We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Show Prices
#31 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe\/mesa\/phoenix Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 625: English reviews
Buena Park, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have stayed here multiple times, always clean and quite. Great room for the price. We will stay here every time we visit the area

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelabE1829DP
Green Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was traveling with my 1 1/2 year old son, requested a baby crib when reserved the hotel online and it was not available at check in. Had to buy one so my kid had a place to sleep. No effort to find me one. Horrible customer service, no kids friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M1456OScarlosp
627kurtism, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I had heard about a short in availability for cribs over the weekend, I sincerely apologize we didn't have one available for you though we can accommodate our guests with them subject to availability. My staff had informed me that they give an effort to find an available crib though found them all to be...

York, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were staying at Hawthorne Suites because it is the closest hotel to Friendship Village where my parents reside. Even at peak season (January) it was very reasonably priced. Upscale hotels were at least twice what we paid. We were there for 5 days/nights. Two of the 5 days our room wasn't cleaned, towels weren't exchanged. I didn't report it...

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingmama2017
627kurtism, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I would like yo let you know that we will be replacing our carpets, couches and lounge chairs for all of our suites! This will be a nice touch coming soon to our property. Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit!

Orland Park, Illinois
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for three nights and started out in Room 318, then 316. Pros: -Spacious rooms -Comfortable beds and pillows -Hotel does have fitness center - nothing special but typical of hotel -Head east to get a better selection of restaurants on Southern and Baseline Road -Desk clerks are friendly but young - African American girl who checked me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quiet_Night
627kurtism, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your comments and will take everything you mentioned into consideration so we may better our service and the experience we sell to our guests. Thank you so much for your comments!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I travel often for business and pleasure, and his was a quick over night to take my son back to college. The room was quite large and for an extended business stay, it would be quite nice as the kitchen type facilities in the room were quite nice. The bathroom was clean and towels were ample in quantity. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
627kurtism, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! These are the comments I can appreciate most so we may better our service and the experience to our guests. Your items listed have been noted and acted on for the departments necessary. Thank you so much for your comments!

Cottonwood
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only problem with this stay is that the breakfast had some things wrong at first, but my mention of it caused it to be fixed. I explained (in Spanish) to a young lady in charge of breakfast that the bacon was not really done, and she took it out and cooked it more, and all was well.

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence K
627kurtism, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Pomona
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here 1 night while visiting my Grandma from California. The place was great, the room was nice and big and breakfast was good too! My only complaint is the short curly black hairs that I found while laying on one of the beds and in the shower. That type of thing in hotels REALLY grosses me out!! I...

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline P
627kurtism, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback! We've made some improvements by adding hash browns and a better quality sausage, we're glad people are enjoying it! As for the hair in Housekeeping I will make a note to my staff about this, this kind of occurrence is very uncommon though I appreciate your comments so we may better the experience for our...

Kettering, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am a Diamond Member in Wyndham Rewards, but until this pair of stays I have never stayed in a Hawthorn Suites property. I have very mixed feeling about my stay. I was able to get a good rate, so I have to be a little more generous than if I had paid a lot more. I had two stays...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SenseIntoDollars
627kurtism, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

thank you so much for your feedback! Comments like these are always most valuable so that we may increase our service and quality of our property. Soon we will be adding new carpet throughout the entire hotel and new couches for every suite. This will be a nice touch coming soon to our property. Thank you for your comments!

South Haven, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stan P
627kurtism, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second stay here, the first for pleasure and the second for business. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. The one and only issue I had occurred with both stays - I requested and received a late checkout, but the housekeeping staff (evidently) was not informed and knocked on my door to clean far earlier than I expected....

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nits66
627kurtism, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy you found our staff friendly and accommodating! I'll make a note for my staff to have better communication about requests for late checkouts so our guest's won't have to experience as you did. Thank you again for your comments!

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
7.3 km away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
6.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
6.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#27 of 48 in Tempe
118 reviews
2.5 km away
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
6.8 km away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Address: 2301 E Southern Ave, Tempe, AZ 85282-7637 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tempe, Arizona

if you had prior knowledge that the cab wasn't doing a deal, why would you take it? At that point it's your fault. And ultimately your responsibility. My family has stayed at this hotel many times. and recently met the girl at the front desk your review givers the wrong impression of her. in fact i was in line when you came. i remember specifically because of your nasty attitude toward the girl.. and asked the kind man next to her who was helping us not to put my family next to you. Taking the first cab was your decision to make. You should have called the hotel to verify the cab company. You had demanded she pay the difference for your incompetence. I'm surprised she was so calm and reserved. Next time I'd pay a little more attention to your actions if i were you.

On a good note: unfortunately i had booked my room with the hawthorn in chandler by mistake. The man helping me Chris i believe was helpful in making a new reservation and even called the other hotel to confirm that my friends reservation was made there. The girl Jordyn? i believe the other receptionist was quick to give her apologies for the scene the lady has caused.overall it was a hectic morning but the attentiveness of the receptionist made it a little easier to bare. I enjoy this hotel and the staff.

I had read the reviews regarding "the smokers section" yes this is a non smoking hotel. Smoking is not allowed in side the rooms or building. However you can smoke out front. Many guests do live here due to their own personal life's ranging from flooded house, sick family, hard times...ect But they are far from"Sketchy" Very social in a good way. welcome you in and out and also do their part to keep this hotel clean. (they aren't messy) They are good people in rough situations

over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you get a couch.”
 of 5 bubbles SenseIntoDollars, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from AZ101”
 of 5 bubbles PhillyPhan46, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room not facing the freeway. Too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles LAURIEWHI, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the third floor suite on the even side overlooks the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles annonymously366i, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps the northwest corner of the hotel would be quieter. I was on the east side by a busy street, but it didn't bother me.”
 of 5 bubbles rskinner2016, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay