We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Devon Valley Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Devon Valley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Devon Valley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 429: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent position in the wine vineyards of Stellenbosch. Comfortable and clean rooms with good service. Stunning views with very good breakfast. Dinner at the restaurant was also very nice with relaxing atmosphere. Will definitely return in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RvA65
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RvA65 Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our special place. Kind regards Andrew General Manager

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Luxury villa room was awesome loved the fire place and bath tub. Comfy beds and nice and quiet. Dinner was excellent and good wine selection for dinner. Wine tasting selection however was poor. Nice breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBrodie
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MichaelBrodie Thank you for your review and we delighted you enjoyed your stay. Of course we are a wine farm, and our tasting is normally unique and of fantastic quality. We have experienced some shortages as we finished certain vintages and changed over to new ones. We are about to launch our 2014 SlyvanVale Rose which is amazing. I...

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you Andrew, Stephanie, Nadia and co for an fantastic evening. The room was all we want, the view and luxury setting. The evening and breakfast buffets were excellent. Five star treatment! We will definitely be back soon. Regards Jonathan and Samantha Vorster

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathanv763
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan and Samantha Many thanks for you amazing review! We are delighted you have "memorable experiences" of our hotel and that my team make you feel so welcome! Kind regards Andrew General Manager

Crieff
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I have a separate and joint history of involvement with DVH for well over 45 years!! It was quaint, very special and original and family run in the late 60's and into the 80's. Now it is expertly run with very qualified staff who are the ultimate hosts in what must be one of South Africa's finest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John H Thank you for your review. We are delighted we still have special place in your family's minds. Don't forget our whiskey evening on 25th July. You need to book .. andrew@hsvhospitality.com Kind regards Andrew Dietrich General Manager

Billericay
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Riveria Travel tour. This was our favourite hotel out of all the hotels. Others in our group had other hotels as their favourite. Our room was huge, comfortable and opened up on to a patio that overlooked vineyards. We had excellent a la carte meals and a vast and varied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillericayEngland
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BillericayEngland Many thanks for your amazing review. We are delighted we got the vote as best on Tour. Kind regards Andrew Dietrich General Manager

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My patrner and I are getting married in September and were looking at venues. We cam,e across Devon Valley via a website and contacted them for assistance with our wedding plans. Andrew asked us to visit the site and see for ourselves. When we arrived, he made us feel welcome and showed us all the venues on offer. he explained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Timothy H Thank you for your very kind words. We look forward to hosting your and Jhana's special day. I am delighted you felt our HANDMADE HOSPITALITY. Kind regards Andrew Dietrich

Garden Route, South Africa
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here many years ago, and enjoyed it, but this time round was a huge disappointment. I had to stand in the shower to switch on the hot water tap, and stood shivering in the corner waiting for the hot water to come through. After 5 minutes, I gave up, and phoned reception to tell them there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0zchick
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mozchic Many thanks for your review. I am sad that we did not deliver a great experience on your second trip to our hotel. Regarding the hot water. We have experienced a harsh winter chill. The distance form the various geysers to the room can be a nuisance. We have again serviced the geysers, pumps and solar panels to...

Cape Town
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had been to this hotel previosuly and found it to be fair but having gone back again recently, things have improved somewhat. Service was great, the staff were happy and helpful. Our room was nice (I do prefer carpets instead of wooden flooring but that is personal preferrence) and the bathroom excellent. We had a family room and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbabe40
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travelbabe40 Thank you for allowing us the chance to change your opinion on Devon Valley. I am delighted to hear the training we did improved things. We will continue to strive to improve and create excellence in hospitality. Kind regards Andrew Dietrich General Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have waited a long time before posting this, as I wanted to be entirely fair and felt I needed to wait to give me time to ponder our experience. It was not good. The room we had, supposedly the best in the hotel, had no view and was dark and uninviting. The food was only passable although a buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Willows6
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Willows6 Thank you for your review. I am sad to read that even after all we managed to do to improve your stay you were still disappointed with the Devon Valley Hotel. Out hotel does have a few “Coach party’s” staying with us but at all times and as can be seen from other reviews, we do manage to...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is simply amazing with breathtaking views of the estate wine farms. We spent one night at the place and will surely recommend for anyone visiting Stellenbisch to stay here. Our first expereince at check-in was with a lady who said she was an intern (on training). However, she seemed like a pro in what she was doing. She...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrashantKhullar
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PrashantKhullar Many thanks for your amazing review. We certainly do look forward to welcoming your friends to South Africa. Kind regards Andrew Dietrich General Manager

305 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.4 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,600 reviews
4.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
811 reviews
6.0 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
342 reviews
5.9 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
686 reviews
5.9 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $134 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Devon Valley Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Devon Valley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Manor has superb rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles mikeandros, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“New quarter has more modern rooms”
 of 5 bubbles theFEWS, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are no elevators if you are on the second floor so if you have problems with stairs request one on the main floor.”
 of 5 bubbles LikeHolidayBliss, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side have an amazing view”
 of 5 bubbles AgustinaT260, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the vineyard view rooms have beautiful panoramic views across the valley and are nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles petiteoiseau, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5