We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Greens Cottage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valparai
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Bangalore
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Valparaiso tourism is still not as developed as ooty or coonoor. having said that, most places to stay are tourist homes or regular hotels. Greens cottage comes up as specialty stay/resort so decided to check out. Location is good.. Close to sholayar dam. however it is hardly a resort. Basic rooms and basic service. Also safety and security is a...

 Report
Helpful?
22Thank gdyru
Bangalore
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Greens Cottage is nothing but a Workman's settlement building. Asbestos roof, no parking space. It is not inside jungle as the management claims it to be. Theoretically it may be inside the Forest area, but is a makeshift building adjacent to Athirappally - Valparai Road near Sholayar Dam. A temporary building by the side of the road where buses ply....

 Report
Helpful?
18Thank SKB_Nair
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have has great experiances with home stays and resorts recommended by trip Advisor. I am totally disappointed with Greens Cottage. This place is good if you are a bunch of bachelors, certainly not good for a family. 1. The place of stay is like a make shift arrangement. The building is not concrete casted, ceiling is asbestos/ plastic sheet....

 Report
Helpful?
27Thank Abhilashvk123
GreensCottage, Guest Relations Manager at Greens Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Abhilash, It is so sad that for your misconceptions you are blaming a good property like Greens Cottage!. All the informations regarding the facilities and amenities were well in advanced passed and informed. We did our best to help and serve you but sad that you have come up with a review like this. Hope you will change...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 13 March 2013

After having a bad experience at Cotsvilla, near Topslip, we headed to The Green's cottage at Valaprai. We were very happy for the service we received. The place is on the main road, yet it is difficult to spot, as they do not have any sign boards. The rooms, the dining portion and the kitchen are very well maintained. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank asksharan
kochi
Reviewed 3 February 2013

thought this is going to be a shabby place when my friend told me that he has booked a cottage at malakkappara...but to my surprise it was a well furnished, spacious and clean place with people to help us with our food etc, which was even better...so, what i feel is that this place, for people like us who have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ajukochi
dubai
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed many times and found the atmosphere cool, relaxing and calm. In Fort Kochi slang , its a 'cool place'. They will arrange the food if you order in advance and also there are nature tours. Valparai is just 20 Kms away..

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Davis_Xavier
cochin
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I had booked Greens Cottage for three nights from 10 NOV 12, as I was impressed be the descriptions, pictures, feedbacks on Trip Advisor etc. and paid 50% as advance. But once we reached there... it was really not worth anything but a workmens' settlement like building. A road side building not even wihout own parking area! not at all...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank zernaz
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 11 November 2012

It is just an average place . We went to book this property purely based on Trip advisor reviews-but was totally disappointed . We reached the place in the night . Only BSNL mobile has got range in this area and both of us do not use BSNL . so there was no way we could reach the cottage to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank mraj_12
Alappuzha, India
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It is indeed a good place, reasonably priced for one to just relax, relax and relax. The amenities and facilities are minimum but wont affect or distract you. the views are just amazing, the air is just fresh, and the mix matched music of the rain, wind, the birds.... just soothing. So nice a place.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JKPalackal
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 24 September 2012

it was an amazing experience for us. Only jungle and us. We enjoyed a lot. The jungle safari was too good. We enjoyed the nature sounds in the night. It was beyond words. The mountain view from their was so good. Thanks greens cottage for the wonderful night.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Selma J

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparai
0.0 km away
Hotel Saravana Grand
Hotel Saravana Grand
#1 of 2 in Valparai
14 reviews
0.0 km away
Coco Lagoon by Great Mount Resort
0.0 km away
Briar Tea Bungalows - Valparai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Holiday Break
Hotel Holiday Break
#7 of 15 in Valparai
39 reviews
0.0 km away
Petra Family Guest House
Petra Family Guest House
#1 of 15 in Valparai
43 reviews
0.0 km away
Serenity Guest House
Serenity Guest House
#3 of 9 in Pollachi
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Greens Cottage

Address: Door No: 17 / 1214 Sholayar Nagar, Valparai, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Valparai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Greens Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Families - Stay away from this place. No Security. Bachelors - If you are ready to shell out the asking price, you may be able to enjoy this place.”
 of 5 bubbles SKB_Nair, 20 Dec 2013 | Read review
“There are just 3 bedrooms and suggest to take the front room which is near to the main door.”
 of 5 bubbles Davis_Xavier, 18 Jan 2013 | Read review
“The place is far off from Valparai and below average a property.”
 of 5 bubbles zernaz, 2 Dec 2012 | Read review
“No Tips as only 3 rooms to choose from”
 of 5 bubbles mraj_12, 11 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Best Option for Sholayar, Athirappilly and or Valparai.”
 of 5 bubbles DEC26IN, 22 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5