We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calle Piedras 303 Corner with Moreno, Buenos Aires C1070AAG Argentina
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21-03-12
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (8)


#398 of 625 Speciality lodging in Buenos Aires
HTL City Baires stands out for its modern and minimalist decoration, based on the combination of neutral colors, dark wood panels and red furniture. Everything translates into an original and modern space within a district historically known for being the cradle of tango and the bohemian life of Buenos Aires Capital Federal.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Good to know
Languages Spoken


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
144Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
44Attractionswithin 0.5 km
93Reviews13Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 28
  • 14
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Samir Luis wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
COVID-19, no need to go further, but I did want to told all of you, the way they treated us, and the quick they have solved all the cancellation without any 'but' or 'you should' trying to refer us to another person or business. Erika I think, has solved everything for us, without even ask us to call the credit card
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Response from GestionCalidad, Gerente at HTL City Baires
Responded Jun. 4, 2020
Of course this unfortunate event that nobody could prevent, is a true shame for us too, we also would love to meet you, but soon we would be able to for sure! As it has always been, the safety and security of our guests and team members remains our highest priority and fundamental concern. We hope to have you as our guest as soon as possible, anything you need, do not hesitate to contact as many times as you need, Diego D.
Read more
Kate M wrote a review Apr. 2020
59 contributions55 helpful votes
I was booked in here for 2 nights when I was due to travel on to Ecuador in March. Due to Covid-19, I was required to fly home without going on to Ecuador. I emailed the hotel the day before I was due to arrive to try and confirm that I would be allowed to check in to the hotel. I received no response. When I arrived at the hotel I was granted entry to the lobby only to be told I would not be allowed to check in. The woman at the reception counter spoke no English, and felt that translating "you will get a refund" into Google translate was going to fix everything. I tried to get assistance to find another hotel and was told to simply leave the property. I have emailed since my return as I had not received a refund, and was told to go through where I booked it, which is fair enough. But don't tell people that they will get a refund if you can't guarantee it. This hotel is potentially great, but I wouldn't know. Still have not received a refund, and wouldn't book them again based on the terrible customer service. I ended up at another hotel where I knew my friends had been allowed to check in (Hotel Palladio). It was more expensive, but the rooms were spacious, food from the restaurant fantastic, and most importantly, the staff were great considering the situation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from GestionCalidad, Gerente at HTL City Baires
Responded May 4, 2020
As it has always been, the safety and security of our guests and team members remains our highest priority and fundamental concern. On behalf of this Global Emergency Situation, declared by the many health organization upon all levels, we are following the protocols established by the World Health Organization, in order to avoid the global spread of the 'novel' Coronavirus, such as the implementation of quick acting hydrogen peroxide-based disinfectants instead of standard alcohol-based disinfectants used previously duplicate the cleaning frequency, on a modified schedule. On the other hand, it is in our obligation to comply with the protocol of the city ministry of health, which establishes the following measures to be adopted: first, by not accepting new income from clients from the international or non-local setting, and secondly, speed up as much as possible the return of clients already accommodated, facilitating the return to their destinations. Thus, we are adjusting our terms and policies, in accordance with the government's decision to maintain the contingency in order to delay the arrival and spread of the virus throughout the national territory. As it has been determined by both ministries together, following these guidelines protects both the client and the most vulnerable, avoiding any possible spread. From our management, we apologize for any confusion that has been generated regarding this situation, and we have the intention, as everyone, of minimizing the period of risk, in order to normalize our situation and everyone's as soon as possible. We hope to have you as our guest as soon as possible, anything you need, do not hesitate to contact as many times as you need, Diego D.
Read more
SigriddeC wrote a review Jan. 2020
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia213 contributions86 helpful votes
The room is old and a bit dated but very large with its own sitting area and couch. In fact the room is almost too big as its poor design means you can hardly swing a cat in the bathroom (and makes me wonder why they didn't make the bathroom at least a little bigger). As a result this room gets my vote for worst designed bathroom. The shower rose overhead might seem like a good idea, but the floor gets flooded and is very slippery. Also the floor doesn't drain anywhere and so water needs to be soaked up with the towels, which fortunately are super plush (and so now we know why!). The shower has a swinging door that just clears the toilet seat when closed (maybe that was designed by a man?) There's a bide that's useless, and only one person can get into the bathroom at a time to use the shower or toilet ... take your pick. The towel rail was loose and the the shower base very slippery. Now marble might have seemed like a good idea (and I love marble) but its square lines and weird bathroom mirror configuration means it's difficult to clean and just looks dirty (and truthfully I didn't want to investigate that point much further). It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the kitchenette, but there was nothing other than tap water or BYO drinks. Having said all that, it is a good location, close to Carrefour mini-mart, the metro and a fantastic empanada place across the road that's open 8am to 8pm with about 12 varieties of gourmet empanadas. Reception spoke good English and the room is cheap (especially if you don't mind the bathroom concerns). There's great free WiFi and a late checkout might be possible until 6pm with an extra USD$39 charge. Instead we paid for an extra night for an even later checkout for our midnight flight home. If it weren't for the bathroom this place would be pretty great for a few days or longer. And, yes, I'd probably return, knowing that I'm not going to have a great bathroom experience!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Room Tip: Get your gourmet empanadas across the road between 8am and 8pm.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from GestionCalidad, Gerente at HTL City Baires
Responded Feb. 4, 2020
Your words really got into us. As a young enterprise we represent, we're always looking for this kind of words that improve us and made us more on synchro with every client needs, in order to achieve our main goal, 'make memorable moments, out of simple times'. Also, I personally as the Manager want to thank you for the time you've invested in these words and to answer this forms, because this is the best tool we have to get real connection with the actual experience of our guests and customers. And it helps them too, in order to know us before contracting our services. We take notes about your suggestions, and we want to let you know that indeed we are in the middle of a complete restructuring process of the whole house that recently was renovated, but still got a structure thought upon the benefits and performance needed upon the time this traditional house was built. For this matter, and in the best interest and comfort of our guests, we though this upcoming 'œuvre', as a full rebuild of our basis, without losing the character and style of a classic. We truly hope that your return would be any soon!! Thanks for your words, thanks for choosing us, and thanks for the time we could share with you and yours, anything you may need, Quality Manager.
Read more
Tavares242 wrote a review Jan. 2020
Stamford, Connecticut283 contributions153 helpful votes
HTL Baires should be rated much much higher. It is a clean safe generic 4-star hotel. Great bed and shower. Good safe lobby. Wonderful staff that mostly spoke English. It is central to everything. Close to the obelisk. And borders the San Telmo neighborhood which has great restaurants. And since it is a basic hotel (think Hyatt Place Express), you are in a nice 4-star paying half the price of some hotel with a fancy lobby. Who needs a fancy lobby?! I’m here to see Buenos Aires! There is the Intercontinental across the street if you want a quick restaurant meal. I would go back again!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Response from GestionCalidad, Gerente at HTL City Baires
Responded Jan. 21, 2020
We've liked very much the words of yours. We also appreciate much the time you put on those, as much as that you've invested filling this quality forms that enlighten us on a straight path to accomplish our main goal; 'to make memorable times, out of simple moments.' We also like to say that we were happy to receive you, and with the idea that you've been enjoyed your stay at our city, and particularly in our house. Expecting to see you real soon!! Diego D.
Read more
PSL wrote a review Dec. 2019
Annandale44 contributions7 helpful votes
We recently stayed here over several night as we traveled throughout Argentina. We were expecting a 4 star hotel, but this is definitely two stars max. The hotel lobby is nice, but that's it. The rooms are all pretty basic, and a bit rundown. Shower heads have exposed plumbing, wall paint has bubbled, and curtains do not open and close easily. The pillows are also horrible! Other reviews rave about breakfast, but it's nothing special unless you love a breakfast of pure bread and sweets. The eggs were always undercooked, and the only meat option was always ham. The one thing they have are some delicious scone like things, which we had with coffee and tea. The receptionists are all over the place. A couple were on point, but others not so much. One night we were checking in at 2am, and the process took forever!!! That was quite a disappointment, escpecially since we had just been there two nights prior so you would think our information would be in order. We had even checked in online, which didn't help AT ALL! On another occasion we called the hotel to reserve a taxi pickup at the airport. When we arrived and found no taxi, we called the hotel again to be told that they forgot to call us back to tell us they were unable to make a reservation. Another disappointment. The only good thing about the hotel is quite honestly the location. It's pretty centrally located, although the area is very businessy. As in any big city, be mindful of your belongings and leave your flashy jewelery at home. My aunt learned the hard way when someone on the street tried to steal her gold chain necklace.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from GestionCalidad, Gerente at HTL City Baires
Responded Jan. 6, 2020
We appreciate much your words and want to thank you for taking the time to write these to us, because that is our most confident tool in order to achieve our main goal with its prospect to the future, which could be resume on our moto 'to make memorable times, out of simple moments'. Over your suggestions, we like to let you know, we're currently over a restructuring process of the whole complex, area by area, in order to offer the most comfortable experience to our guests. Because of this project, reception is a bit slow down at administration matters, for that, we like —and specially myself in my own name as Manager, to apologize very much and let you know that this is not going to happen ever again on our house. We're also tracing a new breakfast menu, and we hope to surprise you very soon with it! Best wishes to this new year just started, we hope 2020 bring us the chance to have you again as our guest, in order to solve any issue you may have had with your stay. Família HTL.
Read more
US$42 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ArgentinaCapital Federal DistrictBuenos AiresMontserrat / El Centro (Downtown)
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about HTL City Baires
Which popular attractions are close to HTL City Baires?
Nearby attractions include Funny Times Travel & Tours (0.3 km), Juegos Mentales - Tu Puedes Escaparte (0.3 km), and Iglesia de San Ignacio de Loyola (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HTL City Baires?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and kids activities.
What are some restaurants close to HTL City Baires?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Morada, Puerta del Inca, and London City.
Are there any historical sites close to HTL City Baires?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Recoleta (2.8 km), Museo Nacional De Arte Decorativo (3.9 km), and Basilica de Nuestra Senora Del Pilar (3.1 km).
Is HTL City Baires accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.