We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Square Independencia

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostel Square Independencia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Square Independencia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The hostel is housed in a manor house and is centrally located. The hostel hosts a lot of in-house activities and most of them are for free. Every evening they serve free wine from 7pm-9pm. I found this the best place to meet other travelers. Staff are friendly and are knowledgable.

Thank Backpackways
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

A really fun place, with lots of travellers enjoying free wine in the evening. The beds, rooms and facilities are a little basic, but it's appropriately cheap. Most importantly is the great vibe the place has (helped by the FREE wine!) and the AMAZING help/travel advice offered by the staff here (we had some tricky questions about how to get...

Thank Matthew W
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

This was a good hostel with a nice communal space to meet people and take advantage of the free wine on offer in the evening. The tours they offer are overpriced, we did the wine tours on our own for half of what they were charging. Great breakfast, best so far in a four month trip. The chef cooking eggs...

Thank Joe1092
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Set in a beautifully grand manor house, there are plenty of sociable areas to hang out in, at this perfectly central hostel. Just metres from the main square (hence the name), Square Independencia is the ideal hostel for exploring Mendoza. For when you want to branch out from the city centre, the reception staff will happily and easily organise all...

1Thank Sacha55
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

All in all we liked our stay here. The staff is amazing, helpful, friendly. The beds are a bit of a challenge, the pillows are definitely not worth calling them pillows... Yes, there is 2 hr free wine in the evening. And that is not bad wine at all! Breakfast is excellent. So all in all we had a worthwhile...

Thank Armin N
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

It's so hard to pass up such a good price for the location of this hostel. So we figured we would give it a chance! Unfortunately, it didn't win us over. What's good? The courtyard is lovely and there's definitely a good atmosphere out there, and the guys working at the hostel were brilliant. Why we left? A few reasons....

1Thank Lisa S
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

I'm never staying in another hostel in Mendoza. This is our second time here and the whole place is on point. The staff has to be some of the most friendly. Kitchen is large and actually built for multiple people to be able to cook. Beds are large and comfortable, the free wine every night is a great way to...

Thank MayKing01
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night but it seems like a great, social hostel. The free wine is a nice idea and having the choice of pancakes or eggs for breakfast is amazing in a hostel! The room was large although it got very warm. Bathrooms could definitely be improved but there was hot water at least. Biggest disappointment for...

Thank Mel R
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

I really enjoyed the time iv stayed in here. The atmosphere was great, the staff is warm and each one of them would do his best to help you with any kind of problem. special thank to Barbara, who helped me alot in many fields and really cared alot..thank you ! The BBQ is delicious and the kitchen is well...

Thank Nir H
Bárbara G, Director de Recepción at Hostel Square Independencia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nir, un placer tenerte en el hostel!! Nos alegra que hayas disfrutado tu estadía, tratamos de hacer lo posible para...

Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

We were so disappointed by this place. We weren't given the room we originally found on Hostelworld because the receptionist said it had bed bugs, so we stayed in another one. All three of us got bitten anyway, and others at the hostel complained of bites as well. We eventually asked them to cover the cost of washing our clothes,...

2Thank Layla R

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (37)
Family/Play Areas (11)
Dining (6)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (17)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.1 km away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#12 of 84 in Mendoza
816 reviews
0.5 km away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,136 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
733 reviews
0.3 km away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#19 of 84 in Mendoza
943 reviews
1.2 km away
Hostel Lagares
Hostel Lagares
#1 of 166 in Mendoza
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Owner has over 30 years of travel experience and really understands what nowadays travelers are looking for.Hostel Independencia is located in the heart of downtown Mendoza, few steps from the Independencia Square, the center of concerts, recreational and cultural activities. This restored old mansion was built in 1910, giving the hostel an incomparable atmosphere and ample spaces ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Square Independencia

Address: Avenida B Mitre 1237, Mendoza M5500EHH, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Price Range: $19 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Square Independencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Square Independencia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose private rooms”
andersonc921, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try get a room off the street side, rubbish collection happens at 5am every morning”
kookooforcocoapuffs, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for the most quiet room available”
677rustys, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Pick a room size that corresponds to your group size”
nickbN6996NS, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The private room is not too big, but is a great/cheap option without having to sleep in the same room as a bunch of people”
JimD2001, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$15* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates