Legacy Golf Resort

Legacy Golf Resort

The pool area
Traveller (303)
Panorama of the One Bedroom Suite at the Legacy Golf Resort
360
Panoramas (7)
Studio Suite
Room & Suite (316)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#5 of 7 resorts in Phoenix
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Legacy Resort is an oasis of green at the base of Phoenix’s scenic and well known South Mountain. Featuring spacious suites decorated in Spanish mission-style with rich wood cabinetry and earth-toned fabrics and a full kitchen or kitchenette. An on-site 18-hole championship golf course that was named a top 10 Golf Courses to play in Phoenix by Golf Digest. Also a sparkling pool and a deluxe health club, coupled with an endless variety of recreational activities amidst an inviting resort community. Make The Legacy Golf Resort your destination for a romantic getaway, family vacation, reunion or golf outing. We are ready to help you create your legacy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Table tennis
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

6808 S 32nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85042-6004
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 45 out of 100
45
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport
Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport
33.2 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,010 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Legacy Golf Resort garners mixed reviews, with many travelers appreciating its comfortable rooms and commendable amenities such as the pool and golf course. Guests have called out the convenient location near the airport and attractions, contributing to the resort's appeal. Despite some reports of maintenance and cleanliness issues, the serene atmosphere created by the expansive grounds is a highlight. However, the experience of value is varied, with some guests encountering unexpected fees that mar their perception of the resort's worth.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Serene
Rooms
Dated
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,010Review36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 429
  • 320
  • 144
  • 63
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lynda M wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful Resort and great location within 15 minutes of our planned events. Gamble's quail and rabbit outside our balcony! Quiet, clean. One bedroom had QUALITY furnishings throughout plus black out curtains, granite, tile, lighting features. Great spacious pool area we enjoyed. Fabulous design and no virus restrictions. We reported a few MINOR issues which were IMMEDIATELY resolved such as replacing old coffee maker & a drippy faucet. Our medical emergency warranted a 2 night extension beyond our original reservation of 10 days.
The staff went above and beyond to assist us, offering to move our luggage and gifting us a very nice dinner in their restaurant. Every personnel we encountered were polite, professional, experienced helpful and thorough. Many of them have worked at this resort for 15 plus years. Can't image a better vacation experience!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Our room was in Casita 7 far away from pool, etc. very quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelersw089 wrote a review Sep 2021
Phoenix, Arizona
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although I can understand the need for an additional housekeeping fee ($95+tax) for short (less than a week) stays, I was unprepared for enforcement of this fee. RCI verbiage has used the “may" charge on this for a very long time. Having stayed at this location before and at other resorts and not seeing any additional fees charged, I did not budget for this expense. After all, when you add the exchange fee, membership fee and now housekeeping fee, I question the value of doing this at all as opposed to simply paying a retail fee at the location of your choice.
However, the choice is up to the buyer. I just wanted to do my part in sharing my experience so that everyone could make an informed choice for themselves and avoid unpleasant surprises. I should add that an explanation of the charge was professionally provided to me by resort staff and I did appreciate that courtesy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Tony D. wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really enjoyed our stay at The Shell Vacations Club. The staff was very friendly and informative on all the amenities and questions you might have as a guest. We were welcomed with smiles and hospitality. The grounds and layout of the hotel was very nice and the condos are spread out across the property. My favorite part about my stay was the ROOMS. This was not a wanna be hotel room/box. Its a well laid out building plans with plenty of room for you to feel comfortable and relax no matter how long your staycation lasts. They have granite kitchen tops. Full size fridge, stove, sink area, and spacious living/dining room. Awesome separate vanity areas for two or even three people to get prepared for their day. The bedroom was strategically located with Comfortable bedroom/beds which allowed for a quiet nights rest. The restaurant was very nice and food and prices was average to fair. All in all our stay was Fantastic !!! and we will be coming back again to this resort without a doubt. I highly recommend its worth your time to stay at The Shell.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
julie6114 wrote a review Mar 2020
Valparaiso, Indiana
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a reservation made through Airbnb and when the COVID-19 ramped up I called the resort to ask a few questions about the services and amenities that were still available as things were starting to shut down. I called directly to the front desk and talked with LeeAnn. She proceeded to tell me that the resort was closed and I should of gotten an email from my host through Airbnb which I did not. She then told me I would need to try and get a refund through Airbnb as the reservation was made through a third party. My” Super Host” Michelle through Airbnb was very difficult to work with and refused to refund my money. I then called back to the resort only to be treated rudely by the manager Kelly on duty. He actually accused me of lying and said they did not have anyone named LeeAnn working there. He told me yes the restaurants and pools were closed but the rooms at the resort were available. I had already cancelled my reservation through Airbnb and told him his employee answering the phone was misinforming their guests in telling them the resort was closed. After a few more rude remarks from the manger I hung up on him. As stressful as the times are right now with COVID-19 I would expect nothing less than staff to be understanding and helpful in trying to resolve customer issues. This place DID NOT. They just wanted to argue and made me feel like I had the wrong information and they were right which was not the case at all. After the way I was treated I would NEVER recommend this place. By the way I did get my refund with NO help from my “Super Host” but a wonderful, friendly customer service rep named Alyssa through Airbnb.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Legacy Golf Resort
Responded Nov 20, 2020
We're sorry to hear that this was your experience, and we appreciate your patience during these unprecedented times. Unfortunately because you booked through a third party, all reservation modifications must be made through that third party. We're disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience with our resort staff, and apologize for any miscommunication. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and will be passed along to our resort team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ardell wrote a review May 2021
Matteson, Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort was very nice. The only real problem we had was with the hot water. It took forever to get hot and in the middle of using it would turn cold on you. The restaurant was good and the pool was great. When using the pool they wanted you to make reservations. Every three hours they would clear the pool for a half hour to sanitize it for the next group.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth R wrote a review Dec 2021
Farmington, New Mexico
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort was nice. It is spread out. Units are nice, Views are good and staff was friendly. Pool not crowded two hot tubs adult only was quiet and not crowded. The location was great easy to get around the area with major roads within a mile of resort
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mikerbrant wrote a review Sep 2022
San Diego, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We own with Shell (now Wyndam) and this is one of the resorts that I have super fond memories of like 20 years ago. Annnnd it looks like they have done exactly zero to it in those 20 years. Structural elements such as balcony railings or wood beams over doorways are literally falling apart (in Building 2), to the point where they are a safety concern. They charge you extra for internet if you need it to be fast enough to actually do something useful (like have a Zoom call). I had to tether off of my phone for functioning internet. The unit was missing basic things such as a pot to boil pasta in. The pool will charge you $4 for a club soda, but doesn't have a blender for any kind of interesting drink (they used to). When you check in there is high pressure to get you to a timeshare presentation - they make you go to the concierge to get your room keys to try to get you to go. Our bracelets and key cards never worked for the pool the entire time we were there. The common area bathrooms near the pool close at like 4pm, so if you need to use the toilet I guess your options are to go in the pool or walk back to your unit. Just overall I was disappointed with this trip: Wyndam is trying to squeeze every penny out of the golf course and timeshares sales, why neglecting anything that would make the timeshare desirable to actually own or stay in. And charging for internet, in 2022, really? Wyndam is garbage, I wish the original company that built this place was still around, it was seriously amazing in the 2000s.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jacquieh194 wrote a review Dec 2021
Calgary, Alberta
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The unit we stayed in (Building 10) studio had updated furniture and the bed was good. However, the sliding bathroom door was almost impossible to close, the screen door on the balcony was off and leaning against the window. Patio furniture was poorly cleaned, stove and microwave were covered in grease. We stayed 4 days (not by our choice - it's all that was available at the time of booking) and were charged $100.00 cleaning fee. It is in your paperwork, however, most resorts don't actually charge it. The adjoining door is just that - an interior door which gives no privacy. I was up when they were up (6:00 a.m.) and I could hear their conversations very clearly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: November 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
973B wrote a review Dec 2022
Northern New Jersey
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon check in you are attacked by sales people for time share (I assume). They ask you to attend a meeting and want a credit card???? For attending a meeting? I shut that right down. Then they called me at 9:32 the next morning—a Sunday on my cell! Who is that rude? I let the call go to voicemail. Then they called the room the next day. Does Wyndham really think these tactics turn a no into yes????

We were there four days and no maid visit. I understand the situation with using linens to be green and the issue with hiring staff but it would have been nice to offer to dump our trash. If we’d used the kitchen in the unit trash would have been ripe! Also no directions on what to do with trash so we used the parking lot trash cans

Room finishes are a bit tattered but were of high quality when new. Beds comfy. Hot water had a note to tell you it needed to run for two minutes (not green in the desert). Exterior well kept

Very quiet and no noise from other units except a door slam every now and then which was super noisy

Pool and jacuzzi were spotless. We didn’t use golf facilities or the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandy K wrote a review May 2022
Durango, Iowa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been RCI members since 1992, paying maintenance fees, exchange fees, using our points and seems we rate at the bottom of the priority list when comes to the room location. We do not get a choice when booking of room location, view, etc... We are currently staying at this resort and have a view of a parking lot. We have not invested and come this far to Arizona (from Iowa) to have a view of a parking lot. We have asked for different location and told we didn't request room with view. In past when booking we have and have been told they cannot guarantee anything. We have even offered to downsize our room from 2 bedroom to smaller unit if helps. Others can book thru expedia, priceline, vrbo etc... and can choose their view. The room is nice, and area nice, but cannot understand why they would have balcony with view of parking lot? Of course 1st thing upon checking in was they wanted us to go thru RCI update and try to get us to spend more money, WHY WOULD WE if weren't not high priority. I have never written a poor review on any of RCI resorts and feel we are not high maintenance people, just so frustrated with the constant added costs of belonging to time share and less perks and not being on the top of the priority list. Sadly disappointed - The Kleins from Iowa.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: book through some other source so can pick room view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Lillian C
6 contributions2 helpful votes
I don't play golf...but it looks like a very nice golf course.
Karen H asked a question Aug 2023
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Do the kitchens include a blender?
Answer from paulinesoman
Toronto, Canada15 contributions6 helpful votes
We did not use 1.....but I'm pretty sure there was 1. If not, front desk has a ready supply of all those extras.
Angela S asked a question Dec 2020
Ludington, Michigan, United States113 contributions68 helpful votes
Is golf included in your stay or is it extra?
Answer from fitzclaire03
70 contributions5 helpful votes
Extra.
djkarey asked a question Mar 2020
Iowa134 contributions24 helpful votes
Is the pool heated?
Answer from Golfer146
Phoenix, Arizona72 contributions10 helpful votes
It was in oct I don’t know about this time of year
Karey H asked a question Feb 2020
Golf del Sur, Spain10 contributions1 helpful vote
Are there grills available for use?
Answer from jeannine d
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Yes, there is an area with several grills.
Celda F wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"we love that the pool is open late and early too if you prefer doing laps with the birds tweeting!"
Read full review
Asher S wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The walls are a little thin so you can hear a louder guest next door. Also, the rooms are a tad dated but super clean and well taken care of"
Read full review
746deedee wrote a tip Mar 2024
5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would suggest getting 2nd floor room so you don't hear noise from bottom floor. Not extremely quiet on first floor. "
Read full review
Odyssey276505 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Never got to stay here. "
Read full review
patty wrote a tip Feb 2024
Waterloo, Iowa6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring dryer sheets . I recommend doing laundry before going home"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Phoenix area.
PRICE RANGE
C$143 - C$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
legacy golf hotel phoenix, legacy resort phoenix, legacy hotel phoenix
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaPhoenixSouth Mountain
NUMBER OF ROOMS
328
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Legacy Golf Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Legacy Golf Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Legacy Golf Resort?
Nearby attractions include South Mountain Park (6.6 km), Dobbins Lookout (6.0 km), and Great Room Escape & Class Axe Throwing (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Legacy Golf Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Legacy Golf Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Legacy Golf Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Legacy Golf Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Legacy Golf Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little Miss BBQ, Cocina Madrigal, and Cornish Pasty Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Legacy Golf Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Legacy Golf Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Legacy Golf Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Legacy Golf Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Legacy Golf Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Scorpion Gulch (6.1 km).
All Phoenix HotelsPhoenix Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PhoenixHotels near Legacy Golf Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars