We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostel Los Troncos

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostel Los Troncos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights in March 2016. Hostel wise it's great: people and staff are super friendly, kitchen is well equipped, free internet all all amenities. Rooms are supeeeer tiny, and so is rest room. Really not worth the 40$ they charge for a room with a queen bed.

Helpful?
Thank Oded Z
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

We are travelling around South America as a late twenties/early thirties couple and we stayed in Hostel Los Troncos in a 5 bed dormitory. We stayed 3 nights and returned here for an additional night a week later on our way back through Bariloche. We awoke on our first morning here to a fantastic breakfast and even better wi-fi. After... More 

Helpful?
Thank El_Viajero_Ingles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Over all we liked this place, the wifi was good rooms clean kitchen was amazing best we have had all of the staff members were really nice and helped us get around and do things apart from one woman that worked there she was very rude never helped is and when she would she would leave out details about getting... More 

Helpful?
Thank billy F
Management response:

Dear costumer, your opinion is very important for us. Sincerely i regret very much you had left the hostel whith that impresion about the treatment given by my person. If you had come to see me asking for further informacion not only asking puntual questions i had given you all the informacion you needed. For us now is very hi... More 

Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

It's awesome. I felt like being in a Hotel when i came in for the first time . all in all: - HUGE kitchen with lots of stuff - nice, clean beds - spacious lockers - rooms are being cleaned every day - (argentinian breakfeast) - very helpful stuff Take this i just wanted to stay 2-3 days but than... More 

Helpful?
Thank C6142YQph
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2014

This was a fantastic hostel. The communal areas were great and lots of them!! There was a front room and a basement seating area, where the lovely huge modern kitchen was also. Our room was big and was a mixed 13 person room, it was only me and my sister in-law and two other people the whole time, one night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sam_solomon13
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hostel offers great spacious common rooms. The kitchen is big and modern with stainless steel appliances. Overall the infrastructure is great, and so is the location. Great place to mingle, and the hostel will provide towels/shampoo. Good value. We were very disappointed with the client relations/front desk, as the staff did not seem inclined to help us. For example,... More 

Helpful?
Thank mousty14
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We had two nights at this hostel and it was overall a good stay. We were positively surprised of the breakfast with a great variety and the kitchen is a dream if you're planning to cook your own meals! Clean, well equipped and new. I would recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank aemcee
Aviemore Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We came early season - mid November - The hostel is safe, clean with free computers, great kitchen and lounge area and Augustine and Guadaloope helped us with so many things. Great English and nothing was too much trouble. The street side is noisey on a Staurday night but that is a price you pay for a very convenient location.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pauline s
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had spent three nights in March. Wonderfully. Although the weather was awful. I remember the patio with a table, the smell of roses, ladder ... I do not want to talk about the room - the room as a room. Normal bed, fast wi-fi. Clean, nice. Shower so-so. I just love this atmosphere, as in this hostel. Many good people,... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlexanderShcerbakov
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Hostel looks like a hotel and therefore hasn't got a real backpackersvibe. But that doesn't matter, cause the beds are fantastic, at breakfast you get freshly baked medialunas and your dishes get washed. The kitchen is fantastic, nicest one ever, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Location is ok, bathroom is less ok because the shower is almost above... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hein K

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 km away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#9 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
722 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#21 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
500 reviews
0.4 km away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#26 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
710 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#16 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
234 reviews
0.1 km away
Bariloche Hostel
Bariloche Hostel
#21 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Hostel Los Troncos

Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 571, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $40 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Los Troncos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Los Troncos staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Los Troncos staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lots of shared "dorm" rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GJWPos, 23 Oct 2012 | Read review
“I was in the dorm but it has a lot of double rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 96jonathanm, 12 Feb 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay