Garryvoe Hotel

Garryvoe Hotel

Traveller (373)
Seafood platter in the bar
Dining (59)
A Standard Room
Room & Suite (59)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Garryvoe
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Garryvoe Hotel is a 4 star seaside hotel family owned and run by the same family for over 50 years. You and your needs are foremost in our minds and we hope we've thought of everything to make your stay special!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Car park
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Boating
Hiking
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Head massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,337 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Garryvoe Hotel generally delights guests with its prime beachfront location, offering scenic views and easy access to attractions, as reviewers frequently note. The spacious and clean rooms with stunning sea vistas are often celebrated, although a handful suggest they could benefit from minor updates. Service at the hotel is consistently commended for professionalism and friendliness. While opinions on value vary, with some finding it reasonable and others less so, the hotel's laid-back atmosphere and amenities, including a varied breakfast, are well-received.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Professional
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,337Review11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 871
  • 294
  • 90
  • 51
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paul Antcliff wrote a review Feb 2020
Palmerstown, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start? The hotel's location is great. It sits back off the beach offering gorgeous views of the sea. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Our sea view room was huge and well decorated and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel itself is really well finished and obviously well maintained and I love the nautical theme that runs throughout.

The leisure centre is refreshingly well set out and the staff are so friendly. I found the pool a bit cool and the outdoor hot tub was closed for maintenance but that shouldn't detract from the whole experience. The management/owners have gone the extra mile to make it a pleasure to use the facilities.

The breakfast was served which is a welcome change to the buffet food which can be somewhat 'stewed'. We had two evening meals and a lunch during our stay which were delicious, if somewhat 'pricey' (€14.50 for chicken goujons and chips).

Overall I think this is probably the best hotel I have stayed in anywhere! I would recommend it to anyone and we will certainly be visiting again.

Thank you to the Garryvoe Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HarryMooreis wrote a review Feb 2020
Cork, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A friendly and informative welcome was the start of our very pleasant stay. We booked in for a valentine special which included dinner and breakfast in bed as an option. The ensuite room is spacious, funky wallpaper, a balcony, comfortably furnished and lit. The bed and bedding was very comfortable with a firm mattress that later gave us an excellent sleep. We enjoyed some time in the leisure centre, which despite a busy weekend was quite relaxed.The dinner menu offered plenty of choice and a wide range of attractive looking wines, starting at reasonable prices. Service was friendly, and attentive and all of our courses were all very well prepared and delicious. Our wine was excellent, as were the following glasses in the Library room. Breakfast served in the room was a treat, and as with the dinner well presented and prepared. We could find no fault in our stay, and will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
MrsPrincess1987 wrote a review Aug 2021
Loughrea, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a family group for a special occasion.
Really appreciated that our room was made available a bit earlier as we had requested. However, a little note acknowledging the special occasion would have been nice but a minor detail!
Rooms were comfortable and a great size. Cleanliness, particularly of Bathoom area could be improved.
We were a little disappointed to learn the menu was very limited, being the same across the bistro and restaurant and across days as this was not the case when I booked or made reservations for dinner. I would recommend eating in the restaurant in the evenings as the menu is the same and setting better. Food was quite nice for dinner on both nights. Service in the bistro was slow, we waited nearly an hour for our mains. The library is very nice for drinks pre and post dinner. It would be nice to see some nonalcoholic options on the drinks menu. We felt the tables were nicely spaced but when it got busy the staff couldn't keep up with the cleaning and clearing between guests.
Breakfast had good options, and service was prompt and efficient. It would be nice to see pancakes or similar on the menu rather than use of a communal machine surrounded by unmasked children.
For a hotel that was fully booked when we stayed and family orientated we found it very safe and uncrowded. It was very quiet at all times so a great place to relax.
Would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Weekender wrote a review Jun 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose Garryvoe hotel due to its proximity to the sea (it deserves 5 stars for location). Looking at the website it looked like it had undergone a full overhaul and the rooms shown looked modern with nice bathrooms.

On arrival car parking was plentiful and check in very smooth and despite us arriving early, our room was ready. We had a room on the first floor facing the sea that could be reached by walking through a dark corridor that had not had fresh air through it in some time. There was an odd smell the entire time we were there and the light in the corridor near our room did not work making it very dreary. On entering the room it was apparent that this was not one of the ones depicted on the website. The room itself was a generous size and had a very comfortable bed with a lovely view. However the carpet was old and stained and there was chipped paint on the windowsill. The shower was the over the (narrow) bath variety with the dreaded shower curtain that clings to you and there were cobwebs behind the door.

We had lunches in the Lighthouse bistro and dinners in the Samphire restaurant. Food was tasty although descriptions on the menu didn't always match what came out (e.g. missing side salad from wrap, missing pea puree from Monkfish main and Smoked salmon and clam soup seemed to be missing the main ingredient.

The highlights for us where the young waiting staff and bar staff who were excellent and very attentive. Pool area and hot tub were really nice and the staff there could be seen cleaning regularly. These all deserve 5 stars and are an asset to the hotel.

Room servicing was not carried out due to Covid and that is ok as we were given fresh towels. As it was the first weekend open after a long Covid lockdown we expected a high level of attention to cleaning in public areas/touchpoints. For the entire weekend we did not see any staff cleaning door handles or lift buttons. We saw no housekeeping staff on our floor at all which I have not experienced in other hotels we have stayed in since the pandemic began.

It is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location but there is definitely room for improvement!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Numinuna wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a sea-view room at the Garryvoe in early August 2021 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Hotel itself was spotless, tastefully decorated and in a fab location, right on the beach and just a short drive from the village of Ballycotton, Ballymaloe Cookery School, Stephen Pearce pottery and the Shanagarry Design Centre. Friendly, attentive staff. Dinner in the Samphire restaurant was very good. Breakfast (no buffet, currently) also very good, with plenty of choice. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JonK wrote a review Aug 2021
Carlow, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed with Garryvoe for four night and tbh it's was very relaxing.

A few things the we didn't like were shower in the room was back in 1970, cracked tiles, couldn't regulate the heat, it was either to hot or to cold.
Breakfast cutlery is put on tables very early and cups facing up instead of down.
We ate in cave bar first night and the food was ok, the mushy peas looked like they came from chernobyl.
With everyone so focused on hygiene now, when tables are been wiped down everything should also be cleaned, table, chairs etc.

Staff were friendly and helpful from reception right to waiting staff and bar staff.
One manager in bar area seemed to think he was just there to walk around and when asked to get a drink seemed very put out by it.

Over all very relaxing and in a great location.

We will return.
👍👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Enjoy your stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ann K wrote a review Jul 2020
Andalucia, Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely hotel staff food service and location.
So helpful felt really safe sanitizer stations everywhere staff wearing visors but none of this took from the overall feel. Bedroom could do with a little touch up in bathroom. Really enjoyed our stay very much.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Irishtraveller24 wrote a review Sep 2021
Dublin, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Returning to Dublin after a trip to Kerry we had booked into The Garryvoe for 2 nights. Being honest it wasn’t our first choice but I am so glad we ended up here.
The location is stunning, of course the sunny weather helped, but whatever time of the year, this would be a very enjoyable place to spend some time. There are beautiful walks along the beach and a myriad of villages and towns to visit within a short drive.
We had dinner in the Cave Bar on our first night. Excellent gastro pub food. Breakfast on each morning was both extensive and very fresh. Absolutely no complaints.
On both days there were weddings but we hardly noticed them and certainly no noise in our bedroom on the third floor.
Would we go back? Most definitely.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aidan Cotter, General Manager at Garryvoe Hotel
Responded Oct 18, 2021
Dear Irishtraveller24 Thank you for such a lovely review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future. Warm regards Aidan Cotter General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter M wrote a review May 2022
Clonakilty, Ireland
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and we're bitterly disappointed for numerous reasons. The room was one of the worst I have ever stayed in. On entering there was no door stop so a previous person had put a hole through the drywall and they just put some polyfiller in it and left it like that. There were marks all over the walls where things had been previously hanging and badly needed a fresh coat of paint. The shower tiles were disgusting and I don't ever know if they seen a good scrub with grout missing. Please see all the pics to back up this stuff. There was a low pitch beeping noise every 2 seconds coming from a plug for the entirety of our stay. You could hear what I assume was the water pump at regular intervals throughout the day and night. The water in the shower was not consistent in any way with scalding warm to freezing cold in 2 seconds and this happened several times during the stay. The air conditioning did not work.

The leisure centre was nice when we eventually got in to it. The kids who are 15 decided to go on the first day only to be told that they needed to be accompanied by an adult, so on day 2 I accompanied them down only to be told that kids hours didn't start back up until half 2. Everybody was well and truly annoyed at that stage but when they finally did get in on day 3 it was pleasent and modern, even if the steam room was out of order. I understand maybe the kids do need accompanied but surley you should be told on arrival of the kids hours and also the staff could have told them the first time they were weren't allowed in of such hours rather than having 2 disappointments. It is written on their leisure centre website so make sure you check it out thoroughly. Also bring swimming hats as they are charged for.

The food in the hotel was poor the one evening we ate there but maybe we were unlucky as I see plenty of good reviews.

We were overcharged at the bar for drinks and had to challenge the bar man to get it rectified.

The location of the hotel is good and really close to the beach but unfortunately overall there were far too many negatives and felt it simply was well below what I expect from a 4 star hotel and truly a regrettable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aidan Cotter, General Manager at Garryvoe Hotel
Responded May 31, 2022
Dear Peter, We are truly very sorry for the whole experience you had at Garryvoe from start to finish. We really try our utmost to ensure all our guests experience is an enjoyable one. We will certainly action on your comments and if you were to offer us another opportunity in the future we would appreciate it. Our sincere apologies once again. Regards Aidan Cotter General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edgar wrote a review Sep 2021
Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a weekend with our 2 boys. We arrived to the hotel at lunchtime after an extremely wet visit to Leahys open farm en route. Whilst we were eager to book in and change into dry clothes, we accepted the wait till 4pm for check-in. We were told, in the unlikely event that the room would be ready before 4pm, they would contact us- otherwise come back to the desk at 4pm. When I returned to the desk at 4pm, I was questioned very abruptly whether I had received a call? When I said no but it was now 4pm, I was told icily ‘it’s actually 2 minutes to 4’!!
After this initial frosty reception, I have to say the restaurant and bar staff were excellent and so friendly. The family room was comfortable, although it did have a strong smell of smoke and the balcony was covered in cigarette butts.
The food was all super, including breakfast and dinner in both the bar and restaurant. Our boys enjoyed the swimming pool too. I would return to the garryvoe hotel as it was good value for money but would hope to receive a warmer welcome next time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aidan Cotter, General Manager at Garryvoe Hotel
Responded Oct 18, 2021
Dear edy197000 I am so sorry to hear of your initial 'frosty reception' , please accept my apologies. I am so glad to hear that we turned it around for you and that it will not hinder your return to us. Please do let us know when you plan to return to us and we will be waiting with a warm welcome next time. Warm regards Aidan Cotter General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheryl R asked a question Jan 2024
Lynn Center, IL1 contribution
Are hairdryers available in rooms?
Answer from Norma O
Limerick, Ireland265 contributions35 helpful votes
Yes, we definitely had one in our room.
Answer from 2222rose
Boston, Massachusetts79 contributions130 helpful votes
not sure, ours was included and it was delicious, with plenty gluten free options, non dairy milk too!!!
Answer from JonK
Carlow, Ireland135 contributions66 helpful votes
No in ours anyway but maybe in some of the other rooms
Dexter22 asked a question Dec 2019
E Mids3 contributions2 helpful votes
Are you open for food over Xmas period?
Answer from Gareth
31 contributions22 helpful votes
Hotel should be open for food over Xmas period
Paula D asked a question Jul 2019
broadstairs33 contributions16 helpful votes
Arriving on a Friday evening, are there any grocery shops open nearby ?
Answer from PeigRos
Tipperary, Ireland157 contributions96 helpful votes
there is a small shop before you make the turn for Garryvoe if you don't stop in Midleton or petrol stations have supplies as well
Deckybwfc91 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Thurles, Ireland2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stick around after the tide comes in, the kids had nearly as much fun watching the waves hitting the rocks and getting splashed!!!"
Read full review
Dev B wrote a tip Oct 2023
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expect to drive at least a short ways for anything. "
Read full review
Navigate381391 wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very disappointing food and service in the bistro "
Read full review
Ciara2013 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Waterford, Ireland103 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a sea view."
Read full review
Kev H wrote a tip Jul 2023
Bridgend, United Kingdom53 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Turn up in a small hatchback car"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Garryvoe area.
PRICE RANGE
C$257 - C$305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
garryvoe hotel castlemartyr
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkGarryvoe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Garryvoe Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Garryvoe Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Garryvoe Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ballycotton Cliff Walk (4.7 km), Ballycotton Lighthouse (3.9 km), and Ballynamona Beach (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Garryvoe Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Garryvoe Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Garryvoe Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Garryvoe Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Garryvoe Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cush, Ballymaloe House Hotel & Restaurant, and The Blackbird Bar & Field Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Garryvoe Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Garryvoe Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Garryvoe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Garryvoe Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Garryvoe Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Garryvoe Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars