We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bird In Hand Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bird In Hand Country Inn
The Bird In Hand Country Inn
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 362: English reviews
Bucks
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Building works ongoing at present so it appears shut-but is not Ate in bar -cheerful staff- Real ales good. Tried pie of the day-which was steak and ale-but at least it was proper pastry-not that awful pie topping added the chef from a pre match batch chips very good. veg over cooked-not enticing. not crowded, pleasant ambience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChilternRugby
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Others have already commented that the change of ownership in November 2016 to Wadsworth has produced a lower quality offering of which I would concur. Cafeterie coffee replaced with weak machine offering - not advised when order placed. Chicken & bacon baguette at £6.95 of very average quality with a slice of chicken and a couple small chunks of bacon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alhambra01
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

good food, comfortable rooms and good value for money, ideally situated for work with ample free parking. Was having some refurbishment done, but in no way affected the quality of the stay. would visit again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z8394BKlarryh
Management response:

Thank you for your positive response. We are pleased to hear that the current works did not interrupt your stay. Hopefully you will be able to join us again after the works are complete. Kind Regards, Bess

Portishead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The ambiance in this place is very cozy and romantic, and there is a log fire. The standard of service is good and relaxed. The menu is very varied, and I can recomend the steak, it is not cheap, but also offers accomadation. It is probably the best pub in the area, and the accomadation is exquisite, but take your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garylomas
Management response:

Hi Gary, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience, we do try and keep our pricing competitive within the local market. Our log fire will be going for a a little while yet, so hopefully we will see you back to enjoy it again before the Summer...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight on a Friday before attending an event the next day. Stayed on dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Breakfast good, dinner alright. Thought £70 a head was a too much for the quality of the place at present. Very quiet, we were only residents as far as we could tell. A handful of locals in the pub up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186Steve
Management response:

Hi Steve, Thank you for your recent review. We are currently a bit quieter at the moment due to the renovations we have less room availability. We are always looking to improve on our menu so have taken your comments on board. We hope you will join us again another time when you get to enjoy the new refurbishments. Kind...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The last time we went here the reception from a member of staff was anything but inviting,we didn't stay ,so it was with some trepidation we booked for Sunday lunch ,what a difference today,the staff were very friendly and the meal was superb . Thank you Bird in Hand

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilarytj
Management response:

Thank you Hilary for your review. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience in the past however are pleased that our team have restored your faith. We hope you will return soon. Many Thanks, Bess

Shurlock Row, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used to go to the BiH frequently and for some reason it fell off the map for us and it was only this week that we remembered that we hadn't been for some while, so it was off to Sunday lunch in the restaurant. As remembered the meal was excellent and we had a roast chicken and a roast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luemoo
Management response:

Thank you for you lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we hope to see you back soon. Just to confirm for you the Ice-Cream is "Jude's" :) Kind Regards, Bess

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very nice location old style place room was very basic door did not seem secure very flimsy lock, bar area nice dinner service bit disjointed not sure if staff coma and take order or you have to go to bar and order. cooked breakfast was ok but the menu read real nice for continental but alas was barren of 70%...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank garykP1245EM
Management response:

Hi Gary, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are a traditional pub and all food and drinks orders are done at the bar. We are also starting refurbishment works on the 30th January, where we will be updating 15 bedrooms and all public areas. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your breakfast with us....

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch with friends. Very quiet only two other tables occupied, but it was Monday lunchtime. Comfy chairs , cosy log fire, big parking area easily accessible on the A4. Good pub food, reasonably varied menu, most mains dishes priced at £11.95 which is not bad but portions could be a bit larger for the price with additional vegetables....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73GP
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable lunch and I've taken notes about your comments about the portion size. We will be reviewing our menu soon and will discuss portion sizes at the same time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jurgens Nienaber

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Popped in for an early dinner. We were the only people in the bar and they told us that they could not put any music on, so we sat in an otherwise silent bar. We could hear the bar staff chatting and they could hear us - a bit off putting. Only had Wadworth on draft, good beer but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SBBry
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are now a Managed House, under Wadworth and as such, we have all their Ales on Draught. We are planning a refurbishment at the end of January when the issues above will be dealt with. If you have any other concerns, do not hesitate to contact me for assistance....

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Luxury Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard Double (31)
Viewed
Standard Twin (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Windsor Suite (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowl Hill
11.6 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
890 reviews
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
10.5 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
177 reviews
5.3 km away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
192 reviews
0.3 km away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 2 in Knowl Hill
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Bird In Hand Country Inn

Address: Bath Road, Knowl Hill, Maidenhead RG10 9UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead > Knowl Hill
Price Range: $159 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bird In Hand Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Bird In Hand Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird In Hand Country Hotel Reading
Reading Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bird In Hand Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bird In Hand Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are romantic and steeped in history...”
 of 5 bubbles garylomas, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for any re-furbished room until all done.”
 of 5 bubbles 186Steve, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They offer some very nice rooms, for instance some friends stayed in the Robin room, they said it was very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 181tinab, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The suites are very nice and have air conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles luvdogs703, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 fab family room. The George the third suite is fantastic for couples or special occasions”
 of 5 bubbles cathymc76, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5