Tallpine Lodges

Tallpine Lodges

800 West Hawk Blvd., West Hawk Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park, Manitoba R0E 2H0 Canada
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (2)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 lodge in West Hawk Lake
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bicycle rental
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

800 West Hawk Blvd., West Hawk Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park, Manitoba R0E 2H0 Canada
54Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 16
  • 3
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michelle L wrote a review Mar 2020
Winnipeg, Canada972 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Superior Chalet 6 at this fabulous Couples Only Resort and had a wonderful escape from the city.

The Tall Pines everywhere, the peaceful nights, the wildlife, the fresh air all add to the perfect atmosphere for rest, time with your loved one, and cell phone detoxing.

Sasha & TJ are amazing and welcoming
The chalets have info booklets to locate nearby hiking trails or dining options.

Chalet 6 has had some upgrades since we last stayed in it. Love the renovations and modernist yet wilderness feel to the open space.
The dining table is a must see work of art.
The kitchen and living room have a clean open atmosphere.
The carpet on the floor/walls around the hot tub has been removed and is hardwood - such a clean and refreshing feeling to soaking in the hot tub - LOVE IT
The bathroom has a full size shower since the Sauna was relocated to its own space near the hot tub.

This is definitely one of my favourite Superior Chalets

Until next time, thank you for a wonderful stay
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sacha Harder, General Manager at Tallpine Lodges
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thanks for the review!!! Yes cabin 6 is beautiful and all the furniture is Manitoba made!!! We hope to get through all the cabins over the next few years!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manny wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tallpine Lodges - Your Romantic Getaway in the Whiteshell
Summary
4.6
Excellent
132 reviews
What guests are saying
"West Hawk is a great little town with delicious food, ice cream, coffee nearby."
"Great place great staff really went the extra mile!!"
"The cabins themselves are very nice, an awesome size for two people."
More
Reviews

Search reviews
People often mention

Manny Fran
5/5
24 minutes ago on Google
My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Tall Pines 26 yrs ago. And 26 yrs later, we are still coming here. The newer owners (7yrs)are great. Looks like they are really upkeeping the facilities. New pool repairs and pool liners. Flat screens on pull out swivel wall mounts. All the channels to watch the playoffs. Dehumidifiers. Merchandising. Personal water crafts for rent as well as canoes and bikes. Close to some great hiking trails. Wife and I always hit Kenora(30 min away) for some shopping and the farmers market on the Wednesdays. Jetted hot tub every night as we as bbq suppers. What more could u want. Oh yeah, 3 ice cream shops within walking distance as well as 2 burger shops and a restaurant for when you'd rather not cook. Plus Gorgeous Falcon golf course is minutes away. Deer and other wildlife
regularly visit. This year with covid we are staying close to home and are booked 2x. Once in August for our anniversary and in November for my bday. Highly recommend u check it out. Oh yeah, as an interracial couple, we have always felt welcome, both by the resort as well as the local shops and communities. Enjoy
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sacha Harder, General Manager at Tallpine Lodges
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thanks guys!!! See you in November!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SLBL87 wrote a review May 2020
Winnipeg, Canada10 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 3rd visit to Tallpine and we had the best time ever. Sacha was great to chat with at check-in, picked up our bath bombs for the hot tub and off we went. Cabin was super clean, well equipped, comfy beds with great pillows. We were in Chalet King #1. We prefer this one as its at the end of the horseshoe so you only have one neighbour and nobody drives past your cabin. It’s close enough that you can walk to the beach, the restaurants or the corner store.
We took a short drive to Falcon Lake Golf Course and had a great time doing 18 holes.
You can sit on the front deck and have the deer come and eat right out of your hand.
The private deck at the back of the cabin is one of our favourite features, it is secluded and peaceful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sacha Harder, General Manager at Tallpine Lodges
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thanks for coming!!! Hope to see you again soon!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dunn wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent two nights at Tallpine lodges cabin 11 and was enjoying myself until late the first night when sitting in the jacuzzi tub an ant crawled out of a hole in the tub. Sufficiently grossed out that ended the rest of the use of the tub for us. Over the next day and a half we proceeded to find numerous ants crawling throughout the cabin. When I called to inform them her response was "yeah we get those sometimes" so clearly this is a known issue they haven't dealt with. I might have been more understanding if this was summer but in -29 weather I wouldn't expect to have to stay in a cabin crawling with bugs. They offered to spray the cabin but we didn't want to have to sit in a stinky chemical smell for the remainder of our stay so I advised they should do so after we left. When checking out no apologies or offers of discounts were made only a joking comment that they would "have to see what's crawling around in there". I'm not an overly picky person but if you know you have a bug problem you should deal with it before you rent it out to people. When I pay good money for a cabin I expect it to be clean and not have to worry about bring bugs home to our house or having to put all our food away so bugs don't get into it. Highly disappointed and would have been more understanding if it wasn't clear the staff didn't care about the issue.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sacha Harder, General Manager at Tallpine Lodges
Responded Feb 8, 2021
You brought up your concern late the second night, if there was an issue the first night the best thing to do is bring it up right away so we can take care of the issue. When you did call late the second night we offered to come right away and take care of the issue. You refused, and stated you just wanted to let us know.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
parisa1978 wrote a review Jun 2020
Winnipeg, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me & My husband were very excited to go there , we booked 2 weeks in advance . First of all we didn’t not receive any email confirmation from them but we just didn’t make a big deal . We arrived Sunday there to check in first of all they had hard time understanding my name and after 10 times spelling for them the guy said no sorry I can’t find your name here ,and then he called another person finally they found by our credit card that we already paid in full . And then she said your email bounced and then I found out that she got my email wrong . And then she said no you guys booked for the 28 of June not the 21 of June which they completely messed up our booking . And then she said ok we are going to give another cabin .finally we checked in and as soon as we got inside the cabin. Omg smelled very bad and the furniture and bed sheets were 100 years old and stinky very small cabin and our views was a monster truck parked just behind our window and already were hundreds mosquitoes inside the room and no soups in the shower and the water was getting cold anytime you opened for few minutes and we paid $ 200.00 for one night plus tax .
That’s the worst experience that we had staying in a cabin and I forgot to mention that the staffs were extremely rude and unprofessional . I would not recommend this place to anyone .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sacha Harder, General Manager at Tallpine Lodges
Responded Jul 13, 2020
Hi Parisa, sorry you had an unpleasant experience. As mentioned to you while you were in our office, when a person makes a booking we repeat the dates back to you to ensure we have the correct dates. Our staff that booked your in did mention to me that you were visibly (you booked in person) incoherent/intoxicated when you made the booking and she had concerns. She also stated that she repeated the dates and your email address back to you more then once as you were slurring your words, and looked disheveled. I chatted to you guys after you checked in, everything was great and wonderful, and life was good.... If you leave your door wide open, mosquitos will get in. Cabin resorts do not generally provide shampoo and conditioner, you would be looking for a hotel. All our cabins have 2 hot water tanks, which provide more then enough hot water, and were working before and after your left. And I'm sorry you thought we were rude and unprofessional, I thought we remained very calm when you were demanding a discount for a mistake that we did not make. And by they way, you left our cabin in quite a disappointing state, took our cleaner twice as long as normal to clean it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kailey S wrote a review Dec 2020
Emo, Canada11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
10/10 would recommend this resort to family and friends! When we got there we were greeted by the really friendly front desk lady! Went to our cabin and we had got the romantic package that included chocolates, white wine, rose pedals on the bed, candles, and bath products! (I would recommend getting the package... or buy the green bath salt “bamboo” something or other it makes bubbles and smells fantastic!) Peaceful, relaxing, & secluded! The cabin was really clean, bed was like a cloud, pillows were amazing. Only cons were myself not looking into the amenities and realizing they hadn’t an oven, just a stove top. We just used the BBQ and it wasn’t a big deal overall! And there wasn’t really a spot to put our boots kinda just kept putting them outside or tripping over them when cooking lol... but that was pretty minor. If I was giving advice, pack a robe for the sauna and jacuzzi, bring aluminum foil, bring bbq friendly cookware, and get the romantic package! Worth it! Thanks for the memorable and enjoyable time! We will be back for sure in the new year!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sacha Harder, General Manager at Tallpine Lodges
Responded Feb 8, 2021
Hi Kailey, thanks for the review!! Glad you guys enjoyed yourselves! The fact the cabins only have a stove top and no oven is often missed. I need to figure out a way to make people more aware of that. It is mentioned in the cabin description! But I will figure out a away to make sure guest are more aware!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim B wrote a review Aug 2021
Winnipeg, Canada94 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Decided to try this place based on a recommendation from a couple friends and are happy we did. My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights in Superior Chalet 6 and we were not disappointed. This is a newly renovated cabin and it was beautiful! I’ve seen pictures of the non renovated cabins and I can’t say for sure that I would have given a 5 star if we were in a non removed cabin. The check in was quick and the girl was super friendly and helpful. The owners 2 dogs and cat generally greet you as well. It’s adults only, quiet and peaceful but within a couple min walk down to the beach and ice cream stand. There is a pool, shuffle board and horseshoes to keep you occupied. We just enjoyed sitting on the deck playing board games and then watching the football game on the satellite tv. The kitchen has everything you need to create full meals (I just wish the stovetop had an exhaust vent)
The bed is super comfy and the jacuzzi is plenty large enough for a “plump couple”
The deer will come right up to your deck and greet you while your sitting outside as well.
Loved our time here and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WinnipegRocky wrote a review Aug 2020
Winnipeg34 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I try to get out to Tallpine Lodges at least once a year, if not more. It is our little getaway place in Manitoba. The owners are always very accommodating and friendly and the service is second to none. We love the privacy and seclusion of Tallpine Lodges. It is close enough to West Hawk that you can walk to get ice cream or snacks, but secluded enough to offer privacy. We also enjoy communing with nature. The deer come around to visit and are a wonderful addition to our getaway. We look forward to coming back again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sacha Harder, General Manager at Tallpine Lodges
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thanks WinnipegRocky!! The deer are always a guest favorite!! Thanks for coming as often as you do!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ed wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from spending two relaxing days in Unit 11 at Tall Pines. Check in was a breeze. The unit itself was very clean and contained everything one needs. The unit contains a two person jacuzzi, sauna and an electric fireplace for added comfort. We decided to eat in both days and made use of the gas BBQ. Each morning, we were visited by friendly deer, who will eat right out of your hand. We highly recommend Tall Pines to any couple who is looking for relaxing solitude and cozy comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
setter_11 wrote a review Feb 2021
Winnipeg, Canada28 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from a 3 night stay in cabin 11 for our wedding anniversary.
Such an amazing place. Clean, quiet and staff couldn’t have been more friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. There is lots to do in the area even in the winter. Hiking and cross country skiing followed by a steak supper and jacuzzi tub/sauna while watching Jets game is all I could have ever wanted in a winter get away. The deer are a definite bonus. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sacha Harder, General Manager at Tallpine Lodges
Responded Feb 8, 2021
So glad you guys enjoyed yourself!! And what better way to watch the jets game then while sitting in a jacuzzi tub!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet P asked a question Aug 2018
Winkler, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
Are there any cabins available for Sept 18th -22nd?
BetsJane wrote a tip Sep 2016
75 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look on their website for different cabin options"
Read full review
Indra K wrote a tip Aug 2016
5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cabins further from the road are quieter (lots of cabin/cottage traffic)."
Read full review
Mike B wrote a tip Jul 2014
Steinbach, Canada9 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for the $150 room!"
Read full review
Neil J wrote a tip Feb 2014
Morris, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spend the little bit extra to upgrade your cabin if you can, and the rentals seem expensive, but are COMPLETELY worth it!"
Read full review
CCpeg wrote a tip Feb 2013
Winnipeg19 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Deluxe cabin are the best. They have a larger hot tub then the basic studio cabin and do not cost that much more. Well worth it."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the West Hawk Lake area.
LOCATION
CanadaManitobaWhiteshell Provincial ParkWest Hawk Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Tallpine Lodges - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Tallpine Lodges
Which popular attractions are close to Tallpine Lodges?
Nearby attractions include McGillivray Falls Self-guiding Trail (7.8 km) and Mantario Trail (6.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tallpine Lodges?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Tallpine Lodges?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tallpine Lodges?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Tallpine Lodges?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tallpine Lodges?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nite Hawk Cafe, Hi-Point Restaurant and Lounge, and Meteor Mike's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tallpine Lodges?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Tallpine Lodges located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of West Hawk Lake.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars