We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle de la Playa Barrio Xetioy, San Antonio Palopo 07012 Guatemala
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20-06-16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Nuestro Sueno
Updated 20-06-16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio Palopo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Nuestro Sueno, a boutique hotel offering services and personal care rarely found on Lake Atitlan or anywhere in Central America. The Hotel features: Jacuzzi for 8, steam-room for 4, dry sauna for 4, guided tours, museum, crafts, and memorable dining. All rooms have working wood burning fireplaces and unsurpassed views of the lake, local community and our world famous group of volcanos. Each afternoon you can enjoy magnificent sunsets while listening to waves lapping the shore. Close your eyes, and transcend back to Mayan times... little has changed on Lake Atitlan, other than now… you are there. Come and be pampered.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
53Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 5
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Nilsa G wrote a review Sep. 2019
West Palm Beach, Florida2 contributions
This was my first time traveling to Guatemala. I was worried of where to stay, but this hotel was recommended to me and I'm glad I stayed there. I enjoyed the breathtaking views from the hotel. Surrounded by the Atitlan lake and mountains. The hotel was nice but what really made an impression to me was the family atmosphere. The hotel is owned by Mr. Richard and his wife Ms. Sonia. They exceeded beyond basic hospitality. The hotel has a restaurant and the food was good as well as the service. I recommend this hotel to any that will be visiting the area. This without a doubt won't be my last time there.The weather was Perfect!!!! Nos vemos pronto. Walter & Nilsa
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from ricardochapin, Owner at Hotel Nuestro Sueno
Responded Oct. 31, 2019
Thank you very much for your kind thoughts and words... we always say and know it to be true that "... Good guests make a great experience for all"... We hope you can return, and please, tell your friends what you liked and even what you might have not liked... You can always contact us with other questions about the region, and world travel in general... Peace and Pulchritude.... Richard and Sonia
Read more
Letibiz wrote a review Mar. 2019
Ibiza5 contributions
We , as in all members of the family, including a 15 years old boy and an 11 years old girl, were blown away by the Atitlan experience ... staying in nurseries sueño help so much ... guided by Sonia and Richard s local tricks and tips, his fascinating stories about the community, Guatemala the world and life in general !!! Hi hank you all for your hospitality ( the girls too of course and the doggies ) , a home away from home just as we wished for ...Breathtaking views, the best village to stay in Atitlan, not too touristy compared to others , still lovely local people ... we re still feeding from our memories . Just go and stay there !!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from ricardochapin, Owner at Hotel Nuestro Sueno
Responded Mar. 23, 2019
We sincerely thank you for your kind words, we love being appreciated, and more over, we enjoyed having you and the family here with us in our little corner of paradise. Our maxim is " ... Great guests, makes for fantastic experiences for all..." you helped fulfill "Our Dream" of "Hotel Nuestro Sueno". thank you...
Read more
DavidMcCormick wrote a review Feb. 2019
Chemainus, Canada117 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
I was in San Antonio Palopó, staying in a nearby hotel, with a group of fellow Rotarians, here to do some work with the local Directiva, building houses, buying gas stoves and paying toward a nutritional supplement for kids. We stay in a different hotel, because we always have used the same one. However, this year some of us decided to try Nestor Sueno for lunch. It was obvious from the chicken soup I tried, it was far from typical food. We went back and at the suggestion of host, Ricardo, I had Pupusas, well, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Our whole group had two meals, for which we asked for a special menu. On both occasions Sonia and Ricardo excelled. Five courses with appropriate wine, all perfectly prepared and beautifully served. We all agreed it was one of the best meals we had ever eaten. I can not recommend this hotel enough, we were shown around the rooms, although never stayed there, but the care and preparation of the food would indicate the stay would be excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ricardochapin, Owner at Hotel Nuestro Sueno
Responded Feb. 13, 2019
Good day David... we thank you for the kind words... it is always nice to be appreciated... we look forward to the return of you and your friends, or anyone else from your dedicated group doing great work and having very positive effects within our local indigenous community... Good people, do good things, and are GREAT guests, even if only for dinner... Sincerely, Ricardo, Sonia, Cessi, "Chocolate" and the gang...
Read more
pilou13 wrote a review Nov. 2018
france-usa378 contributions34 helpful votes
Great place own by a couple... great food, very clean, excellent prices and localization is perfect, on the lake. If you have to stay in SA, I recommend this place. You can find very nice ceramics all around and you can take the lanchas for Pana just below the hotel. Remember.. To reach Pana, take a pick up for 3QZ!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from ricardochapin, Owner at Hotel Nuestro Sueno
Responded Nov. 25, 2018
Thank you for your kind comments... Good Guests make for a great time for all... Peace and Pulchritude... Richard and Sonia
Read more
Sjtgemini wrote a review Sep. 2018
Banff, Canada77 contributions16 helpful votes
Location: Nice view of the lake. Very isolated from the main tourism areas with very limited shops for groceries, restaurants, amenities for tourists etc. Hotel lists there is a beach nearby which we did not see, perhaps they mean the lake as there was definitely no sand. It was extremely loud from the early hours of the morning from the surrounding residential area I.e children screaming, cars beeping their horns, obnoxious music etc. Check in: Not the most welcoming check in. No greeting or friendly opener which made us feel a bit uncomfortable. We were shown to our room and then more or less left to our own devices. Facilities: We asked the young Spanish speaking girl about the gym that was advertised and she more or less said there wasn’t one but after asking the American owner about the gym he confirmed there was one but it wasn’t in the best shape. He was not lying, the equipment was covered in dust and half of it was broken and not fit for use. Next to the gym equipment was the pool which was dark and stagnant, we decided against using it as it didn’t look fit for use. There is no coffee shop (also advertised) but you can ask them to make you a coffee. There is one restaurant (not 2 as advertised) with a very limited menu, they were missing a few items but we had to eat here every day as there was no other restaurants in the area other than a single ceviche food stand. Although the food was fine they were very slow at making it, at least an hour each time and the meals were overpriced when you compare it to the quality received in other Guatemalan locations. Additional information: Wifi was tedious, didn’t work at all in our room so we had to sit downstairs to use it and even then it constantly cut in and out. The room was clean although the bathroom was very run down. The shower taps were pipe valves and there was a pubic hair left on one of the bars of soap left by the sink from God knows when. It felt like we were unwelcome guests at someone’s home. When we wanted to lounge in the common area we got the impression that they didn’t want us there. It felt like because it was no longer peak season less care was made to keep in the hotel in good condition but there is no excuse to have stale popcorn in a machine in the lobby area or to leave rubbish inside the fire pit regardless of how many guests you have visiting your establishment. Although the owner was friendly when we seen him, this didn’t take away our feelings of disappointment for what we received as guests based on the hotel that was advertised. We eagerly awaited check out, if we had the budget to leave earlier and find alternative accommodation we would have done so. Finally we booked transport through the hotel. When we tried to pay at the reception we were told to just the pay the driver instead. Not even 5 minutes into the drive with two family members of the hotel sat in the back our shuttle we were stopped and told to pay Q55 more than what was we had been quoted at the hotel. At this no point we had no other choice but to agree to pay more otherwise we wouldn’t have been left stranded but at least the family members got a free ride to Panajachel at our expense. It was a shame to have a bad experience when we looked forward to visiting the lake. We are not high maintenance people but this hotel does not match up to how it’s described at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ricardochapin, Owner at Hotel Nuestro Sueno
Responded Sep. 2, 2018
It is difficult to even comment, since your name and reservation don't appear on our guest list and thus can't say through whom you made your reservation, if at all... The belittled lack of shops and other activities are exactly right... We are a family area, where the joys of the sounds of children instill fulfillment, sadly not what you sought, but perhaps you should research your choices better. Had you either spoke with me upon your arrival or any time during your claimed stay, any issue could/would have been addressed. For those that seek the family treatment and close ties, they find that here as can be attested by other reviews, Again, instead of shopping for a killer low price, buy what you are seeking, rather than complain when you get what you bought... Had you made an advanced reservation you would have been contacted and notified that the pool area and exercise equipment were not available. As to there being pubic hair on a bar of soap??? Since it is custom and policy to remove all articles and replace with new, it is hard to imagine, but errors might have occurred (did you really examine the referenced hair sample as to be able to attest its origin???). As to the internet/wifi being "spotty"????, yes, we lament the same, but in the more remote areas of Guatemala, this is the reality with which one must deal and survive. Though, I should add that as bad as it might be at times Clearly you were not happy, but I imagine it all stemmed from the location which was not to your expectations, and then your pain sought additional reinforcement for the slight that you initially felt. We are sorry for you for that. Again, had you spoke to me at any time, there could have been resolution... I or my wife are ALWAYS available, since we live on sight, and when there are registered guest, one of us is present in the facility. Again, since we can't confirm when you had your reservation or through whom you made it, it is difficult to answer to what by comparison would be considered spurious condemnation, but which were probably made in good faith and with heartfelt pain from lake of fulfillment. Instead of being obscure on an opinion page, we would welcome your contact directly so that we might have a direct dialogue with you and thus be able to properly address each issue that compelled you to post on this sight.
Read more
Previous
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$35 - US$67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GuatemalaWestern HighlandsSolola DepartmentLake AtitlanSan Antonio Palopo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Nuestro Sueno
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Nuestro Sueno?
Nearby attractions include Lago de Atitlán (7.3 km), Church of St Francis (7.1 km), and La Galeria (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Nuestro Sueno?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Nuestro Sueno?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Nuestro Sueno?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crossroads Cafe, Cafe Loco, and Deli Jasmin.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Nuestro Sueno?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Nuestro Sueno have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Nuestro Sueno offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Nuestro Sueno?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Nuestro Sueno offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Nuestro Sueno?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Hotel Nuestro Sueno accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.