We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hi Patagonia

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hi Patagonia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of Hi Patagonia
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as a base and rented a car for two days through the hostel to go to Punta Tombo and peninsula Valdes. Gaston the owner is very friendly and helpful and arranges the rental cars as a side venture too. Fecundo and the other house staff were also really great. We left for the airport very early the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I've been to Hi Patagonia for 4 nights and it has been all a pleasure ! It was very well located, and the owner is giving you good advice. People are always here to explain you the different options. Plus, the hostel is in a house, with a few people only, so it is a really friendly place where you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Hipatagonia in a double room with a private bathroom. The welcoming was very friendly, we were given all possible instructions upon our arrival to make the most of our stay. The room was all good, so was the bathroom. The common areas were exceptional offering some good interaction with other expats and backpackers and Gaston...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mataforgana
Bonn, Germany
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Basic room that was completely overpriced. 21% VAT and 10% extra for credit card payment was charged. Very unfriendly and angry owner. No WIFI in room. You hear everything in room, very bad noise isolation. Breakfast is disappointing as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
GastonRyan, Propietario at Hi Patagonia, responded to this review

Mr as we told you on arrival you booked a 4 bed private room that's why the difference with others and didn't realize that the web you booked through specified that VAT was excluded of the price, even if we explain you can deducte VAT when you pay with credit card.

Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

The hostel booked the trips for us to Peninsula Valdes and Punta Tombo. Trips were great and staff was really helpfull! Breakfast was nice and hostel was clean. Hostelstaff makes you feel like you are family. We visited with friends, but its also fine to stay with children.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maike B
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Gaston, the owner, was from the start extremely helpful and kind with us. Before our trip our exchanges by emails were great and super efficient. We needed to rent a car but all the rental agencies of Puerto Madryn were out of cars. Thanks to him we got a big brand new car that was way under the average prices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elisavdk
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Has everything you need on the block, a great vegetable/produce store, carniceria, bakery for deserts and cafe. Recommend renting bikes and going up the coast toward punta Loma. On a nice warm day, pulling over to a simple cove or beach near the light house type of building is really sweet. Enjoy!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rose B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hostel. Feels very homely and comfortable with a great chill out area in the back with large kitchen facilities. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Gaston is so helpful in booking tours and general info about the area. Would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theks712
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

One of the best places I've stayed in in Argentina. We LOVED Gaston - the funniest and most helpful guy ever! Rooms were kept lovely and clean, as were the bathrooms. Great communal area for cooking and relaxing; even has a climbing wall!Lovely atmosphere - would recommend to absolute anyone.We wish Gaston and his family all the very best with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma P
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We stayed in Hi Patagonia for 5 nights. Awesome hostel to chill, cook, socialise and plans trips in the area. Gaston is a great host who provides all the information you need about the local area and gave us loads of tips for our trip down to Southern Patagonia. The room out the back is great with a big communual...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam C

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#7 of 22 in Puerto Madryn
462 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#12 of 22 in Puerto Madryn
187 reviews
0.6 km away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#4 of 22 in Puerto Madryn
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 22 in Puerto Madryn
770 reviews
1.2 km away
Bahia Nueva Hotel
Bahia Nueva Hotel
#10 of 22 in Puerto Madryn
290 reviews
0.8 km away
El Gualicho Hostel
El Gualicho Hostel
#3 of 64 in Puerto Madryn
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hi Patagonia is a House with only 8 rooms and comfortable common areas round the corner to the beach where you can spot whales (Mid May-Mid December.We offer private rooms and dorms with private bath or shared, breakfast included, wi fi and internet for free.Rooms are service everday (on demand)trying to keep as clean as possible your house and enjoyiable your stay.We provide as much information and services as we can and are always trying to improve services and details to make your arrival, stay and departure as easy as we can.Our goal is that you can take the most of your time in our area, experienced the best that we can offer and be relaxed while we work for you, giving our time and experience all day for our guests.We think there's nothing that can be solved and holidays are a special moment a year to enjoy the most with minimun stress. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hi Patagonia

Address: Avenida Pte Gral J a Roca 1040, Puerto Madryn U9120AIX, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Price Range: $23 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hi Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hi Patagonia staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hi Patagonia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed at the private accommodation and it was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles 57priscilat, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I liked the room for couple that had a private bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles Deganit, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
“rooms are pretty quiet as the common room is in another building”
 of 5 bubbles ChaMericaDelsur, 30 May 2015 | Read review
“Private rooms are hotel standard”
 of 5 bubbles 306stephenw, 29 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Choose dorms 1 or 2 looking over the road rather than the back where rooms look over the courtyard and hostel bar.”
 of 5 bubbles hannc01, 12 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5