We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Auberge de Courtrai

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paarl
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Start your review of Auberge de Courtrai
 Click to rate
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at Guesthouse overnight while on business in local area. Really expected a lot more for a 4 star grading. Receptionist greeted us but was confused about our reservation, when we confirmed it. We were meet with a smirking remark "O, you the people that want Dinner and Lunch packs" If it was going to be an effort, then don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffthehangman
Somerset West
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Hospitality, friendliness, helpful, etc. What a joy to have stayed there. The owner went out of her way to direct and assist us. Lovely quite room with outside little terrace facing garden and pool area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pienkes
AubergePaarl, Owner at Auberge de Courtrai, responded to this review

Beste Pienkes Baie dankie dat jy die tyd geneem het om vir my `n mooi briefie te stuur Dit was `n groot plesier om julle hier te hê Hoop regtig ek sien julle weer Groete en lekker bly daar in Somerset Wes Zettie

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I Stayed at Auberge a few years ago and when my husband said we needed a break before the Christmas madness, I didn't need to think twice. This B&B never disappoints, the beautiful rooms, amazing views and breakfast is legendary in the region. Any guest will feel at home.Zettie and her staff are lovely. The friendly conversations from people all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AubergePaarl, Owner at Auberge de Courtrai, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very happy to hear that you once again had a nice stay with me I appreciate your wonderful review and really hope to see you again It will only be a pleasure having you back Warm regards Zettie

New York City, USA
Reviewed 17 May 2016

For most of my week in Paarl, I stayed at the Lemoenkloof and my colleagues stayed at the Auberge de Courtrai. Every morning, without fail, they would complain about their terrible experience. When our schedule changed and I also had to stay here, I was expecting the worst. I was fortunate in that my stay was relatively uneventful. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gridskipper
AubergePaarl, Owner at Auberge de Courtrai, responded to this review

Dear Sir I am sorry you haven`t had a good experience with me I always try my best to please my guests But unfortunately the saying is correct "you can`t please them all" I always take any criticism positive Would have appreciate it though if you came foreward and looked me in the face and told be about the things...

Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

As my partner and I were not there during the day, the time that we spent there was enjoyable. Friendly staff, good breakfast and lovely bedrooms. A lovely place to stay for a night or 2. Would recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim d
AubergePaarl, Owner at Auberge de Courtrai, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thankyou so much for your time to send me such a nice review I appreciate it and hope to see you back Best Regards Zettie

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

We were greeted by friendly staff who were very helpful, besides that everything else was average. Very small bed with aged linen, Dirty curtains which included a cockroach on them, having to park outside due to lack of parking space on the first night and our bedroom wasn't made up the next day are the problems we encountered. When I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryanwepp
AubergePaarl, Owner at Auberge de Courtrai, responded to this review
Google Translation

No response

Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 September 2014

We spent 4 nights at this venue as we also had to attend a family wedding on 23 August 2014. Our rooms were clean, cosy and comfortable. Apart from one cold breakfast our stay was fab and the dinner on the first night was excellent. Zettie is an excellent hostess making us feel truly at home. Her staff Martha and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank martie356
AubergePaarl, Owner at Auberge de Courtrai, responded to this review

Thankyou

Hartbeestpoort 0216
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We spent two nights with the family at this venue to celebrate our son's wedding on 23 August 2013. The venue is rated 4 stars, but in some instances the 4 star rating is questionable. The bedding is a bit jaded and the bed not very comfortable. Toiletries are not provided and breakfast was served cold. The stay with all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank assan
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Auberge de Courtrai is such a beautiful Guest House to stay at. I came to Paarl for a work visit and was welcomed by Zettie and her wonderful staff. The room was spacious, an extremely comfortable bed with a great views over the Paarl mountains. I had to leave very early for work and arranged to have breakfast at 6:00,which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HSC1966
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for four nights at the guest house.Enjoyed every moment.Nice rooms,Zetti made it special in every way she could, a real home away from home.Service and staff were great and breakfast was devine.10 OUT OF 10 for Zetti and her crew!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LJansen108

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paarl hotels
1.6 km away
Goedemoed Country Inn
Goedemoed Country Inn
#7 of 14 in Paarl
48 reviews
1.9 km away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
7.4 km away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Alba House Bed and Breakfast
6.4 km away
5 Konings Accommodation
5 Konings Accommodation
#10 of 45 in Paarl
39 reviews
1.1 km away
Oak Tree Lodge
Oak Tree Lodge
#8 of 45 in Paarl
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful and homely Guest House deep in the heart of the winelands. A stones throw away from delightful vineyards and the gastronomic delights of the region. Relax and unwind in this home away from home and enjoy the warm hospitality and home cooked delights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auberge de Courtrai

Address: 3 Du Mont Street | Courtrai, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Price Range: $94 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge de Courtrai 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Auberge de Courtrai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask the owner”
Pienkes, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lion Room, on the second floor”
HSC1966, 18 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Book into the Monkey Room”
Jacques1972, 4 Jun 2011 | Read review
“Ask for a room upstairs - view is stunning!”
  • Bedroom
jcoetzee, 30 May 2011 | Read review
4 of 4