We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale

Save
Share
6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
LuxuryCollection
US$455
View deal
Expedia.com
US$489
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-05-25
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$489
TravelocityUS$489
Priceline
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1738)
Room & Suite (415)
Pool & Beach (194)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 22-05-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Updated 22-05-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#31 of 90 in Scottsdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Immerse yourself in contemporary elegance atThe Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale. Discover the vibrant entertainment, shopping and cultural districts of nearby Old Town Scottsdale, Arizona. Our resort invites you to soak in the splendor of unparalleled resort amenities, from our our three-level pool complex to our enriching spa, athletic club and golf course. Settle into palatial guest rooms, suites or casitas, featuring spacious bathrooms, Italian linens, elegant furnishings and breathtaking Sonora views.
Read more
Property amenities
Public wifi
Personal trainer
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Conference facilities
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Body wrap
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Manicure
Pedicure
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Separate living room
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2974Reviews81Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,835
  • 602
  • 262
  • 140
  • 135
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
travel_monkey426 wrote a review May 17
Shawnee Mission, Kansas11 contributions1 helpful vote
Traveled with my husband and 2 small children to Scottsdale to go somewhere warm for a week. Paid wayyyyy too much for the casita--the amount of space was nice, as was having 2 full bathrooms, but the room was not up to par for the price. Tubs were too deep to bathe a baby in--had to use a bathroom sink instead. "Kitchen" had a great microwave, small stove/oven combo, 3/4 size fridge/freezer combo, decent storage, 3 pans (saucepan, skillet, and a square griddle), and 4 cooking utensils. And some wine glasses. No plates/silverware/bowls/cups. Not sure what the point of a kitchen is without these items as well as usuable cooking vessels/utensils. Main door to the room was a pain to get in and out of while carrying children--it's a double door but opening only one side gives you less than a normal door width to get out of (fun with an infant carrier). Secondary door to our room was in the vestibule of the main bathroom and needs new weather stripping (could see sunlight all the way around it). Bed was fine (daily sheet changes which I appreciate), towels were plentiful, bathroom was clean. Dirty champagne bucket sat across from our room for 3 days before being picked up. Splash pad was acceptable but could use more shade and a good hose down every evening. Closest pool to the splash pad (up a set of stairs) has one small staircase in otherwise just ladders. Might want to consider a zero entry pool with a future renovation to make it more family friendly. Pool service was acceptable but nothing like a 5 diamond resort should be--no one putting out towels on your chairs for you, refilling waters, etc. By 4pm, the pool area has a decent amount of empty cups and straws that haven't been picked up (and there are no trash cans). We ate breakfast daily at Mowry and Cotton. Good food, acceptable prices. Rachel was a fantastic server. Coffee was plentiful. Afternoon tea--need to get a reservation weeks-months early or check back daily for openings. Too involved for my 3 year old, but my mom and I enjoyed it and the food was good and multiple servings of each course were offered. The tea, however, was not strong despite brewing for more than the suggested time--my Indian grandparents would have absolutely sent it back. Spa--I got a facial--bit weird to have 30+ people (men and women) sitting around in the dark while the estheticians go around looking for their client for the hour. Facial was good and she didn't try to upsell me on a ton of things, which I appreciate. Perhaps if you were staying in the main hotel part and did not have children, then the rooms and service would be 5 diamond quality, but I just don't think this resort was worth what we paid. Will not be visiting again. Would go back to the JW Marriott instead.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 2 days ago
Dear travel_monkey426, Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your comments regarding your stay. While we appreciate your positive comments, please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced, and we regret not meeting your expectations. We have shared your concerns with our teams, and we have made adjustments to improve our processes to provide excellent service every stay. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to welcome you back soon for a much-improved experience. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
Steve F wrote a review May 3
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Booked a Casitas suite a month ago. I thought casitas meant something more than Marriott Hotel room with a small patio. Very disappointed. Not a five star experience. I tried to move to another resort near by but they refused to refund my deposit. Terrible customer experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear stevefI4489PS, Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding the room you requested. We do try to honor these requests; however, there are times when we do not have the room unoccupied and available. We understand your frustration, and we truly regret disappointing you. We are committed to providing a comfortable stay with exceptional service, and we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience whenever your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
TrayDC wrote a review May 2
Washington DC, District of Columbia27 contributions36 helpful votes
The resort doesn't seem to be fully staffed and service suffers. The rooms are large and well appointed but very expensive. Our room was $1200 per night (Friday to Sunday reservation) for a double queen bed room that had a view of the driveway (and the related driveway noise). We had no maid service on Saturday despite being out of the room nearly all day. When we called the front desk to inquire they said housekeeping probably hadn't gotten to our room because they are short staffed. Some features at the hotel, such as the fitness center, are new and lovely while other areas, such as the bathrooms near the pools, desperately need an update. There was a large corporate event on the property while we were there, which may explain some of the service challenges, but I recently stayed at the Biltmore on a weekend when it was also at full occupancy and didn't experience the same issues. Another disappointment was that there was no access to the Camelback Mountain hiking trails because of construction. If you want to go hiking you have to get an Uber to take you to an access point about 10 minutes away (no hotel shuttle or ride via a resort vehicle). The food on the property was very good and the drinks at the lobby bar were exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear TrayDC, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for the service issues you experienced and the inconveniences this caused. We will follow up on your concerns with our team to ensure we are more diligent in our efforts going forward. Furthermore, we regret that our accommodations did not provide the value for which you were hoping. As with most cities, certain times of the year are busier and command higher rates; however, we do make every effort to be priced competitively. Meanwhile, your additional comment regarding the need for an update in some areas of our hotel has been noted and shared accordingly. On a positive note, we are glad you savored the delectable food and beverages we serve. We are grateful for your patience and all of your feedback, and we hope you will consider giving us a chance in the future so we can provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
S D wrote a review Apr. 2022
New York City, New York114 contributions58 helpful votes
Nice resort but overcharged at checkout and refused to fix. Added mini bar items to bill and refused to refund shame on you otherwise it was nice experience there with friendly staff at the pool and slow but cool bartenders at the lobby lounge
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear sd9993, Thank you for bringing your billing-related concerns to our attention. I appreciate your patience as I look into the matter with the departments involved so that it may be addressed appropriately. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
Donewithatlantis wrote a review Apr. 2022
Boston, Massachusetts9 contributions22 helpful votes
While a beautiful location, The service was disappointing. If you are there as a paying guest and not part of a convention, prepare to be treated as you don’t matter as much. We called weeks in advance for reservations to restaurants and the spa to be told the restaurants were closed for “private events” and the spa was booked because the convention gave each participant 4 treatments. So much for regular guests. One day we returned to our room and housekeeping never came - we called front desk at 5:30 and they said there would be no more housekeeping that day??? No explanation. We asked for clean towels which came an hour later. We emptied the trash but no one offered to take it or the used linens. Each morning as we walked to breakfast, the pool waste baskets were overflowing with trash from the evening before and unconsumed cocktails were on tables….. we spent over $5000 to stay there and will choose better next time. They go all out for big business but the average guest is pretty meaningless to this hotel. They should just make it a convention center.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Skip it if you want personal service
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Donewithatlantis, Thank you for evaluating your stay at our hotel and for your valued feedback. We sincerely apologize for the concerns you experienced during your stay with us. This is not the level of service we generally provide, and it certainly does not meet our standards. We have shared your comments with our entire team, and we will take the appropriate action to prevent these issues from happening again. Your feedback and also your patience in this matter are much appreciated as we are committed to enhancing our services on all levels. We hope that we will have another occasion to meet your expectations and to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
Weezy718 wrote a review Apr. 2022
1 contribution
On the pros: our family loved this resort. Customer Service was fabulous, the room was nice and big with a comfortable bed and a great view overlooking the pool on the 4th floor. The gym had great equipment plus a Peloton which kept me very happy. On the one con: the mismanaged pool situation. Kevin who worked at the pool was obnoxious, going up to guests and telling them they could only leave their chairs for 30 minutes or else their personal items and towels would be removed. He was doing this even when there were plenty of chairs available. Bothering people to tell them that piece of news which did not make guests very happy. I found that very unprofessional and felt like bullying. They need to figure out a better way to manage that like maybe remove some of the food tables and add more chairs b/c we were there during April spring break and it did get very crowded. Having to first find a chair and then guard it for the entire day really put a damper on a relaxing vacation. Aside from that, we really did enjoy our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: main hotel, 4th floor, pool view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Weezy718, Thank you for choosing The Phoenician and sharing your experience. We are glad your stay was enjoyable, and you were pleased with our comfortable accommodations and the view it offers. It is also good to learn you liked our fitness center and the interactions you had with our associates. However, we are sorry for the behavior of one of our associates. We understand your frustration and will share this with the appropriate individual to improve our service going forward. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
bhojan_chacha wrote a review Apr. 2022
San Jose, California17 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Went to Phoenician with family. Great morning walk , perfect ambiance , pools weren’t too crowded as they had 2-3 different pools with slides , nice bar at pool - great cocktails didn’t get time to play golf but the desert garden is pretty too .. food wise mowary and cotton is expensive but food is so-so . Again it overlooks the pool so it’s definitely pretty.. In fact fact was salty for our liking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear bhojan_chacha, Thank you for choosing The Phoenician for your visit to Scottsdale. We appreciate you mentioning our beautiful grounds and our modern, elegant renovations. We are glad you enjoyed our on-site amenities, and it was a pleasure providing you with a comfortable, relaxing time. However, we are disappointed that some of our epicurean delights did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with our Food and Beverages team. That said, we thank you again for the generous rating, and we hope to be your home every time you visit the area. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
jksilva7 wrote a review Apr. 2022
Reading, Massachusetts6 contributions33 helpful votes
When you book months in advance, confirm your connecting rooms multiple times, take down the names of the people you confirmed with, then arrive so excited only to find out they ignored you, ridiculous! What could be worse? Danny, the manager told us that there is nothing he can do and suggests our kids (11 and 8) stay in their own room “near” us, outright dangerous in my opinion, how can anyone suggest that with a straight face? Well, we have a whole week left, 4 of us crammed into one room since Danny and the Marriott Ambassador Elite team just point fingers at each other instead of making this right!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jason, We deeply regret both your understandable frustration and concern regarding the lack of availability for connecting rooms, which you had arranged prior to your arrival. Unfortunately, there was a miscommunication with your reservation. Please know that this breakdown in information is being addressed. We hope our efforts to make your stay enjoyable nonetheless are accepted with the sincerity in which they are intended. Again, our profound apologies for this inadvertent but quite distressing error. Regards, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
Julie M wrote a review Apr. 2022
1 contribution
We visited over spring break / Easter weekend with our family. The resort is lovely - great grounds, lots of fun activities, good food. The staff made the trip though! Felicia at registration was WONDERFUL (thoughtful, considerate, and funny - especially with our kids) as were Cullen, Savannah, and Jeanne with the kids activities (they remembered our names, were energetic and attentive, and just overall fantastic!). Jaime at the concierge desk was an absolute pro - it’s clear how much she cares and knows about the place, and she won over my very upset son who had face planted on the cement. The people made the trip - thank you to all!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear juliemA12BW, Thank you for your heartwarming review of The Phoenician. It is a pleasure to read you loved our modern property and delicious food combined with the enriching activities we offer. Our associates are dedicated to going the extra mile in taking care of guests, and we appreciate your acknowledgment of their outstanding hospitality. We will certainly share your flattering remarks with our team, particularly Felicia, Cullen, Savannah, Jeanne, and Jaime. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again for another excellent stay, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
DKSF7777 wrote a review Apr. 2022
San Francisco9 contributions20 helpful votes
My husband and I had 3 wonderful nights at the Phoenician. Our casita room was in perfect condition . Plenty of staff and excellent service. We had dinner at the steakhouse and it was wonderful. Plenty of pool chairs. Was nervous given recent reviews but everything was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: We had a fire pit Mountain View casita which is a 5 min walk to main lobby but you can park right...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded Apr. 5, 2022
Dear DKSF7777, Thank you for evaluating your stay at The Phoenician. Nothing is more important than your satisfaction, so we are delighted to know how happy you were with our elegant contemporary accommodations that have been luxuriously renovated. Each room includes the rich tones and warm hues of the surrounding Sonoran Desert, and we love that you could relax and unwind with us. We are further thrilled to read how much you relished the sophisticated menu of our J&G steakhouse - masterfully executed by Executive Chef Jacques Qualin. Thank you again for the perfect rating. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you for another flawless experience. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$527 - US$886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the phoenician, scottsdale hotel scottsdale, phoenician hotel scottsdale, the phoenician hotel scottsdale
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaScottsdale
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Which popular attractions are close to The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Nearby attractions include Arizona Party Bike (3.0 km), Alcatraz Escape Games (7.5 km), and Mavrix (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include conference facilities, express check-in and check-out, and a coffee shop.
Which room amenities are available at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frost A Gelato Shoppe, Cafe Monarch, and Franco's Italian Caffe.
Are there any historical sites close to The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wrigley Mansion (7.1 km), Cosanti (6.8 km), and Old Adobe Mission (3.0 km).
Does The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.