We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Knorhoek

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Knorhoek
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Knorhoek
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Sanur, Bali
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My (now) Husband and I got married at Knorhoek Wine Estate in April 2014. We could not have imagined a weekend more perfect. We are currently living overseas and as such had to plan most of our wedding via email. We booked Knorhoek before either of us had even seen it and we could not have been more delighted with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scubanu
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Scubanu Both Suraine and I were all "choked" up after reading your review. Thank you so much for the beautiful things you said about Knorhoek and all the personal comments. We are so pleased that everything went off as planned and that your memories will always be special. You were all such easy, fun-loving guests, it was a pleasure...

Uk
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we stayed only one night here, which was a shame as enjoyed it a lot. we had the family room upstairs though we were only two but would be perfect for a couple with kids or for friends .... we had dinner there too and breakfast, both lovely. we hired bikes in stellenbosh which were delivered to us at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank starsuk
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Starsuk Thank you for taking the time to write your most complimentary review. I'm glad you enjoyed your large room and our breakfast and dinner (and of course, our wines!). We always learn new things from our guests - I was not aware of a company that delivers bikes to your doorstep; so we are pleased with a service...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Whenever you say Cape Town, I say Stellenbosch !!! This time we were even more keen to come down here thanks to our friend’s wedding who couldn’t picked a better place. We couldn’t be happier with this beautiful location, the Knorhoek . It was easy to find due to the good directions posted on their site and far no more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Epi1975
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Epi We really appreciate your kind and honest review. We love it when families and friends get together for special occasions and enjoy everything that Knorhoek has to offer. I agree the Towerbosch mutton is "to die for" I'm pleased you enjoyed our wines, the bedrooms and the scenery which is a beautiful back drop for beautiful celebrations. I'm...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We traveled to Stellenbosch for a friends wedding, staying in room 6 of Knorhoek for 3 nights; the 7th, 8th and 9th of March. The room definitely exceed our expectations - it was a lovely big size and really comfortable - with all the comforts you could need. The bathroom was lovely and the highlight was the lovely balcony which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClairePrice
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear C Thank you for all the lovely compliments about the room, your stay with us and the general friendliness of the staff. I have had a chat to my weekend assistant and even though she is not a bubbly personality, I feel you, as a guest should be made to feel at ease and welcome. Thank you for staying...

Dorking
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We flew half way round the world for a wedding of a couple who live 45 minutes away from our home in UK! What a brilliant excuse to visit not only South Africa but also this fantastic wine estate close to Stellenbosch. We booked into Rose Cottage which was perfect, a lovely big comfortable bed and all the home comforts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magglington
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear M How can i thank you for your fantastic review? I loved the part about flying halfway around the world. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Rose cottage (we think it is rather "nice") and my staff is beaming that they produced the goods that visitors enjoy. Thank you so much and we wish you a beautiful summer...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2014

As returning visitors we hoped that that our time at Knorhoek would live up to our stay in 2012. And we were not disappointed. Once again we stayed in the family room, which has fantastic views. This time we were able to spend more time around the farm which was great. Although the room has kitchen facilities we chose to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SallyA2013
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Sally The greatest compliment of all is that guests return for a second (and third ) visit and are more than pleased with their stay and of course, the meals and wine. When you travel with children, the best is when they can run around, swim and make a noise!! I have conveyed your compliiments to the staff and...

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I would thoroughly recomment this venue for a wedding as it was a lovely experience from the moment we arrived to the morning we left. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the food and wine was excellent. We were also very lucky with the weather - it had rained that week right up to the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angie186386
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Angie Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased that everything went off so well. It is always a bonus if the weather plays along, but nothing actually could put a damper on a special day for a beautiful couple (it actually rained a lot the next day) I shall convery your...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After a hectic day, this was a wonderful, peaceful sanctuary, enhanced with some very tasty Pinotage from their honesty bar. My room was spacious, and instructions had been left for my late check-in. Dinner was left in my room - a delicious vegetarian meal. The victorian bath, complete with legs, provided great relaxation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eish13
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Eish It is a beautiful morning after all the rain and snow on the mountains and your review added "sunshine". We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Knorhoek and of course, our wonderful wines as well. Thank you for mentioning the features in the room and I'm pleased you enjoyed the Victorian bath - nothing like soaking in...

Enschede, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We really loved it here! The rooms are very authentic with tiled floors and old elements. Felt like going back in time. We were welcomed with a nice glass of wine! Great rooms, nice breakfast, nothing to complain. The only downside is that it is a little out of Stellenbosch so you will need your own wheels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baskotter
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Clients Thank you somuch for taking the time to write this lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoy meeting people from all over the world and try to give them a feeling of being at home; relaxed and comfortable. We are still having the most glorious warm sunny weather - not the true...

Boulder, CO
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed for two nights at Knorhoek as it was close to some family friends that we wanted to visit while we were in South Africa. Booked through their website and all went smoothly. There was also no problem in arriving early so that we could settle in before meeting friends for Sunday lunch at another nearby vineyard. Guesthouse was easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marleydog
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Marley from Boulder (and don't I now know that location!!) Thank you so much for your beautiful and honest review - you have no idea how helpful it is in trying to make improvements and inspiring our staff that they continue doing what is expected of them. Yes, your room is the smallest in the guesthouse - must have...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.3 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
329 reviews
13.3 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,542 reviews
10.5 km away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Kleinbosch Lodge
Kleinbosch Lodge
#15 of 114 in Stellenbosch
277 reviews
5.4 km away
Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse
Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse
#21 of 114 in Stellenbosch
226 reviews
6.3 km away
The Stables Lodge
The Stables Lodge
#58 of 114 in Stellenbosch
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
True Cape hospitality on a Fourth generation wine estate; breathtaking natural beauty of the mountain, rolling vineyards, sprawling gardens and natural streams; friendly locals to welcome you to tastefully decorated accommodation of your choice. Part of the Stellenbosch Wine Route, close to Franschhoek and Paarl ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knorhoek

Address: PO Box 2 | Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $92 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knorhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knorhoek staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Stables rooms do not have aircon but even at 36 degrees Celcius outside, the temperature in the rooms were just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Sheena-DM, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest staying away the cottages for now, not sure how the guesthouse is, but make sure you know of alternate spots in case you're hit with a similar problem”
 of 5 bubbles jsdookoo, 9 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The rooms are noisy so try to get the upper rooms”
 of 5 bubbles LaoJohnny, 15 Nov 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in room 8 which is the honeymoon suite-but all the rooms are pretty! The upstairs rooms and the cottages are the prettiest.”
 of 5 bubbles Scubanu, 1 May 2014 | Read review
“we had the family room upstairs though we were only two but would be perfect for a couple with kids or for friends ....”
 of 5 bubbles starsuk, 1 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay