arrival (of our one night stay) we were told the tours were sold out. The hotel prides itself on being the home of the meerkat tours with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Katie What a great rating thanks for taking the time to write your review. Thanks again for visiting our farm and glad that you had a enjoyable stay with us. Apologies for the disappointment that you missed the meerkat tour. We do encourage all visitors and tour operators that bookings are essential! We do hope you visit again to...

Whittlebury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay here was frustrating. The location is perfect and the welcome superb. We were told all about the joys of meerkat watching, birdwatching and sky gazing and then immediately told that they were all fully booked and not available to us. It would have helped if we had been contacted prior to arrival and given the chance. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliveh61
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Clive Thank you for visiting our farm and to take the time to write your comments. It's a pity that you didn't have the best stay on our farm. We do strive to make all visitors stay excellent and to enjoy all the activities and facilities we offer. Meerkat tours in the season is usually so busy ; so...

Fish Hoek, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The wooden roof beam over the front steps of our wooden cabin was too low. While going down the steps I badly hurt my scalp. My height is 1.89 m. Your written notes for getting to the meerkat meeting place are no use to people in the wooden cabins, especially in the dark. Jaap Hendriks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 347jaaph
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Jaap Thanks for visiting our farm and taking the time to write a review. We will work on the comment for more signs to the meerkat meeting point thanks :-) Safe journeys ahead! Kind regards Kristy

450 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (387)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
9.1 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
417 reviews
7.7 km away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
259 reviews
15.8 km away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 km away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
154 reviews
2.3 km away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#11 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
281 reviews
27.1 km away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 2000 hectare working farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) ; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x eco friendly cottages. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Conference and small functions venue• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species )• Canoeing• Eco Farm Tours - pre book• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $100 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Zeekoe Guest Farm staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Litchfield, New Hampshire
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from De Zeekoe Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As always, you get what you pay for!”
 of 5 bubbles Cymag, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main buidling”
 of 5 bubbles 789briann, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“hnmoon suite great but it's an outdoorsy place so it does not matter No traffic around but wakeup call from local roosters it's a real farm”
 of 5 bubbles 951carolinel, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view if you can but all the rooms are lovely.”
  • Double room
 of 5 bubbles Pam186525, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the stone cottages”
  • slightly sparese lounge
  • Lovely bedroom
 of 5 bubbles Kiteperson, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay