We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

10 Alexander

TripAdvisorUS$92*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$92*
US$92*
US$92*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
10 Alexander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 10 Alexander
See the most recent reviews
Showing 378: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Beautiful setting with pretty gardens and pool. Quaint rooms, clean and tidy. Delicious homecooked breakfasts. Location very central and easy to find. Gated and safe carparking space also. The owners were very welcoming and did everything they could to accomadate our 11 month old.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shani D
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you Shani. We really enjoyed your company, and your little one is an adorable little gem.

Reviewed 28 March 2017

The 10 Alexander is a 5 minutes walk away from the city center. Its is lovely. The owners are so nice and solicitous. The rooms are specious and very clean. Breakfast is hand made and just delicious. I would definately come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aga H
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to hosting again. Wietske.

Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We had a wonderful time at Alexander B&B, enjoyed the time at the swimmingpool, wonderful breakfast and helpful tips and advises by Evelyn who manged the place perfectly. Thank you! Richard & Katharina (Austria)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard_weiskopf
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Evelyn will be so pleased - she really does her utmost best to make guests feel at home.

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We had a look around Stellenbosch before booking, but since I've been here before, I chose 10 Alexander. Quality, quality, quality. Food, cleanliness, staff, tourist information, conversations with the hosts. I travel a lot. I just know, this is the golden standard!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ria8653
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you so much Ria. It was a real joy having you here. There is still so much to talk about. you will have to come again.

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We enjoyed our 3 nights at 10 Alexander--it was a comfortable home base from which to explore Stellenbosch on foot (recommend walking guide Inge at Information Centre) and short taxi ride home after dark. Wietske couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming (good restaurant guidance) and without extra charge moved us for final night to No. 11 - a suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susannaj
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thanks Susanna. It was a pleasure spoiling you. The room you refer to as the tree top room is in fact number 6, in case some else wants book there.

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a wonderful time in 10 Alexander in Stellenbosch. We felt home and safe and sound in this lovely B&B. It has a beautiful green garden with a pool and many possibilities to sit and relax. And it has the best breakfast you can imagine - including self-baked bread.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christianhR6433KE
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you Christian. Keeping the garden in shape in the worst drought in recorded history is a major challenge. Thank you for noticing it. Safety is always a priority, and Otto, our delightful dachshund, contributes a lot to this.

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Charming and welcoming B&B near the center of town (short 7 minute walk) to wonderful restaurants, shops, and souvenir market. We were welcomed by Wietske upon arrival who showed us to our rooms. She oriented us to the place and to the town, giving us excellent food recommendations for lunch and dinners (Java Cafe and Oppie Dorp). This place has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate the extensive review, and all the wonderful compliments, and hope to spoil you again.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Paul & Wietske - It was indeed a pleasure to share in your wonderful B&B. At last I had the opportunity to confirm what so many others on TripAdvisor said - "The breakfast is out of this world" - And it was. The room was very comfortable and everything I needed for my quick stop in Stellenbosch. This great experience...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanderwatth
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

We really enjoyed your company, and your kind words inspires us to try and make other guests experience the same. Baie dankie.

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We spent 3 nights at 10 Alexander with my wife. The property is very clean, and has rich garden flowers and trees. The environment is like home, the owners are kind and very charming. Very Clean rooms and breakfast area. The breakfast was very nice! I will visit again for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maharage
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Maharage. Thank you so much. The terrible drought and resultant veld fires create huge challenges in terms of the garden and keeping the resultant dust and soot under control. For this reason, your comments are doubly welcome.

Europe
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The b&b is comfortably located, if you like to be in town. Lovely courtyard, ok breakfast. Nevertheless, rooms are dusty, uncomfortable and the furniture poor and old. This b&b seems really overpriced for what it is. They could make a bit more efforts in cleaning and comfort for those rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlefrida
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. I am at a loss to understand how your experience could be so different from more than 400 other reviews where we received five star reviews for cleanliness and service, and 4.5 stars for value, location, rooms and sleep quality (including beds). It is such a pity that you did not bring the matters...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
370 reviews
0.8 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
8.1 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
775 reviews
3.8 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
627 reviews
5.8 km away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#2 of 112 in Stellenbosch
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and run, rustically appointed 10 Alexander is perfectly located to visit local attractions, restaurants and museums on foot. Wine farms, Franschoek, Hermanus and Cape Town are in close vicinity. We provide up to date advice on the best restaurants and wine-tasting options, based on feedback from recent guests. All 8 rooms have own its bathrooms, six of which are en-suite. Tea/coffee facilities are available in a fully equipped kitchenette plus a comprehensive bouquet of TV options. Free parking is on-site and secure. We also provide complimentary Wi-Fi in addition to a swimming pool, barbeque and shady patios, with bird watching as a side attraction. 10 Alexander is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of the whole of the Western Cape in a relaxed and ambient setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 10 Alexander

Address: 10 Alexander Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $116 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 10 Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 10 Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 10 Alexander staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms looked great and were quiet. My room did not have a TV but seeing that CT is for exploring till late at night -I did not find this a drawback.”
wielietjies, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“The grounds are warm and welcoming, spend some quiet time in the garden.”
petropad, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“For familys travelling with baby, ask for the garden view room so you dont have to worry about stairs.”
468shanid, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suite 11 in treetops is spacious but beware morning traffic noise and church bells Room 3 on ground floor is modest but quieter”
susannaj, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing the pool for a quieter stay.”
michellefM3322XW, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$92* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$92
PricelineUS$92
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates