We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

777 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 616: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we were greeted at the end of the long sweeping to checking out we were thoroughly impressed by this estate. The staff were discrete but attentive, pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were amazing with the views from the balcony breath-taking. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19Jules72
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 19Jules72, Many thanks for the kind review and recommendation. It was our pleasure to host you at Asara, and we're delighted to hear that your stay was a wonderful and memorable one. Your comments about our staff and service are especially great to hear, and exactly what we would wish. Thank-you, we hope you''ll be back for another visit...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we were met at our car, greeted and escorted to Reception right up to the time we left, we were treated like royalty. Staff are helpful and discrete. The location and views are breathtaking. Rooms are clean and in keeping with the estate. A really amazing birthday treat. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TracyismyName
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TracyismyName, Thank-you for the kind review, we're delighted to hear that your birthday visit to Asara was amazing and that you were treated like royalty (as we would expect). Many thanks, we hope you'll be back soon for another visit. Kind regards, Asara Hotel Management

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a beautiful place! Spent just one night her for Stollenbosch wine hopping day! Perfect location to visit wineries in Stollenbosch. We hired a driver from the hotel (2500R) and went around different wineries and had so much fun. Room was spectacular. View from the deck is just so stunny. fields and fields of grape vines and beautiful lake. Could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rurina
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rurina, Thank-you for taking the trouble to review your visit to Asara, it's great to hear that everything at the hotel was to your liking, and that you had so much fun touring our Cape Winelands. One night is definitely not enough time for to do either Asara or the Winelands justice, so we hope you will indeed make...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent two nights in Asara with my boyfriend. We had never been to Stellenbosch before. Before we arrived the concierge helped book wine tours and suggested restaurants. The view, room, staff, service, pool, breakfast and gin tasting were nothing short of amazing. I'll definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustineBy30
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JustineBy30, Many thanks for the lovely review, we're delighted to hear that everything you experienced at Asara was amazing, and look forward to welcoming you again. Thank-you and kind regards, Asara Hotel Management

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to relax and just enjoy the view and, of course, the wine. The breakfast selection was vast and the food and service was excellent in the Mis en Place restaurant. The wine also has to be one of the best in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ps-eade
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ps-eade, Many thanks for the review and kind words. Relaxing and soaking up the views is, as you say, a must when at Asara, and we're delighted to receive such generous compliments for the food, service and wine also. Thank-you, and we hope you'll be back for another visit when next in SA. Kind regards, Asara Hotel Management

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 2 nights in this beautiful vineyard attending a summit. Beautiful, scenic and relaxed. Stayed in an executive room which was luxuriously specious and comfortable. The food is good and the gin bar with tens and tens of gins from all over the world. Did not give 5 stars because I could not get the wifi fixed in my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AgnesWairimu
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AgnesWairimu, Many thanks for the review and kind remarks, it was a pleasure to host your group at Asara. We're sorry about the difficulty you had with the WiFi in your room. WiFi in the hotel generally works very well (by the standards of our region), but there was unfortunately a problem during your stay specific to the two...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Apart from the fact that we were served a raw onion and some mashed potatoes as a vegetarian option, the meal was nice, and the staff very friendly. My husband had the quail's eggs as a starter, which was done to perfection and beautifully presented, as was his main course. The decor at both Mise en Place and Asara is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank selmabaldi
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear selmabaldi, Thank-you for the review of your visit to mise en place, we're glad to hear that you loved the décor and surrounds, and that your husband's meal was perfection. We're sorry that the vegetarian dish you ordered was not what you expected (although the dish is, as your photo shows, very different to what you describe and exactly...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is where our bike tour started and ended. We drove here with Uber and they were not very clear as to where we should go for the tour. It was also the last wine tasting at our tour. We only got 3 wines (5 every where else). It was not very informative and extremely rushed. We felt part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victorian5
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear victorian5, Thank-you for the visit to our tasting centre and review. We're sorry to hear that your tasting felt a bit rushed, but think this may have more to do with the organisation running the bike tours than with us. We appreciate the feedback, and will discuss with Bikes 'n Wines what we can do to avoid their clients...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Asara is set in a beautiful location overlooking the vineyards & mountains of Stellenbosch. Our room was on the second floor with a huge corner balcony with the best views in the estate. We had a great wine tasting (included in the price) & then enjoyed an afternoon relaxing by the pool followed by a great quality meal & wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KWBraith
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KWBraith, Many thanks for the lovely review and great heading! We enjoyed every word! You're so right about the views - they are a major feature of Asara and make for a happy, uplifting mood at the hotel. All our rooms (apart from the four Courtyard Rooms) have a balcony or terrace from which to soak up the views,...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We started our 16 day tour at Asara. It is a wonderful vineyard with fantastic views and a fairly good location for Stellenbosch. We stayed in a courtyard room which was pleasant enough but bed incredibly hard. No views so would recommended one over the lakes or near the pool to get best views of mountains and vineyards. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola K, Thank-you for the review and kind remarks, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and the food at Sansibar. It is true, as you say, that the four Courtyard Rooms do not have the famous views, but folks staying in the Courtyard Rooms can still enjoy the views from other parts of the estate, such as...

532 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (487)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (124)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (202)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.2 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,469 reviews
7.9 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
497 reviews
5.0 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#2 of 16 in Stellenbosch
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
6.7 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
308 reviews
4.5 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $232 - $917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Asara Wine Estate & Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Asara Wine Estate & Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the balcony rooms overlooking the lake and vineyard”
 of 5 bubbles 19Jules72, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room with vineyard view”
 of 5 bubbles Rurina, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor for the best views. There are only two floors.”
 of 5 bubbles KWBraith, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not recommend.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't use Bathtub in winter - Hot water will stop mid way & really silly explanations offered by senior management.”
 of 5 bubbles Pranav51, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay