We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Gral Miguel de Azcuenaga 1268 La Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1115AAJ Argentina
Lowest prices for your stay
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-10
Booking.com
Hotels.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-10
Expedia.comUS$70
TravelocityUS$70
Orbitz.comUS$70
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (214)
Room & Suite (234)
Dining (30)

About

#140 of 505 hotels in Buenos Aires
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Art Hotel is a boutique hotel, located in a historic French-style building in Recoleta, at a few blocks from the legendary cemetery. Its ground floor contains an ..art gallery and its rooms, although not big, are very cozy, decorated with a combination of modern and antique.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
124Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
19Attractionswithin 0.5 km
654Reviews19Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 217
  • 256
  • 117
  • 42
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BHAPPY wrote a review Aug. 2022
3 contributions
We feel so lucky to have stayed here . Perfect location in a quiet street yet not far from the famous cemetery (10 minutes walk) and subway station (5 minutes) . Originally designed rooms . Friendly and efficient staff . An amazing deal
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager AHOTEL, General Manager at A Hotel
Responded Sep. 8, 2022
Thanks for staying with us! Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2travelonward wrote a review Jan. 2020
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada35 contributions37 helpful votes
We feel that the A Hotel is the perfect location to explore the neighbourhood. From being able to walk 30 seconds out the front door to the delicious gelato place on the corner where all the locals go, to going in the opposite direction two blocks to “the” neighbourhood restaurant and being the only tourists there :). We walked to parks, the famous cemetary and took the bus and subway...all close by. The staff are super helpful, friendly and efficient. The warmth of their welcome and willingness to help us out (I.e. write out the Spanish to get our laundry done locally) made it a pleasure. Our room was cleaned well everyday and the bed really comfortable. We hope to come back to the same hotel, same room in two years time. We think that says it all...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for one at the back and if you want to look out and experience the street...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ManagerAHotel, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded Feb. 4, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveler04251446660 wrote a review Dec. 2019
Columbus, Ohio1 contribution2 helpful votes
My daughter and I recently stayed at the Red Roof in Hurstborne (Louisville) KY while attending a cheer competition. The hotel staff was very accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was convenient to the interstate leading to the competition and there were ample restaurants close by. Perfect for an easy in and out for our needs.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ManagerAHotel, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded Dec. 13, 2019
Att We have reported your review to Tripadvisor.com, due it was located at the wrong hotel. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gus M wrote a review Aug. 2019
Brasilia, DF205 contributions116 helpful votes
The facilities are old and in need of repair. My shower broke and I had to move to a Different room. The location is great. The staff is also great. The prices are good. Overall, good value for your money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded Aug. 12, 2019
Thanks for staying with us. We apologize for the inconvenient, sometimes, things brake without previous notice. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
roachnest wrote a review Mar. 2019
Berkeley, California30 contributions31 helpful votes
Our travel agent booked us into this hotel after we told her we preferred boutique hotels. Unfortunately, this was hardly the experience we hoped for. The rooms are run down with cracks in the sinks, in the ceilings, and dirty walls. The desk staff were non-helpful and at times rude. The art is of very low quality. A reasonable breakfast is included. Although exterior of the building itself is of French design, it is surrounded by many ugly modern buildings (although to be fair, this is the case in much of Buenos Aires).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The inner rooms have poor natural lighting and the exterior rooms are subject to street noise. ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded Mar. 12, 2019
Thanks for your review. The building has 100 years, we are starting an important remodelation, we know that some rooms have details, but on the other hand, we offer one of the bests deals in the neighbourhood (Recoleta). We are afraid, you had a really high expectation of Buenos Aires, and you got dessapointed (due to this comment "it is surrounded by many ugly modern buildings (although to be fair, this is the case in much of Buenos Aires"). We are used to get reviews about the Front Desk, we would like to know why you think that sometimes they were rude to you. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JayRCornwall wrote a review Jan. 2019
Cornwall49 contributions33 helpful votes
We were put here by a Tour Operator. On arrival the front door was locked, once we had found our way to our allocated room, inspected it, and discovered it was in poor repair, chipped and cracked sink, peeling paint and wallpaper, mold, broken telephone, filthy curtains, lack of decent flooring, no chair, wire mesh fronted wardrobes (Prison style) window looking out onto an internal wall etc, etc. The breakfast room was dark, and the whole place was run down. There did not appear to be any other guests. We contacted the Tour Operator and insisted that we were put into another hotel. This place can not claim to be an hotel- its not even fit to be an old run down boarding house. The tour operator has said that they will reconsider using this run down place in future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go Elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded Jan. 30, 2019
Thanks for your review. January, it was a busy a month for us, it is a small hotel, we work with many travel agencies, and with GDS systems, if you were here just for a really short period of time, it is possible that you had not seen another guests. You had the chance to upgrade your booking, to a King room (with more lights, to the street, with chairs and with more space in the room) even thoug, you decided to change to another hotel, we respected that. We know, that we have details to solve, but we offer one the best deals in this area, you had another more expensive (way more expensive) options nearby. The breakfast area, has led lighting, it is not dark, it is not necessary to have lights like a stadium, we always liked to certain cosy atmosphere. We have been working with many tour operators since 2004, and it is not normal, to receive so despective complains. We think, you had really high expectations, for a small budget hotel (we offer rates from USD 50 per night), and that is why, you were so uncomfortable. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lesleywalsh wrote a review Jan. 2019
Spain13 contributions10 helpful votes
Also most of the rooms are internal - so no windows or daylight. Everything is old and damaged. Mould in the bathrooms. Cheap bedding/towels, damaged furniture - TVs that were impossible to use - A/C unreliable and very small gloomy (again no windows) breakfast room with very cheap basic food on offer. Info on wifi very confusing. Really a horrible place - dont bother - much better places to stay for the money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Dont take internal rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded Jan. 19, 2019
Thanks for your review. First of all, it is a flat with 100 years, I think you are quiet confused, we have replaced all the towels two months ago with one of the best companies in town. We know that have some things to reform, with just in some rooms (that could not be solved in high season). On the other hand, we remind that you have paid a really low rate, we still offer a good rate (you can ready other comments) for the area we are. On the other hand, we have only 8 (eight) internal rooms with small windows, if it was a problem for you, why did you ask to move to other one? The TV is possible to use, it was a shame you did not ask at the front desk, the same with the air conditioning, the Front Desk is to solve problems, if you do not ask, we can´t know if something is wrong. We are reforming some rooms, but for finantial reasons, we can close two months to do everything faster. According to the breakfast, we desagree, A Hotel offers a good breakfast, we serve coffee, different types of tea, different types of bread, croissants, cheese cream, sweet jam, “dulce de leche”, honey, different types of fruits, cereal, yogurt, jam and cheese, and orange juice. For a hotel that offers non refundable rates from USD 55 + TAX, what did you expect? It is a shame you did not give us the chance to make your stay more comfortable. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fayeann L wrote a review Dec. 2018
Grenada14 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
DO NOT STAY HERE. (Now called 'A Hotel', they were previously called Art Hotel and judging from the rest of the place, I'd guess the 'rt' fell off one day a decade ago and they never bothered to replace it). With so many great hotel and AirBnB options available in BA, many for a fraction of the cost, you'd be foolish to stay here. THEIR PICTURES ARE NOT REPRESENTATIVE OF THE HOTEL. We booked through hotels.com (more on why we recommend against this later*) for arrival on Christmas Day. We'd stayed in a delightful AirBnB apt when we visited Buenos Aires the week before, but I wanted to 'splurge' on the comforts of a hotel for Christmas and Boxing Day (room service, daily room cleaning) so we opted for this one as it looked adorable in the pictures. Let me cut to the chase - it's old, rundown and filthy. The staff know this, which is why they stringently enforce that your booking is NON-REFUNDABLE for ANY reason - including if the photos online are not representative of the actual state of the rooms. The room was tiny to the point of claustrophobia, they are photographed to look much larger. The curtains were horribly stained or just unwashed, there was a giant hole in the sheer curtain, the bathroom sink and tub both had chipped patinas, there was what appeared to be a line of mould where the bathroom sink met the wall, our window looked out onto another window, there were pigeons on the windowsill. I was uneasy to sit on the bed and certainly would not have used the toilet. I can't imagine what a blacklight would reveal. We went up to the rooftop to see if it was redeeming as we'd been looking forward to enjoying the rooftop terrace. It took seconds to realise there was no redemption there - to summarise - gross. Staff flatly refused a refund despite the rest of the hotel being empty, or our last minute booking (my argument here is that there was no opportunity cost to them for us booking the room, the place was empty anyway). More importantly, they adamantly cited the no refund policy, DESPITE THE PLACE BEING FILTHY. So essentially, once they have your money you don't get it back even if they completely misrepresent what they're offering. *Hotels.com is essentially an aggregator, they aren't able to help in a dispute. What a horrible horrible way to spend Christmas Day. I'll admit that the combination of disappointment, frustration, and shock at the treatment, combined with the melancholy of a Christmas Day away from family, made me want to cry. Thanks for our only terrible experience in Buenos Aires A Hotel. (They were previously called Art Hotel and judging from the rest of the place, I'd guess the 'rt' fell off one day a decade ago and they never bothered to replace it). Thankfully, we were able to research and book a WONDERFUL hotel nearby and the last few hours of Christmas Day were salvaged.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, or an AirBnB
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded Dec. 28, 2018
Thanks for your review. We have photographs of ALL OUR rooms, in our website, and in all Reservation Systems. The problem, is that you have seen the images of the "King" rooms, and you have reserved a "Queen" with a non refundable rate. After staying in the room, you wanted a refund for the whole amount of the stay (three nights). Having "standard rates", why did you reserve the cheapest non refundable rate available? We inform you, that is not possible to find a 4 stars hotel (like you expected) for a rate of USD 66.33 per night with breakfast included (we dare to find a hotel at Cristmas Eve in Buenos Aires for that money). We know that some rooms, have old courtains and some painting details, but nothing serious. We do maintenance regularly and some details, could not be solved at high season. We quote your comment "I'll admit that the combination of disappointment, frustration, and shock at the treatment, combined with the melancholy of a Christmas Day away from family, made me want to cry." , WE ASKE YOU, is it our fault that you have decided to travel at this time of the year? Fortunatelly, most of our clients apreciate our hotel, and post good reviers. It is a shame you did not accept a room change, if you felt so unconfortable. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FamilyfunBrisbane wrote a review Nov. 2018
Brisbane, Australia88 contributions116 helpful votes
A Hotel is a charming boutique hotel in the heart of Recoleta, an upscale neighborhood in Buenos Aires. We were warmly greeted after a very long travel day by a charming desk clerk who helped up with our (ton of) luggage and checked us in quickly and efficiently. There is a lift, though the staircase (all marble and wrought iron) was spectacular. Our room was beautiful, spacious and clean. The super comfy bed was sorely tempting, but on the advice of hotel reception, we pushed on to a neighborhood parilla (Los Pinos) where we enjoyed the most wonderful meal. Breakfast is served in a room dotted with interesting artworks...breakfast meets gallery! We only stayed one night in this hotel, opting for another on our way home. We all agreed that A Hotel was by far the better choice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded Nov. 22, 2018
Thanks for staying with us. Hope to see you again some other time. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
meeralondon wrote a review Nov. 2018
london38 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed there in October 2018, and the woman at reception was rude when we complained that the sink had a chip in it, the room smelt damp, and the safe was coming off the wall, rather than securely attached to it,and the lock looked damaged too. She kept saying "it's not my fault, your travel agent booked a basic room". We also had our debit card swallowed by a bank, and she told us that no one puts their card in a debit machine on sundays, in case of problems, and kept repeating this, which was unhelpful, as we were already distressed about losing our card. The second room was better, but the curtains were not clean. However the breakfast was quite basic, with the coffee being good one day, and undrinkable the next day. The woman serving breakfast was unhelpful, and not friendly either. There was a friendly male receptionist, who agreed to book us a taxi for the evening, however when we tried to adjust the time of the booking in the afternoon, the other receptionist said there was no record of the taxi request, or location we were going to, so unfortunately the service was inefficient at best. We stayed in other 3 star hotels in Argentina and the service, rooms, and staff were much better, so we would not recommend A hotel unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded Nov. 19, 2018
Thanks for your comment. You know, that is not the responsability of a hotel clerk, to go to a bank to solve a problem on A Sunday (she told you, that you have to go to the bank, to retire the card, on Monday after 10 AM with an ID) , the same with a SIM card. Recepcionists, are not butlers, and they have forbidden to leave the hotel during a shift. The safe box was ok, at the moment the housekeer reported, that the safe was ok before you enter in to the room. We do not know, what happened really. The travel agency, booked the standard room, and we gave you a free upgrade. Some zinks, have to be repainted, but it is high season, and it is not big deal (it was a detail of 2 cm). According to the breakfast, we desagree, A Hotel offers a good breakfast (we offer non refundable rates from USD 55 + TAX), we serve coffee, different types of tea, different types of bread, croissants, cheese cream, sweet jam, “dulce de leche”, honey, different types of fruits, cereal, yogurt, jam and cheese, and orange juice. Again about the staff, we serve an "autoservice" buffet, the person in charge, is just to reemplace the food and wash the dishes. The taxi was reserved at the original time, and then you want to change it, it was a misunderstanding obviously. It is a shame you has a bad stay, because you have checked in angry and got angry with a recepcionist, for things, they were not her fault (you and your partner, have been really unpolite to her). Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
art hotel buenos aires, art buenos aires
LOCATION
ArgentinaCapital Federal DistrictBuenos AiresRecoleta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

A Hotel - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about A Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to A Hotel?
Nearby attractions include DWS (0.3 km), Galeria Patio Del Liceo (0.5 km), and Túmulo de Liliana Crociati de Szaszak (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at A Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at A Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at A Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to A Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa SaltShaker, Rapa Nui - Barrio Norte, and Roux.
Is A Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Buenos Aires.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at A Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to A Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Recoleta (0.7 km), Museo Nacional De Arte Decorativo (1.2 km), and Basilica de Nuestra Senora Del Pilar (1.1 km).