We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Stellenbosch
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Ikhaya's rooms are clean and neat. It is situated in the heart of Stellies and everything is walking distance. Definitely a place to come back to. Service is amazing and staff are very friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elzaandp
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review elzaandp I’ve passed your compliments on to the staff, and all were pleased that you chose to stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again! Many thanks Nico

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

It is an affordable hostel yet very basic. There is no heating in the room and it ils cold in winter. No hot water in the shower. On the plus side it is clean and the staff is nice and quite helpful. I would not go back again. Try another backpackers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julien R
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Julien We sincerely apologise for you inconvenience, we had a new geyser installed that was recalled by the suppliers due to malfunction and unfortunately this happened during your stay but it has since been rectified and everything is in working order. We have extra blankets at reception for those chilly Winter’s nights to keep our guests snug, please feel...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I spent one night in the dorm as part of a wine trip to Stellenbosch. The owner himself met me at the Baz Bus drop off and shuttled me to the backpacker. The man behind the desk (I believe he was Operations Manager) offered helpful advice to me and fellow guests on what to do around town. He was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CameronTracks
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Cameron It was a pleasure hosting you and look forward to doing so again in the future. We are looking implementing changes on a monthly basis and believe me, mattresses are part of the plan so your comment has been noted. Regarding the wifi, we have provided 250 MB per day, perhaps the wifi was...

Knysna
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I just recently spent 3 nights at Ikhaya Backpackers in one of their self catering flats. It is very centrally located, with all the shops within walking distance. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - to the point of assisting my 5 year old son and I in carrying our bags upstairs for us. There is no television -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Heather B Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our central location and have found it to be quite popular with travellers as it allows them easy access to all that Stellenbosch has to offer. We appreciate such a favourable review and spot on, we are ideal for backpackers and young couples looking to explore! Nico

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 10 June 2016

I had a great time at your property. Ashley was always very willing to help, she helped me settle in quite quickly. I super loved the proximity to Stellenbosch University because that is where was training was. The cleanliness also made my stay very comfortable. The pick up service to and fro the airport was also very good. Thanks for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stellahb2016
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

stellahb2016 Thank you for the wonderful review, I have passed your comments onto everyone at iKhaya, with the result that we are all already looking forward to your next visit. Till next time Nico

Mequeleng
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I locked the bedroom while I was out during the day, however found someone/people had been in as there was a discarded, used condom in the waste basket. A window was opened, which I had closed. Generally an uncomfortable experience which I won't repeat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackpO5512CM
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jack I really don’t know what to say! Except to express my sincerest apologies and ask that you supply me with full details of your stay so that I may investigate this further as at no time was this reported to management to assist. You may email me at nico@stellenboschbackpackers.co.za. Again, please accept out apologies, this is definitely not...

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

iKhaya is the worst Backpackers I have encountered to date, and I have had the fortune of visiting many. Immidiately upon entering our room I knew we just won't be able to stay there. The owner was not impressed when I asked for a refund after being there for about 2 seconds and refused while trying to intimidate me. Eventually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StellaJ09
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Stella I am sorry to hear that you cannot recommend iKhaya to other travellers. The information I’ve received is that you arrived to check-in before check-in time, and then went out when advised that check-in is after 14:00. The reason we do not want guests to check in before 14h00 is because we need time to properly clean the...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We were like a sport team and this change all the points of view. For us was not perfect the noise and party from the Pub/reception but if you are x fun or just the staff is very kind, Nico, Ashley, all of them . Perfect place to walk around , buy food, supermarket, parks, restaurant etc Perfect terrace and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rivajuanjo
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi rivajuanjo Many thanks for your positive review in spite of the pub noise, our locals do enjoy our pub . Should you ever visit Stellenbosch again, we’d love to host you again. Yours in Backpacking Nico

Tzaneen, South Africa
Reviewed 23 April 2016

security should be improved on the doors.the general stay was fine though i was not aware of the mixed accommodation for the dormitory. The location is very good as you will be near everything.Very understanding staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracymV4440WG
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi tracymv440WG It is with concern that I note your concerns about our security. We have gates with a high security lock on both stairwells leading to the accommodation level which provides extra security and we trust that our guests would keep these locked as it’s for their own safety and for the safety of all guests staying with iKhaya....

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

It is a very basic place to stay and you get what you pay for. They definitely cannot expect 12 people per dorm (at max capacity) to share one bathroom. It isn't sanitary. ALSO, wifi is NOT free. It is quite pricey according to how many megs you choose to buy. My boyfriend and I shared the private double room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Danielle Our biggest dorm room sleeps 8 and 2 in the double, so 10 at max capacity and we have structured ourselves differently to other backpackers whereby entire hostels make use of shared bathrooms, we have one bathroom per dorm and our friendly cleaning staff service the rooms and bathrooms daily to ensure that everything is clean. We have...

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 km away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#10 of 16 in Stellenbosch
85 reviews
0.3 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
614 reviews
0.5 km away
Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge Stellenbosch
Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge St...
#104 of 114 in Stellenbosch
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Black Horse B&B
Black Horse B&B
#98 of 114 in Stellenbosch
60 reviews
0.5 km away
Millstream B&B
Millstream B&B
#33 of 48 in Stellenbosch
30 reviews
0.2 km away
de Oude Meul Guest House
de Oude Meul Guest House
#94 of 114 in Stellenbosch
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Prices are per person per night. As your hosts we know how important it is to choose the backpackers that is just right for YOU! Because backpackers are a special breed, iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers is not just a place to sleep under clean sheets and duvets, but is also a place where chatting into the night whilst quaffing a beer or three sees the start of new friendships. That is why we are called iKhaya - this means "my home" in the local language and it is this spirit that iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers functions – when you are with us, you are with friends. You are at your African Home! In our warm and friendly pub the roots of our African heritage are reflected in the decor. Like all homes our accommodation is clean, neat and caters to your needs from equipped kitchens to airy bathrooms at the best possible value for money. The above because we agree cash should be spent on "Jolling" (Partying and having a good time) and not on plastic wannabe accommodation! Welcome to our continent, our town, and our (yours and our) home - iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers. Why not escape the hustle and bustle of big city life and base yourself here with us at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers to explore the rest of Western Cape by day and chill with us at night? ... more   less 

Additional Information about iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers

Address: 56 Bird Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $27 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Remember it is a backpackers not a hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles linziw124, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay far away from this place, even by backpacking standards, it is shocking.”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choice of accomm: ostel rooms style (sharing bathroom,etc) /self catering units - private bathroom and kitchenette.”
 of 5 bubbles 908HeatherB, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“cheap and clean accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles Ashish0305, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms facing the front have access to the balcony with excellent views of Stellenbosch.”
 of 5 bubbles Edchris380, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay